We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to have bucket and Spades in Dicky beach” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yume Japanese Restaurant

Yume Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 10 Restaurants in Dicky Beach
Price range: $7 - $23
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Used to have bucket and Spades in Dicky beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Food not bad but the owner needs to appreciate and give the locals some service and recognition. I would prefer other cuisine but happy to eat at Yume at times.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank dickeybeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    12
    8
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exquisite try the pork dumplings !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Awesome simple but delicious pork dumplings , vege tempura and teriyaki salmon all perfect &beautiful presentation even for takeaway .

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kylessmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by its cover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Having offered the wife a choice of Chinese, Thai or Japanese cuisine for dinner, she opted for Japanese. Trip advisor told us that yume was #1 in the area for Japanese. When we parked outside the wife said "is that it?" When we left she admitted she shouldn't judge a book by its cover.
I had a chicken curry with rice. My favourite Japanese dish, katsu don, was not on the menu. The wife went with tonkatsu. We decided we'd share and were not disappointed as both dishes were fantastic.
Add to that the wine I had which was delicious, and all up its a great place to eat. We're only visiting Caloundra now, but if we're back in future, we'll happily go here again. But please expand the menu a little.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank daandli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic authentic japanese food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband and I have eaten at this restaurant twice now and absolutely love it. The food is beautiful and the staff are excellent. Highly recommend the sashimi and sushi boat and if you can fit it in try the green tea ice cream. We will be back to try more of the menu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank meltro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best sashimi anywhere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We've been here a few times now an every time it's fantastic. Some nights they filet a whole fresh salmon in front of you, delicious! This time we shared 2 hot pots which were filled with fresh seafood, noodles and delicate broth. Well priced too. The only problem with tho place is that it's a long way from Brisbane (about an hr)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ericajane84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yume Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
Dicky Beach, Caloundra
 

Been to Yume Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing