We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best”
Review of Dog and Partridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dog and Partridge
Ranked #1 of 1 Wretham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Without a doubt, the best b and b we have stayed at, and we have been to plenty across the UK.
Excellent food, beer, and accommodation. Thanks very much to Karen and the staff for making us feel at home. We will be back when we work out the dates.
Chris and Colette, and Kawasaki GTR.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisandColB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    14
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
23
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mistley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Rooms were large, clean and comfortable, bathrooms the same. The welcome was excellent, food very good (excellent range of game but other choices too), beer well kept and prices very reasonable. I'm not sure what else I'd want or need.
I will be back, anytime I need to stay near Snetterton race track or as in this case when just having a weekend riding around Norfolk.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank mark v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Had booked well in advance for our little cycle tour of Norfolk. And what a great choice for our first night. Four tired guys in need of refreshmants and a hearty meal,and we were not dissapointed! Upon arrival we were welcomed by Karen,who was most friendly. Cycle rack in garden to lock bikes up,and a barking,but very friendly alsatian to keep guard :-) . Shown to our two twin rooms,that was in a bungelow type building beside the pub. Almost brand new I'd say,and done to the finest order,we were all well chuffed. Once showerd,went for our meal,plenty of options,i went for the curry,good choice,could of had it hotter spice wise,but I like my food fiery,more then most,so it was fine. And a few beers to finish it off,carbing up for the next day! A most warm atmosphere,in a supeb location. Will certainly go back

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

During our internet search of the area for a B&B near the 'Dad's Army' Museum we found this venue. The reviews were very good, so we booked and we drove from the Netherlands to the UK. Yes, very nice and clean rooms. Yes huge hospitality and Yes very nice beer and local food. Rabbit in Mustard or a nice pie... difficult. So we also made reservations for a second night on our travel back to the Netherlands. Perfect opportunity to tase the meal we could not taste during our first stay. Both were great. And, also quite important, the bikes were parked safely on the parkinglot behing the building.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ernst V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Don't be deterred by the website or the busy road outside this pub - it's one of the few that is still a real - non-gastro - pub, although I suspect the game fare and pies might be something special. We stopped in after a walk through the local area, and the food, beer and fire were all very welcome.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Rickadvis0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We have recently sampled the game on the menu, firstly a rather large game pie, then pigeon in red wine and most recently Rabbit cobbler. All are outstanding and my partner is very hard to please, bei ng a very good and inventive cook himself. Do try.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maggie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Wilts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

In the area on Business. The room was very clean and comfortable. The pub offers good pub grub with some great Game choices including Rabbit Cobbler. Host were friendly and if you stay on a Thursday you can join in the pub quiz.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wretham
7.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mundford
157 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Thomas Paine Hotel
The Thomas Paine Hotel
#2 of 7 in Thetford
424 reviews
6.8 mi away
Broom Hall Country Hotel
Broom Hall Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saham Toney
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Breckland Lodge
Breckland Lodge
#1 of 1 in Attleborough
287 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Great Danes Country Inn
The Great Danes Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Beachamwell
62 reviews
4.9 mi away
The George & Dragon
The George & Dragon
#3 of 4 in East Harling
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dog and Partridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dog and Partridge

Property: Dog and Partridge
Address: Watton Road | Wretham, Thetford, Norfolk, Wretham IP24 1QS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Wretham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wretham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional country pub on the edge of Thetford Forest and directly on the Peddar's Way. Close to Snetterton Race Circuit, The English Whisky Distillery, Centerparcs, Go Ape, High Lodge & Puddledock Campsite. Wholesome, home-cooked food - try one of our Game Specialities. Large, south facing Beer Garden and large Car Park. Three very large and modern (three years old) letting rooms in a separate building to the pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dog and Partridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing