We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Ola Verde(Popoyo)(Great Value!)
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostel Sunset Villas Popoyo(Popoyo)(Great Value!)
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Kasta Surfing Waves(Popoyo)(Great Value!)
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
Nicawaves(Popoyo)(Great Value!)
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cafe Cerveza(Popoyo)(Great Value!)
$10
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Magnific Rock Hotel(Popoyo)(Great Value!)
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nicawish Hostel(Popoyo)(Great Value!)
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveler rating
225
8
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
225
8
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestsdry seasonfood and drinksexceeded our expectationstidal poolsfishing villagegracious hoststostonesthe food is greatan oasisperfect temperaturegorgeous infinity pooltortillaswent smoothlycan't wait to go backmag rockceviche
Filter
Updating list...
227 - 232 of 235 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2011

20 miles off the paved road through the Nicaraguan countryside brings you to what can only be described as a small miracle of a boutique resort. Located a short drive from the world class surfing beaches of Guasacate and Popoyo lies Soma surf resort. Although conceived as an upscale surfer's accommodation, Soma can satisfy the interests of all kinds of guests. My wife and I have traveled the world and have never stayed in a more peaceful and relaxing place.The grounds are beautifully landscaped and have a 360 degree view of the surrounding countryside.You can float in the small tiled infinity pool and see and hear the Pacific Ocean. There are several well designed spaces for guests to sit and relax separately from other guests. Each has it's own unique appeal from a small bar to comfortable hammocks. All this on one hilltop acre. Our bungalow was spacious and simply, but tastefully, appointed. The staff is very friendly and eager to please. While the choices are limited, the menu offers a nice variety of meals and drinks. Every meal we had was delicious. You must try the mojitos. Getting there is an adventure but absolutely worth it. We highly recommend Soma.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

My mom and I decided to take a girls week and spent five days at the Soma Resort. It exceeded our expectations, amenities are comparable to boutique luxury resorts in the states and Europe which was a pleasant surprise. Rooms are spacious and comfortable and the eco-consciousness of the resorts construction allows it to blend into the Nicaraguan landscape. The restaurant is also spectacular with very affordable but delectable dishes that highlight the produce and ingredients available in the country. Since there are limited options in the area, many residents and other travelers frequented for lunch and dinner while we stayed. As far as activities went we were never bored, the owners have a wide range of options including Yoga, Boogie Boarding, Surfing, Kickboxing, Tours of Mumbacho, ziplining in the jungle canopies, visiting coffee farms, touring Granada and horseback riding on the beach. The highlight for us though was being able to come back and rest our minds and bodies, lounging by the pool and listening to the sounds of the jungle around us. Great first vacation to Latin America, beyond rejuvenating!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cryork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

We had an amazing trip to Nicaragua. Soma Surf Resort made our trip that much better. If you are a surfer , its right in the heart of the best breaks in Nicaragua but Soma brings the best of both worlds together. Great surf in a peaceful, relaxing and very upscale resort. I dont think anything else could come close.

The beauty of Soma was that you could go play hard all day (surf, hike, horseback ride, take day trips to Granada or the volcanoes) and return to a high class resort to eat, rest and hangout. Soma is located in the quiet hills above Guasacate Beach break and Popoyo Reef, two incredible waves. It's a 5 minute drive to the beach.

The bungalow we stayed in was top notch and very comfortable (brand new). You will find that this resort and the staff ( Hola Casey, Bill, Danny and crew!) are one of a kind - 5 stars for this part of the world for sure.

Tip- Because this resort is located in the rural Pacific coast, we would recommend you rent a 4WD truck and hire a driver (which can be arranged by Soma).

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JJluvTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

I traveled to Nicaragua with my family without high expectations but was pleasantly suprised. During our week long vacation I most liked the lack of tourists and therefore relativelly unspoiled coastline and nature. Soma Surf Resort also offered more than we expected! It is classy, clean, and inviting,and blends in with the surrounding landscape. And what incredible views to the back and front. We are not surfers, but had lots to do including a great spot for R & R. The owners, Casey and Bill, are really friendly and went out of their way to make sure our stay was comfortable and that we had things to do when we felt like more adventure. They provided a driver for us, which was a real plus! It took the stress out of the fact that none of us spoke Spanish or, of course, knew our way around. They also have very fresh and tasty food, great Mohitos, and juice elixirs with a hint of ginger. This resort and part of Nicaragua is worth the trip. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews