We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome place!”
other travelers have booked this property
COMFY CHAIRS AND BAR TO WATCH THE BEAUTIFUL SUNSET
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
COMFY CHAIRS AND BAR TO WATCH THE BEAUTIFUL SUNSET
RESTAURANT AREA AND HAMMOCKS FOR YOU TO RELAX
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
24 reviews
COMFY CHAIRS AND BAR TO WATCH THE BEAUTIFUL SUNSET
RESTAURANT AREA AND HAMMOCKS FOR YOU TO RELAX
WE OFFER MEXICAN, NICA AND SEA FOOD AT EXCELLENT PRICES
SLEEPS 6 PERFECT FOR ALL YOUR FRIENDS, PRIVATE BATHROOM, BREAKFAST INCLUDED FOR $15.00 P/P OR $10.00
SLEEPS TWO, FAN OR A/C. BRAND NEW EVERYTHING. PLEASE CHECK FOR PRICING
SLEEPS THREE, FAN OR A/C PLEASE CHECK FOR PRICING
YOU CAN SURF, RIGHT IN FRONT OF THE BARREL
SURFING IN FRONT OF THE BARREL
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 26
Popoyo, Tola, Rivas Department

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
SanJose33
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome place!”
Reviewed July 4, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

If you come to popoyo this is a awesome place to stay! Everything is very new since they just opened and the owners are the most welcoming ones we had on our whole trip.
The rooms are quite big and have their own bathroom, which is really nice. Apart from that they offer fresh water in the shower which is not at all common here (usually salty water)!! Quite cool after a day on the beach, which is just in front of the restaurant and offers great surfing opportunities.

Their food in the restaurant is great (the burritos are really good!) and they do everything to help you and make the best out of your trip. Thanks for everything!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2016
We do really care about our guests, I have also traveled a lot and I know what it is to be away from home. We make sure our guests are safe and have a great time at THE BARREL. very relaxed place, not too many rules! like check out time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nienkevdg
Popoyo, Nicaragua
1 review
“Super clean, right on the beach, new hostel with very friendly owners”
Reviewed June 23, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I supposed to stay in another hostel, but after seeing this hostel I changed my mind straight away. It's a very clean, relaxed hostel with the best beds and fresh water showers :-)
Very friendly and helpful staff and the owners make you feel part of their family.
Hammocks all around and a big screen tv to watch surf videos or other sports.
Perfect place for surfers as its right on the beach in front of a beach break and Popoyo reef is only a 10 minute walk away.
Best fresh brownies every day made by Paula! :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Solo
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 24, 2016
Thank you. Nienke. You are such a pleasure to have around. Thank you so much for the other referrals, word of mouth is the best referral for us. You are all so nice that is soo easy to please. Thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E
1 review
“Home Away From Home.”
Reviewed June 21, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Aside from surfing the most incredible waves of my life, The Barrel was the best part of my trip. As soon as met the owners of the barrel and saw the view of the ocean feet away, I felt like I was home. This was my first time to Nicaragua and can only manage a few broken sentences of Spanish, so being here for 2 weeks was the perfect place to stay.

Leslia and her husband Eppie (owners) and the rest of the staff really go above and beyond to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The food is great and inexpensive, the rooms are very clean with fresh clean sheets. There is a guard 24/7, a locked gate for after hours, and they even have video cameras to prevent theft. Don't worry about any of your belongings, there are lockers inside the room to store important belongings, and I never got the sense my things were at risk of being stolen.

This really is the best hostel on Guasacate beach. It is just a 20 min walk north of Popoyo surf break. Other guests from other hostels would leave their hostel and come to the barrel after hearing and seeing it. Soccer games, basketballs games, and the Fiji Pro were all played on the large flat screen above the bar every night, but still remain calm with-out the american bar scene vibe.

No request is to big for the staff at The Barrel if you need a ride anywhere Leslia and her husband would make a phone call and have a taxi minuets later. If you want to sit by the bar and chat with the two of them or any of the staff, then your going to do just that. If you want to lay in one of the many hammocks and have a beer and read a book then go for it. Want a massage from Jessi, a certified massage therapist, they have the too.

If this is your first, second, or one hundredth trip to Nicaragua I highly suggest staying here. I will with out a doubt be back again and again. I can't put into words how thankful I am to have stayed here at the Barrel and consider Leslia and Eppie now to friends and can't wait to see them again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to leave.
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 22, 2016
Hi Greg, can't wait to see you again, it was such a pleasure to have you as our guests at The Barrel, everything you say in your review it is so right!, Enjoy what you do and you will never have to work a day in your life, we truly enjoy our job and we do care about every guest. Thank you so much, take care and we also consider you our friend.
Leslia and Epi.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrobbinpo...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really nice place, super friendly owners”
Reviewed June 15, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I didnt stay here, but i surfed out front and the staff let us keep our bags here so they wouldnt get stolen or messed with and i hung out and had a coffee and some food after surfing.

The patio is CRAZY nice. Right on the beach, its a great spot. Food is great, their burrito is seriously awesome.

The owners are really awesome and do everything to be super friendly and accommodating. Its always nice to know youre staying at a place with owners who actually care about their guests experience, and Eppie and Leslia definitely do. Theyre such nice people!


Would definitely recommend people to stay here, as i will definitely next time im down in Nicaragua.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2016
Thanks so much for your nice review. It is not just about money, we really care for our guests and will go out of our way to help in any way we can. Thanks again. Leslia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara-Éliz...
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing !!”
Reviewed May 19, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This hostel is just amazing! The rooms are clean and really comfortable. Ebi and its wife are really helpful and friendly. The hostel is just in front of the beach. The food is really good too! Try the burritos, it's soooo good ! The best hostel we had in Nicaragua.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 20, 2016
Thank-you so much for your nice review.. We really try to treat our guests in a very especial way. Every one is so unique an especial for us. It was a pleasure to have you stayed with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yo N
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed May 9, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I don't know where to start. It was amazing!
If you're here to surf, perfect.
You'll find the nicest waves right here @ the beach.
Best service in whole of central america.
It's brand new.
The beds are comfy, the rooms are cool. Private bathroom in every room. WITH FRESH WATER, which is not normal in this area. Some other places just have salt water showers, which you don't want after a whole day of surfing.
The bar/restaurant is right @ the beach.
And they have ice cold glasses for your beer. First and only place i've seen this in central america.
The kitchen is clean and quick and the burritos are delicious.
The owner is one of the greatest people i've met so far on this trip.
With her husband she did everything possible to make our stay the best we've had in whole of Nicaragua.
You better not miss that place and find your way to the barrel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 10, 2016
Thank-you so much for your very nice review of your stay at The Barrel. We really treat our guests as family and try very hard to make them feel welcome and at home. Have a safe and fun trip. Leslia.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnnylee...
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A place in the sun with burritos the size of barrels”
Reviewed May 4, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This facility is brand new beautiful, excellent, kind service and situated right on the shore so close to the waves you can taste them. The special burrito "the barrel" was so massively delicious that I wanted another one immediately after if only for the pleasure of something so incredulous! Great people, atmosphere, view and food!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Service
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 5, 2016
It was very nice to have met you. We will love to see you again, thank you for staying with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing