We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“under construction”
Review of Verdanza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Verdanza Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“under construction”
Reviewed July 8, 2010

Well check in was fine but the room did not get maid services to after 3:00 pm every day and one of the elavatores smelled like mold.....the staff was very friendly the surrounding area was under construction when we stayed and the cable went out on the rainy day...ok if you don't mind being in the urban area.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summertime7605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenaJOrtiz, Public Relations Manager at Verdanza Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2010
Summertime7605, indeed, Tartak Street has under construction as part of the municipal government's program of enhancements. By the end of the month, Tartak Street will feature beautiful new sidewalks and lampposts, so that our guests will enjoy safe, enjoyable walks around the Isla Verde area. We hope to welcome you back to Verdanza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    499
    263
    107
    73
See reviews for
515
485
85
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2010

I had the pleasure of staying at the Verdanza Hotel with my wife on our vacation. With the several great options in San Juan, this one seem to bring the best value with all the amenities we were wanting. When we arrived, we were very pleased with the professional and courteous staff, the fantastic location, and the cleanliness/beautiful decor of the hotel. We were pleasantly surprised with how helpful tthe staff was to meet all of our requests. We enjoyed a great breakfast and lunch at the hotel bistro and it was very fun to see the pool and water park being enjoyed by several guests. That night, the bistro was hosting a party with some of Puerto Rico's prominent public figures attending. It appeared the staff was busy, but was still very attentive and professional as we ordered a coffee while waiting for our dinner plans in Old San Juan... that the hotel kindly arranged for us.

This was an overall a five star trip. I would highly recommend the Verdanza Hotel to any friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SebastianTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenaJOrtiz, Public Relations Manager at Verdanza Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2010
SebastianTC, thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Verdanza. We are certainly proud of our team, who take our service philosophy to heart.

We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy our property, as we continue to enhace and improve our facilities and services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2010

I recently took a trip to PR with my family and stayed at the newly renovated Verdanza hotel (once the Holiday Inn). We had such a great experience. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They make you feel very welcome. The restaurants were fantastic. Mmmmm!!! The kids had a blast in the water park that is by the pool.
Recommend this place to anyone who visits the island. Will plan on staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationtime000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2010

Just arrived and we waited for a good 40 minutes before we could be checked in. The lobby was also very hot, the AC seemed to be set to a high temperature.

The pool area is very crowded, as they were giving out wristbands for registered guests, yet there are no empty chairs left.

Room phone is also not working...hopefully that'll be fixed soon.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mons14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenaJOrtiz, Public Relations Manager at Verdanza Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2010
Mons14, please accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience you may have experienced while staying at Verdanza Hotel during the 4th of July.

Due to a power surge, several of our pumps shut down causing a momentary drop in water pressure. This situation was corrected promptly as the pumps regained their pressure. Unfortunately, the telephone system suffered a burn-out of its main power source causing the telephones system to completely crash. As you can imagine, finding a replacement power source on a holiday weekend was not easy despite our efforts.

The 4th of July weekend is traditionally a busy, festive weekend and we aim to offer an enjoyable experiece. We trust that your stay with us at Verdanza Hotel has been otherwise pleasant. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2010

We traveled to PR for the first time and weren't sure what to expect from this hotel. We were pleasantly surprised! We had a great overall time and I would stay here again if we return to the San Juan area. We got a good price and I felt that we got our money's worth.
I'd say the biggest positive was the friendliness of the staff. They truly made our trip enjoyable. Every person we interacted with was so nice, funny, and helpful; people went above and beyond in making sure our needs were met, helping us plan excursions, giving us advice, and just making sure we had fun. We received lots of recommendations for things to do, as well as advice on where to go and where not to go (for shopping, eating, beaches, etc.)
We traveled as a group of young people, but we also saw lots of families, as well as couples; the atmosphere is appropriate and fun for pretty much anyone. The pool area had a little water park for the kids, and they serve drinks around the pool as well.

Pros:
Beautiful beach (the public beach is right there and is really really nice)
Amazing staff - helpful, polite, fun, and friendly
Great food in all of the restaurants
Great bartenders
Family-friendly
Nice pool area
Great activities desk with info on so many different attractions and excursions
Did I mention that the staff was awesome?? We absolutely loved everyone there. :)

Cons:
Small bathroom and average room size (not that big of a con for us).
Hotel isn't beachfront - it's across the street. This isn't a problem and it only takes a minute to walk there, but it's a busy street so I wouldn't let your kids go alone. We really didn't mind though.
Restaurants can be pricy - though there are inexpensive options on all of the menus, too.
The taxi to Old San Juan is $19; we just spent a day there though and it was enough time, so this wasn't all that bad.
Not a whole lot of nightlife within short walking distance, though there's a lot that's just a short taxi ride away.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunshine_8787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2010

The good: Everyone is very friendly, beach is a two block walk, Coladas restaurant will treat you like family, easy access to airport. The not so good: The bedsheet was stained, the coffee pot area was dirty, the bathtub was plugged, and the airvents were dirty. Also, the shower is a little small. It looks like they recently renovated the hotel. Some aspects of the hotel are very beautiful, especially the furniture, the color scheme, the lobby, and the very modern restaurants. However, it looks like they decided to skip certain necessities. (Note to general manager: Please schedule a cleaning of the air ducts asap) Overall, a nice stay. Would stay here again if the price is right.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gio10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2010

My boyfriend and I stood here and i thought this hotel was absolutely fantastic. The location was perfect the people were friendly and the service and food was fantastic. I recommend this hotel for both leisure as well as business. Thumbs up!. The sprinklers were really cool too

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alovesj37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.2 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
0.3 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
#3 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
0.4 mi away
ESJ Azul
ESJ Azul
#11 of 13 in Isla Verde
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
3.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verdanza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verdanza Hotel

Property: Verdanza Hotel
Address: 8020 Tartak Street, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Verdanza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm smiles lead the way at the relaxed, urban-inspired Verdanza Hotel,a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts Lifestyle Collection. Steps from Isla Verde beach; near restaurants, clubs, casinos. Air-conditioned rooms offer pillow menu, iPod(R) docking station, LCD TV, organic bath products, 2-line phone, safe, fridge, iron/board, hairdryer. Facilities: pool area with whirlpool and SprayPark, three restaurants, cafe. Services: complimentary bike-taxi transfers to beach, Tour Desk, Dollar Rent-A-Car. Location places guests minutes from convention center, historical city, cruise piers, marinas, shopping, attractions, international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Verdanza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Carolina
Carolina Holiday Inn
Verdanza Hotel Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing