We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Stone Gate Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 De Winton B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Our stay was absolutely wonderful. Kim and Terry are terrific hosts and provided excellent service. Our room was spotless and beautifully decorated with attention to details like pillow choices and bath robes.The location was perfect as we were attending a wedding less than 10 kms away and the email we received 2 days prior to our arrival provided clear and precise directions. The country setting was beautiful, relaxing and quiet. Breakfast was delicious and generous served in the dining room with an amazing view. We would not hesitate to recommend The Stone Gate Inn B&B and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PL D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 57 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

Spacious and beyond a Bed & Breakfast including the breakfast. We do lots of Travel and this was more spacious than hotel rooms. Close to south Calgary especially Spruce Meadows & John Anderson Stables. Great enjoyable couple who really paid attention to details. We are already planning a trip back.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank williamsfamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The owners were very nice and personable. We were delayed during our traveling and didn't end up arriving until almost 11 pm, we'd called ahead to let them know of the delay. They said it was no problem and waited up for us. The room was very comfortable and decorated in a western motif. We had a room with a shared bathroom, which might have felt awkward, but luckily no one was staying in the room that shared the bathroom with us during our stay. There are rooms with private bathrooms available, but we chose not to upgrade to one of them because no one was staying in the room that shared our bathroom. The breakfast was enormous and delicious. The morning conversation with other guests pleasant. The property has horses and it's up on a small bluff overlooking the rolling hills of the prairie. The whole place was very clean and decorated with a country elegance. There was a lot of common area space. Two dens, a very well equipped exercise room, a kitchenette and an entertainment room with a very large screen television. This was our first time in a B&B and we felt unsure about going, after this experience we are sold on the concept of B&B's and if we come back to this area again, we'd happily stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are comfortable with a shared bathroom our room was great, but if you want a private bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hahlai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Your hospitality, warmth and kindness made our stay very enjoyable. "Thank You" Kim and Terry. The Inn location is in the country and the setting is very picturesque and serene. Our daily breakfast(s) was very nutritious and plentiful. Our room was the "Memories" room which was nicely decorated, clean, bright and total comfort - like the rest of the house. A guest did not need or want for anything more as it was all there for you. You got your monies worth. We will definitely recomment the Stonegate Inn to anyone. Faye & Jean, Ottawa - Julu 8 & 9, 2013.

Room Tip: Quiet, peaceful, bright, great views and air conditioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faye M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim C, Manager at The Stone Gate Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review.
So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Stone Gate Inn B&B.
Terry and I hope to have the pleasure to host you both again on future visits to the Calgary Area . Keep in touch
Yours truly Kim & Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I have extensive experience in B&B's, but this was out of the ordinary ! By the time we left we really felt like family. Clean !! Well decorated !! Breakfasts that will take me months to remove the extra weight that I gained. In a nut shell PERFECT !!!!!

Room Tip: There are not any bad rooms, you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickHappy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim C, Owner at The Stone Gate Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for the Great Review
Pleased your home safe & sound and that your trip was a success
It was a honour to host such a lovely family
Terry and I enjoyed your company and we also felt as if you were family
from the first day you all arrived
Keep in touch Bye for now Kim & Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We spent a month at the Stone Gate Inn-it was perfect. Comfortable bright rooms with excellent bedding-a lovely view from our windows where we could see the horses emerging from the barn. The use of a fully equipped kitchen,full laundry,use of a fitness centre and the cozy TV room with its inviting fireplace and and view of the ourside. Another sitting area with piano-also place to do computer work and printing. Everything on hand -if you want to make a quick microwave meal or a something that needs more time to prepare. Shower with cozy towels and variety of soaps,lotions,etc. Kim & Terry the most wonderful hosts-nothing nicer that our chats when we had free time to sit around their warm fireplace sipping a glass of wine or sharing a coffee &snack. Ample parking and really so close to Calgary. We can highly recommend this excellent B & B -excellent in everyway-infact wish I could stay there forever.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank errolsolomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had a little difficulty finding the Stone Gate Inn. It was at night when we first arrived, but wow it was really worth it. The hospitality, our rooms, the view, and the breakfasts were all 10 out of 10.

We had privacy when having a glass of wine and we did not disturb anyone while sitting around the fireplace, talking. We will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cynthia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim C, Owner at The Stone Gate Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Hi Cynnthia,
Thank you for the great review. Terry & I enjoyed having you and your employees stay with us while attending a trade show here in Calgary .
We are pleased that you felt comfortable and at home here at The Stone Gate Inn.
It was a pleasure having you and the girls stay with us and it would be an honour to host your future stays in the Calgary area both on business and pleasure. Stay in touch and thanks again, Kim & Terry at The Stone Gate Inn B&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Stone Gate Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stone Gate Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 20179 DeWinton Riding Club Road | Calgary, Alberta, De Winton, Alberta T0L 0X0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > De Winton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in De Winton
Price Range: $126 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Stone Gate Inn Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stone Gate Inn B&B offers the peace and tranquility of the countryside plus all the amenities and attractions a big city has to offer, just 2 km outside Calgary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Stone Gate Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing