We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Ola Verde(Popoyo)(Great Value!)
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$8
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Hostel Sunset Villas Popoyo(Popoyo)(Great Value!)
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Kasta Surfing Waves(Popoyo)(Great Value!)
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
Magnific Rock Hotel(Popoyo)(Great Value!)
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nicawaves(Popoyo)(Great Value!)
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cafe Cerveza(Popoyo)(Great Value!)
$10
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Nicawish Hostel(Popoyo)(Great Value!)
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveler rating
225
8
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
225
8
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestsdry seasonfood and drinksexceeded our expectationstidal poolsfishing villagegracious hoststostonesan oasisthe food is greatperfect temperaturegorgeous infinity pooltortillaswent smoothlycan't wait to go backmag rockceviche
Filter
Updating list...
201 - 206 of 235 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Bill and Casey just get it. They've got the perfect balance of intimacy and conviviality, luxury and rustic, busy-ness and tranquility.
Soma is a great set up, geographically located 10mins from the shore, perched on top of a hill, with great views down the coast. The compact resort is centred round the pool and dining area, but this isn't like staying at a hotel, it's like staying at a friend's house. BIll and Casey have assembled a fantastic team, all the staff are so helpful and so friendly.
The food is great - it's always fresh, tasty and there's plenty of healthy options.
Bill is super-enthusiastic, knows the local breaks and is guaranteed to inspire you get back on your board. We were there the first week of November and the surf was plenty big enough for us (~6ft) but get a boat to Playground if you want more.
Get there whilst its untouched!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Arriving at Soma is very much like stepping into the vacation home of some long lost friends... except that those friends happen to be incredible chefs, surf extraordinaires, and experts guides to the wonderfully untainted local attractions. On top of that, rather than offering you a couch, they are sending you off into a private bungalow of understated luxury; all the comforts of home in the middle of the rolling, wild hills that hug the Nicaraguan coast. We thoroughly enjoyed the days filled with surfing, swimming yoga, and beach hikes and evenings spent simply sipping drinks at Soma and listening to the tranquil Nica night. The experience overall was a beautiful balance and certainly one of the highlights of our two week trip to the area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeni221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for a week at the beginning of January and we were completely amazed by the excellence of the accomodation and the brilliance of Casey and Bill who run the place, not to mention the rest of the staff who are all very freindly and helpful. The food was super fresh and very tasty, the tropical pancakes for breakfast are a must for any Englishman! Not to mention the excellent Mojihto's!

We stayed in a deluxe room which was done to a very high standard with really nice furniture, fixtures and fittings and high ceilings. The bathroom was of an equally high standard and the towels were fluffy and nice.

The surf is great as well; we had a week of clean peeling waves that were the best I've ever surfed. They are really quiet, so you're rarely jostling for a wave with anyone else! All in all, if you are planning a trip to Nicaragua, you should definatley include a stay here in your itinerary, it will blow you away and you'll leave feeling super chilled, well fed and well surfed.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

This was my first trip to Nicaragua, and I didn't know what to expect. Soma, were we spent the first 1/2 of our trip, was from the beginning perfect. It could stand up to small resorts anywhere, but what made Soma extra special was the fact that it was build entirely with local Nica ingredients and is staffed with locals. Soma arranged for us to take surf lessons, take a boxing lesson, visit local tidal pools and hot springs, go fishing, and most amazingly, take a horseback ride to visit a local village. While I caution that you should be comfortable being a horse for approximately 2 hours, this is an opportunity not to be missed!

The rooms, three casitas and two rooms, were simple and luxurious at the same time. The beds were amazing and what can beat a walk in shower? Bring your own toiletries as only soap is provided. There are also no hair dryers or irons, but given the beach and how casual Nicaragua is, you won't need them. There is A/C but we preferred the local breeze.

Views are amazing, of the hills and the Pacific. There is a small infinity pool and plenty of places to lounge. The resident pets are very friendly. Meals are taken outdoors, and the food is fresh and local. Especially recommend the fish tacos and literally the best mojito in the world.

There is no doubt that Casey and Bill, the owners, will make any visit fantastic. I highly recommend Soma and hope to return!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Explorer_from_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

This is a gem of a place -- only five casitas so it is private, simple but elegant, gorgeous inside and out. The meals were wonderful, and the hosts, Casey and Bill .... well, like old friends. I'm going back, for sure. But SOMA is so good .. keep it a secret!

Room Tip: We had a larger room with two queen beds. Very spacious bathroom. Didn't even need AC.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews