We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”
Review of Verdanza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Verdanza Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

For the price, is has an excellent location, compared to the other hotel chains around. You can find a variety of restaurants (with different price range) within walking distance. In a couple if minutes you can be at the the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akira V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

989 - 995 of 1,619 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is my second time at this property. Employees are geniunely friendly and engaging. The thermostat in my room did not work, room was very cold, so would turn it off every so often. Other than that i find that it offers a great value for the rate i paid. Got it through hotwire.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank AMoyet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

A had to travel to San Juan for business, a weekend, waoo, so expensive prices. Found an offer for a flat rate of $245 for two nights, amazing, included buffet breakfast, no continental. Also the taxes and the parking. Its near airport, near beach, have pool. Its excellent, have a casino nearby, walking distance. So if you can escape for a weekend, this the place. Its a summer 2013 offer, check the hotel website.

Room Tip: Not first floor, ask for second or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcasiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Ill go through the negatives first that I found because there werent many then go through the negatives.

Negatives:

1. It was an older style hotel than I thought it would be originally for the 3.5 stars.
2. We had a mini fridge in our room that we kept leftovers from a restaurant, but when asking the front desk, or any of the restaurants on site for a way to heat up the food, they said that they dont do it. Not sure if its a Puerto Rico thing or just them thing, but thought it was a big drawback.
3. We were "upgraded" to the poolside rooms, but with these, you have to leave the main building and go to a motel style area. I think the tower may be better

Positives:
1. The location was the best part of the hotel, they are about a block and a half off of the beach, and a great location for food options that wont break the bank within walking distance.
2. They offer parking to guest for $10.70 a day with unlimited in and out travel. I would really like it to be complimentary, but for the area, its definitely a positive.
3. The hotel staff was great, they always held the doors for you, called cabs, very polite, etc.
4. For the price, the hotel room was great. It almost feels like an older Courtyard Marriott room
5. Eventhough its an older hotel, everything was clean, which is really all I ask for

I think this should be a 3.5 star, but you cant do halves, so...other than the off star rating, I would recommend this hotel. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Try to get the tower, the poolside room was ok, I don't really care for the view personally beca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank naptime1322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This hotel is centrally located near the beach, bus line and other larger hotels. The staff was very attentive and nice...The pool area was nice and clean with plenty of lounge chairs. The Bistro is great for breakfast and there is a nice bar area. The extra attention from the staff was very nice and the recommendations to local restaurants and places to see were great. The beach is only a block away and it was very enjoyable. There is also a grocery store and Walgreens close by to stock up on drinks/snacks to take back to your room. Take the bus to Old San Juan for 75 cents.. There are plenty of shops and food places to visit. A must restaurant is Raices, their cheese flan is excellent!! Vaca Brava is also a good place to eat. Try a coco from the carts, it's a nice treat for $2.00. Make sure you go to the Bacardi tour, it's free.. Get to the El Morro and see the old fort above the ocean. If you feel like gambling there are plenty of casinos close by. This was a nice relaxing vacation and we really enjoyed ourselves!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed in early May 2013 and really enjoyed our vacation. The hotel is in a perfect location in Isla Verde and convenient to the bus route to Old San Juan as wells as many other restaurants and several other mega hotels. The staff was wonderful. Very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the extra attention from the assigned doorman and Eduardo was very helpful in sharing other areas to visit in town. We loved his happy personality and extra effort to ensure that our visit in Puerto Rico was memorable. We loved Puerto Rico! Many Thanks to the staff! We will definitely visit and stay again in the near future :). Minerva

Room Tip: Requesting a higher floor will give you a better view of the area and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minerva m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

First time to Puerto Rico, pick the Verdanza based on the reviews and was pleasently surprised. We ended up in a poolside room, which was quite considering the location. The room was small, but very clean. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, they were quick to act when we encountered a problem with the fire alarm. The pool is very nice but went for the beach. The hotel is a short walk to a very lovely beach, were you can rent chairs and umbrella or find shade under a palm tree. Suggest getting or bringing a cooler to pack beverages/snacks. There is a grocery store and Walgreens not far from the hotel. The hotel is also within walking distance to a lot of good local places to eat, as well as some casinos. Forego the $21.00 cab ride to Old San Juan, take the city bus instead for .75 cents. Once in OSJ you can walk to all of the shops, take the free trolly to various stops through out the city or take the ferry for .50 cents to the Bacardi distillery. Had a great time

Room Tip: would try to get a room in tower, they may be bigger then the poolside rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.2 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
#4 of 13 in Isla Verde
360 reviews
0.3 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
17.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Caguas Real Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verdanza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verdanza Hotel

Address: 8020 Tartak Street, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range: $168 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Verdanza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm smiles lead the way at the relaxed, urban-inspired Verdanza Hotel,a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts Lifestyle Collection. Steps from Isla Verde beach; near restaurants, clubs, casinos. Air-conditioned rooms offer pillow menu, iPod(R) docking station, LCD TV, organic bath products, 2-line phone, safe, fridge, iron/board, hairdryer. Facilities: pool area with whirlpool and SprayPark, three restaurants, cafe. Services: complimentary bike-taxi transfers to beach, Tour Desk, Dollar Rent-A-Car. Location places guests minutes from convention center, historical city, cruise piers, marinas, shopping, attractions, international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Verdanza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Carolina
Carolina Holiday Inn
Verdanza Hotel Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing