We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad...”
Review of Verdanza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Verdanza Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2010

One block from beach, easy walking distance to the San Juan Casino, Intercontinental Hotel Casino, many fast food restaurants, and bus line to get to/from Old San Juan. Rooms and swimming pool clean, hot tub temperature was variable - some days too cool to be called a "hot" tub, another day it was too hot, shortage of pool towels for hous on a hot Saturday afternoon. Restaurant and bar in hotel, prices reasonable, food good. The service of the front desk staff was the best!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicagotoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenaJOrtiz, Communications at Verdanza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2010

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience, chicagotoots. You help us to always aim to excellence. We hope you will visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,316 - 1,322 of 1,619 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2010

My 6 year old son and I were bumped off a Delta flight and given a free night at this hotel. Check-in was wonderful (thank you Michele!) and our stay went from good to better. The location is phenomenal, so near the Isla Verde beach, and the real atmosphere of San Juan. Hotel staff was unusually helpful on different issues. Pool is ok, not top quality but refreshing. We ate at the Hotel 80 casual bar, terrific food for myself and my son. An air of friendliness and genuine interest in the guests prevail throughout the hotel. I was sorry to leave and would love to return there.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heatherNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenaJOrtiz, Communications at Verdanza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2010

HeatherNY, your enthusiasm is contagious! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, even if as a result of getting bumped off a flight. We look forwarding to welcoming you and your son back for a proper family vacation at Verdanza Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2010

My husband stayed here many times when it was Holiday Inn, this is my first time in PR and his first exp with Verdanza. He stated there really are not too many changes. We both thoroughly enjoyed. Only issues I would say is the keys to the room require many swipes, there were always people sleeping with their luggage in lobby, they need to address this (possible cruise ship workers). Listed some places as 4star ammenities I would not say that. Convenient, clean, very friendly, restaurants/bars good, pool very nice.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunfun051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenaJOrtiz, Communications at Verdanza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2010

Sunfun051, thank you for sharing your experience. We are genuinely committed in our efforts to take Verdanza Hotel from strength to strength - and look forward to welcoming you back again, and again, and again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2010

I found out shortly before my cruise that this hotel had changed from a Holiday Inn to the Verdanza. I called the hotel and the woman I spoke to said they had done a lot of improvements. So, I decided to keep the reservation. The only good thing they offered me was early check-in and a late check-out. We had no hot water, the phone in our room was dead, the safe was locked open and could not be used, the refridgerator did not work and the door card swipe had to tried multiple times to enter the room. I reported these things to the office and nothing happened. Just before we checked out, an employee saw us trying to get into our room without success and asked to help. I reported all the problems to him again. Then, just a few minutes before departure, the phone and safe were fixed. The pool area was nice but the hot tub was not working.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2010cruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenaJOrtiz, Communications at Verdanza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2010

2010cruise, please accept our sincere apology for the inconveniences encountered. Indeed, a number of city-wide power failures affected one of the property's boilers, which in turn had an impact on the supply of hot water. We take pride in a team that is very committed to building on successes and addressing areas of improvement. We hope to have a second opportunity to impress you favorably. Thank you for taking the time to write.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2010

I went to the hotel when I was in a business trip. Even before I got there it was good. I called for directions and the person who attended me stayed with me on the phone making sure I didn’t get lost. At 12:00 am I needed to print something and the front desk person made the arrangements to open the office for me, even though it was closed. On another trip I realized that I left my tooth brush and paste and an employee provided one for me. The only thing that wasn’t that good was the night shift waiter at the restaurant. Not that friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LcdaGonzalez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenaJOrtiz, Communications at Verdanza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2010

LcdaGonzalez, thank you for sharing your experience. Your candid review allows us to recognize our staff and identify areas for improvement. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

My wife and I just stayed at the Verdanza last night and have to say it was a very good place. We checked in very early in the morning after getting off a cruise. Although it was too early to get our room, they checked us in and took our bags so we could go into Old San Juan for the day. The bus (53C is best, or else A5) into OSJ is literally a block away from the hotel. There are lots of other hotels in the area, so lots of restaurants and also fast food joints. Also a 24 hour supermarket and gas stations. We had a room overlooking the pool in their "second building" (we didn't know it when booking, but their main hotel building is connected to another building that you have to cross an outdoor roof level sidewalk to get to...not covered, which wouldn't be good in rain, but it was fine for us since the skies were clear). Room was nice--you could tell it was old and just had a fresh coat of paint, but it was nice and didn't smell like an old musty place, carpet didn't look like it'd been vacuumed well, but 4 poster bed was great. Bathroom looked and felt a bit dated and very dark (only one tiny overhead light) and the electrical outlet in the bathroom didn't work, which was a pain because that was the only outlet close to a mirror. Mattress was a dream! Soft, cushy and comfy, it was the perfect night's sleep!! Staff was very friendly and courteous. No noise from airport or any parties at all. Ate in the Chinese bistro in the hotel for dinner and it was good.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobetrottingMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenaJOrtiz, Communications at Verdanza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2010

GlobetrottingMan, it's great to hear that you were pleaseantly surprised. Your feedback is a tool to help us continue improving our product and the experience we offer. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2010

For the most part the Verdanza is a decent hotel, although not in the same class as some of the larger Carolina hotels. I'm sitting here writing this review from my room in the hotel. I need to sleep and I can't because there is so much noise from the restaurant, which is 5 floors down! The manager on duty came came up to my room, heard the noise, agreed with me and said there was nothing he could do because the hotel was full. He was nice, but he really couldn't offer any significant help to me. If you stay in this hotel, do not stay in any rooms above that restaurant. Actually, if you value sleep and you don't want to take the risk of not sleeping, then you probably shouldn't stay here at all.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank loudizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenaJOrtiz, Communications at Verdanza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2010

Loudizzle, I am genuinely sorry to hear that the festivities due to St. Valentines and the Presidents' Day long weekend disrupted your rest. Verdanza enjoys a high percentage of business and corporate clients, partly because they prefer the peaceful ambiance that we offer, ideal for weary business travelers. We hope you will allow us the opportunity to impress you favorably next time business brings you to San Juan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.2 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
#4 of 13 in Isla Verde
360 reviews
0.3 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
17.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Caguas Real Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verdanza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verdanza Hotel

Address: 8020 Tartak Street, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range: $134 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Verdanza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm smiles lead the way at the relaxed, urban-inspired Verdanza Hotel,a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts Lifestyle Collection. Steps from Isla Verde beach; near restaurants, clubs, casinos. Air-conditioned rooms offer pillow menu, iPod(R) docking station, LCD TV, organic bath products, 2-line phone, safe, fridge, iron/board, hairdryer. Facilities: pool area with whirlpool and SprayPark, three restaurants, cafe. Services: complimentary bike-taxi transfers to beach, Tour Desk, Dollar Rent-A-Car. Location places guests minutes from convention center, historical city, cruise piers, marinas, shopping, attractions, international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Verdanza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Carolina
Carolina Holiday Inn
Verdanza Hotel Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing