We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food, location, service, and hours”

Alambique Beach Lounge
Ranked #3 of 50 Restaurants in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $35
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Description: We are a small beach bar with great prices and good food.
Reviewed March 24, 2016

I can't say enough good things about El Alambique. We discovered this place thanks to Siri. The service was very friendly and prompt. Even though it was a very busy night, our waitress was very attentive.

I had the nachos which were incredibly good. I don't know what sauce they put on the chicken, but it changed the nacho experience for me! This was not your typical Mexican restaurant fare. The mango mojitos were very good and reasonably priced.

Having access to food this good late at night is quite a treat.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank thesoulartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,053)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

617 - 621 of 1,054 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2016 via mobile

After being disappointed with bland food all over the island we were absolutely blown away with the flavor and quality of the food at Alambique.

There was a long wait but we snagged a couple of seats at the bar and were well taken care of by the two bartenders. We ordered fish tacos and the basil pesto pasta. Both came out quickly and both were amazing.

The atmosphere was great and although the bar area was all adults some of the outdoor patio tables had families with children.

We will definitely return and we've already recommended Alambique to others we've met on the island.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2016

Our favorite place in Isla Verde. We enjoyed, quite literally, every dish we had here: the mofongo (we went with the chicken with salsa criolla), the carne frita, the fish tacos, the burger, the mussels... Everything was somewhere between really good and excellent. The sides were great too: the spinach side salad was fresh and well balanced, the fries were tasty in a non-processed way, and the coconut rice was decadent. Atmosphere is relaxed, right on the beach. Easy place for adults and for kids.

They were somewhat understaffed, though that was balanced by really good servers: at one point, there was one server for the entire place and service was still faster than "island standard speed".

The only negative part of the experience was when I placed an order for carry-out on Friday night, the bar was packed and it took a while to actually get and pay for the order.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ItinerantGromit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2016

We have been coming here for a number of years. This year we stopped in for lunch on our way from Luquillo to Rincon. We shared a fish and chips and the food was as good as we remembered. Service was spot on.

When we came back from Rincon for our last night we could not think of another place we would rather have our last dinner than El Alambique. The place was packed and we had to wait a half hour or so for a table. We were fortunate that a friendly local named Victor gave up his stool for my wife and visited with us the whole time we waited.

When we got our table we shared a wonderful bowl of mussels. We then had the tuna and the fish tacos. The food continues to be well prepared, with a nice presentation and quite tasty. We still find it to be our favorite fair priced spot to go to in Isla Verde.
If you are in a hurry during busy times this may not be the place for you. Meals are prepared fresh and sometimes take awhile to show up. Relax and enjoy one of their wonderful mojitos, you are in the Caribbean!

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bhamtransplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2016 via mobile

Breakfast sandwich was really good, had a sweet sauce on it with egg and sausage. The view is straight from a postcard!! Eat, drink, and go swimming in the ocean. Wait 30 minutes to let food settle first.

Date of visit: March 2016
1  Thank justjr88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alambique Beach Lounge also viewed

 
Isla Verde, Carolina
 

Been to Alambique Beach Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing