We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place for a holiday in 5 star...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hincaster, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RBN11
North Lakes, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a holiday in 5 star accommodation”
Reviewed October 16, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The Coach House is ideally located for visiting the Lake District & Yorkshire Dales.

We stayed here for 2 weeks and had a fantastic time. The property is tastefully decorated with very modern furnishings and appliances. Nothing is needed - it is perfect in every way.

All the rooms are very spacious, both bedrooms are en-suite. There is even a rooftop patio to sit out on sunny days.

The owners are very friendly, accommodating & helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: 5 star modern accommodation in a converted barn
Liked least: nothing - the place was perfect
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alistair9...
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb in every aspect”
Reviewed July 10, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Stayed for seven days at this cottage with my wife and mother in law.
The cottage is outstanding in every way with every detail attended to. The facilities within the cottage are first class and a lot of thought has gone into the facility by the owner.
The location is excellent for touring The lakes and North Yorkshire. In addition there is an Hotel in the close proximity which serves excellent meals
Would highly recommend this holiday cottage and it is one of the best we have ever used

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 22, 2015
Wow - thank you for your review! We are really pleased that you had a wonderful time at The Coach House and that you appreciated the amenities and facilities on offer. We hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun Wil...
Bebside
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“ssshhhh don't tell anyone about this perfect place.”
Reviewed July 3, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Well we did come back, maybe the weather was not so kind but that did not spoil our vacation, after 1yr the property has not been spoilt at all we're glad to say.
Had a great time, so relaxing, and even the suggestions which we left the last time have been picked up.
For those who are thinking of booking some hints and tips
1, Coming out of the farm turn LEFT and stay on this road, after about 1 mile the village you enter on the right has an amazing bakers , pie's sandwiches, cakes & fresh bread, this closes about 1pm but any early sandwich req can be phoned in ahead. Carry on past the village for approx 4-5mile and you come to a Asda store on your right.

2, Come out of the farm and turn RIGHT, just past the Croplands hotel turn RIGHT over the bridge and say on this road for about 4 mile takes you to a small village, park in the square and the local butchers is near buy, again very helpful and great pork pie's or other pie's but also great for any BBQ meat.

The walks along the canal are very pleasant and the paths are well maintained.

Tips, as I'm a very light sleeper I found ear plugs a god send as in the bedrooms the traffic can be heard if the windows are opened to cool down.

To the farmers wife - we hope your lovely husband makes a quick and 100% recovery

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quality/cleanliness of property
Liked least: slight traffic noise
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millie59
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed November 17, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed at the cottage for a long weekend to celebrate my birthday. It was absolutely first class - the photos look great but in real life it is even better. All rooms are very spacious, and so tastefully decorated. The cottage is the best we have stayed in and we would highly recommend it to anyone. It is also well located with the Lake District on one side and the Yorkshire Dales on the other. The hotel across the road does great food and there are lots of other places to eat within a few miles drive. The owners were very welcoming - it was a true home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We loved the tasteful way the cottage was renovated and turned into such a beautiful property.
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike at all.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boswe
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Sometimes you get lucky in life”
Reviewed October 14, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed with our friends and their dog at The Coach House the first week in October. The accommodation is excellent and the owners very friendly and helpful. The Lancaster Canal was within sight of the cottage and the supermarkets not too far away. There was also a very good bakery in the next village. There are plenty of walks nearby with the Lakes and Morecombe Bay within a short drive. We had an extremely comfortable week and were sad to leave this lovely cottage and can thoroughly recommend staying there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home comforts.
Liked least: Nothing to dislike apart from the poor weather.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun Wil...
Bebside
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“So good we came home and booked for NEXT year”
Reviewed October 5, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Well, my wife & I travelled from the N/East with our two borders to the Coach house for our autumn break and what a relaxing, chilling time we had.
Loads of walks to go on, the coach house has been decorated to the highest standard, the shower room is very good as it has a double shower.A boot room to clean the dogs and get your wet cloths of (although it was such good weather my wife got a tan)
Great places near by for home made pies, cakes, and only 10 mins away from an Asda.
If anyone needs to know where to go for shopping please contact me and I'll give you directions

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
June B
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Perfection"”
Reviewed October 3, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a wonderful weeks stay at The Coach House Cottage in Crooklands. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome. The cottage was beautifully furnished. Our two Border Terriers enjoyed the secure garden and the stunning walks along the Canal. We have stayed at many 5* cottages before but this truly is 5*. We have already booked again for next year. We look forward to becoming frequent visitors. Very sad that the week has come to an end. June & Shaun Bannon & Jinxie & Lottie :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing