We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Nordic Center” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Washington Alpine Resort

Mount Washington Alpine Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Nordic Center”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We went cross country skiing this time when we visited and the staff were really friendly and helpful. They showed us how to use the equipment we rented and told us if we wanted to switch to snowshoes or skate skiing that we could come in and exchange our classic Nordic skis at anytime for no change in price. They have an excellent spot for learning as well as some challenging trails. There is over 50kms of Nordic trails to explore. The lodge was busy during the lunch hour rush but it served decent food.

Helpful?
Thank Girlwithasmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    60
    12
    8
    8
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fine food and fine skiing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

So it's not Whistler as far as skiing or food goes, but it's certainly the best you can get on Vancouver Island! The staff was cheerful and helpful from rentals to cafeteria. The online process for buying tickets and paying for rentals was smooth. Equipment was sufficient, lifts were running, slopes were appropriately marked, food was hot or cold as advertised. Will go again!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank renatechild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very good nordic skiing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

The skiing was very good, there are over 50km of cross-country ski trails varying from beginner to expert. We enjoyed the Far East, Raven's Revenge, Jutland, The Grind and, most of all, The Lake trails.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“food????”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We always have a great time riding Mt Washington, and all that riding makes for hungry person. We dine in Fat Teddy's almost everytime we are on the hill, and every time the place gets just a little worse.The service is the terrible, right down to the small and obvious things like getting a napkin and some cutlery for dining. I've also had zero options for any modifications or requests pertaining to my food, the last time I was there, I literally was told NO to everything I requested. I then received a plate of nachos that resembled some melted plastic and some previously stepped on chips. What the heck are they thinking passing this off as a dining location and a service of any kind. Totally lame. Who's in charge there? Fire them and feed us something real and nutritious, sheesh... we're past the point of knowing better.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank christina k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome mountain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Didn't expect much from a ski resort on Vancouver Island, but was very impressed with the quantity and quality of runs. Great conditions, tons of snow. Reasonably priced. Will be going again for sure.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Philthy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Washington Alpine Resort also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Salmon Arm, British Columbia
 

Been to Mount Washington Alpine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing