We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay with family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Portobello By The Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great place to stay with family”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was our second visit to Portobello. We love the pool, which is lovely and warm. The apartments are very well appointed, with everything you need to self cater. There are 2 BBQs by the pool for use by guests. The ocean is just across the road, perfect for a couple of nights as it is only about 90 minutes north of Brisbane. But equally good for a longer stay. I would happily go back.

Room Tip: We like high up (3rd floor) overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika54B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickybeach, Manager at Portobello By The Sea, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hi Erika, thanks so much for taking the time to post a review on Portobello By The Sea. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your 2nd stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    37
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
70
46
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I found the unit very clean and presentable. The complex is closely located and short walk to Dickey Beach. There are quite a few convenience stores close by with a few take aways, liquor store and a mini market.

I was a little concerned that the rooms had no privacy fitting on the door other than a handle button. So, there is nothing stopping anyone simply entering if you were asleep or in the shower etc. I would have thought a door chain or similar would not be too much of a problem to fix to the entry door.

I was also a bit put out that despite my informing them I have a disability, they still put me in a room that needed me to climb a number of stairs every time of left or returned to the room.

Other than the small issues, it was a very enjoyable break in a very good facility.

Room Tip: Floor above ground level have stairs, if you have stair problems ensure to stipulate a ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterB4350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickybeach, Manager at Portobello By The Sea, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hi Peter, thanks for your review. We really do appreciate you taking the time to review our property. Our apologies for not addressing your need for no stairs, that must have slipped under our radar. As you would know, we do have quite a few one bedroom apartments with lift access & no stairs so hopefully on your next visit we can accommodate you in one of these. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Lovely clean quiet large apartment, lovely warm friendly managers. Dicky beach is a great place to stay. Free buses dec/ to jan 6 all along the Sunshine Coast, a real bonus. Will defiantly stay their Again.

Room Tip: Not sure fitness centre but had Lots for kids to do across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We love Dicky Beach and had driven past Portobello By The Sea and always thought it looked like a great spot...and we weren't disappointed.
This property has all the charm of older style resorts and is beautifully clean and fresh with really great size apartments. We stayed in a 1 bedroom and were suprised how many amenities there were...dishwasher, washing machine and dryer, microwave and cooking burners as well as electric frypan if you want to cook - just to name a few. Or there is a number of chip shops, iga etc right out the front door....we loved and it and will definately go back.

Room Tip: if you are late to bed, late to rise you might want to see if any of the higher level rooms are avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

With the beach just across the road, a bottle shop, fish and chip shop and bakery 1 min walk away and the Dicky Beach Surf Club 3 min walk away the location could not be better for a family holiday.

The resort itself is clean and tidy and looks to be freshly painted. The pool is plenty big enough and being protected, it's ideal when it gets to hot or windy on the beach.

We stayed in one of the 3 bedroom units which was huge but I believe there are also one and 2 bedroom appartments.

Five Stars!

Room Tip: Ask the manager to give you the best room available. She was very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadwarrior40_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

If you are looking for comfortable family accommodation that is close to the beach them Portobello by the Sea at Dicky Beach, Caloundra is very good choice. The 2 bedroom air-conditioned unit we stayed in was spacious and well equipped with big bathrooms, comfortable beds and room to move. Shops are within walking distance and there is a well stocked IGA Supermarket so you do not need to leave the area to shop. There is a very usable kitchen with all the requirements for cooking a meal in the unit. A safe swimming pool is available and there is a BBQ if you want to cook dinner by the pool. Undercover parking is also available. We stayed for 4 nights and would return. The unit was very clean and the gardens and pool are was well kept.

Room Tip: All apartments are private and quiet. The front apartments do not have a lift but the stairs are eas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peteozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights as a family and booked a 2 bed apt with sofa bed. max people 6. If there are extra people in the room you must let reception know as we had an extra person on the second night and thinking we could just pull out the sofa bed but it had a padlock on it! Had everything you needed ie: Kitchen and good facilities.
The pool area was fantastic and location is great. Would go back.

Room Tip: No lifts so bear in mind when requesting room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelagentNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dicky Beach
1.6 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
2.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
504 reviews
1.8 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#1 of 16 in Caloundra
593 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aspect Caloundra
Aspect Caloundra
#6 of 51 in Caloundra
149 reviews
0.8 mi away
Caloundra Central Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portobello By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portobello By The Sea

Property: Portobello By The Sea
Address: Portobello 6 Beerburrum St, Dicky Beach, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra > Dicky Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Dicky Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Portobello By The Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable 4 star luxury Caloundra Holiday Accommodation, just an hour’s drive north from Brisbane. Portobello By The Sea is located opposite beautiful Dicky Beach, an unspoilt stretch of sun-drenched white sand, on Queensland's magnificent Sunshine Coast. With a superb patrolled beach at the front door, excellent for both swimming and surfing, a holiday at Portobello will be both refreshing and memorable.The spacious one, two and three bedroom Caloundra resort apartments are set amidst landscaped tropical gardens and feature an open-plan design with large timber decks or private balconies to enjoy the sea breezes whilst enjoying your Caloundra holiday. Laze by the lagoon style heated pool with wading area perfect for the children, or enjoy a sizzling BBQ by the poolWith local shops, restaurants and cafes nearby, just park your car and relax whilst on vacation on the Sunshine Coast. And when it's time to take in the sights, Portobello is only minutes away from the heart of Caloundra and close to all the major tourist attractions on the Sunshine Coast - Australia Zoo, Underwater World, Montville, Maleny, The Glass House Mountains, The Hinterlands and so much more... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portobello By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing