We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great base location to see San Juan and the island.”
Review of Verdanza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Verdanza Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
1 review
“A great base location to see San Juan and the island.”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is well kept hotel that provides a great base for easy access to San Juan and the island. Everything you need can be found conveniently close by. The in-house restaurants have quality foods and a pleasant variety of atmospheres. The employees are friendly and helpful in answering questions or explaining what is available. My room was very comfortable with a good quality bed.
The only shortcoming I noted was the valet parking service. The valet should great you at the car and assist with bags, etc.
I will definitely stay here again. An excellent choice for the dollar.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asitshouldbe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    499
    263
    107
    73
See reviews for
515
485
85
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Lakes, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We booked this trip thru Travelocity. The price was really good for 3 nights and 4 whole days. When we got there the room was not ready, but my husband who has worked in hospitality spoke with the guy in the front desk and we got an awesome room on the first floor in front of the pool. Our stay was awesome and all of the staff were awesome. We booked our tours in the front tour desk and the lady was the nicest and most helpful person ever. Definitely would recommend this place. The beach was only a block away.

Room Tip: I think that any room in this hotel would be fine. The ones right in front of the pool were really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, AZ
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We recently stayed at the Verdanza for 4 nights prior to embarking a cruise out of San Juan. We had booked the hotel on Orbitz and paid $170/night for an executive club level room on the 8th floor. The club rooms include breakfast each morning (cereal, juice, danish, coffee and tea, and fruit), internet access and each room has a balcony (the only rooms in the hotel to have balconies). The hotel is not beach front, and there are 2 possible views- toward the ocean or toward the lagoon (city view). We were assigned a lagoon view room – probably because we booked through Orbitz and not direct. The rooms featuring partial ocean view have a view toward the ocean which is through other buildings, and on the lower floors you may not be able to see the ocean at all. The hotel has a nice large pool, a workout room a Jacuzzi, a private picnic/party area and a laundry room although with only 1 washer and dryer. There is secured on-site parking for $10/night.
Upon check-in we were greeted pleasantly by the staff and given a welcome fruit ice. Everyone we encountered was very pleasant and helpful. Even when the staff was quite busy- there was a convention at the hotel during part of our stay- they would go out of their way to replace your towels, or deal with any issues in the room that needed attention.
The rooms themselves are clean and well furnished although not overly large. There was plenty of storage space. There was a coffee maker, mini-fridge, safe and ironing board. The housekeeping service was efficient and did a good job keeping everything stocked and refilled our coffee supply daily. Air conditioning worked well.
The only problems we encountered were technical- the safe failed to operate 3 separate times and engineering had to come and work on it (which consisted of banging on the control unit) until it functioned, and we went through 3 television remote controls until we got one that worked.
There are 4 restaurants on site- a Chinese restaurant that also serves sushi, a tapas bar, the 80/20 Bistro which serves a little of everything and a sports bar. We found all of the restaurants to be on the high end of the price scale when compared to other offerings in the area and for type of food served. We did eat at 80/20 Bistro and had a nice meal.
The location of this hotel is very good as it is 10 minutes from the airport (although you do not hear airport noise) and a taxi is $10. It is also a 5 minute walk down a quiet street to the Isla Verde beach or 10 minutes walk to Carolina beach. There is a Walgreens 10 minutes walk away on Isla Verde Avenue and a Pueblo grocery store 5 minutes away as well.
This hotel was a very good value and offered excellent amenities and while it was not on the beach was close enough for our needs.

Room Tip: pay extra to get on the eighth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solperros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very nice and clean with excellent air conditioning. The staff was Verge nice and helpful. The location of the hotel is 2 blocks from the beach which is also very clean,clear,and not over crowded. Convenietly located near several restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sand Springs, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel the night prior to our cruise. We thought the hotel was beautiful on the outside and the lobby area. Check-in took a long time, but it was also 11:30pm, so there was just one person working. All of the staff was really friendly though!

The room was small, but ok for one night. The only down thing to the room was that there was a strong smell of mildew. I have really bad allegies, so it gave me a headache and made my eyes burn. We didn't request a room change because it was really late and we had just gotten off of a long flight.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

San Juan, the bustling capital of Puerto Rico, has always been known for excellent hotel properties bordering its beautiful beaches of Condado, Isla Verde, and Puerta de Tierra. A few other properties, like El Convento Hotel, exude historic charm. Most of one or the other, however, were relatively expensive, especially during the high season.

What the city was missing was a high-quality hotel in a convenient, touristy spot that dared to price its rooms affordably but did not skimp on excellent service, ample facilities, good restaurants, a clean environment with attention to detail, and a friendly staff. As an island-born person who returns to Puerto Rico for business or pleasure several times a year, I have been pleasantly surprised to find that the Verdanza fits the bill exactly. It is all of the above and more. Conveniently located two blocks from the beach, with easy access to the main thoroughfare to the central city and only five minutes from the international airport, this hotel, affiliated with the Summit chain, is an amazing find.

I'm told that the hotel opened three years ago, but evidently the upkeep is very good, as the age does not show around the property (well... maybe in the elevator cabs). There is a small fitness room up on the 8th floor.

The rooms are small but well appointed, with comfortable beds and pillows, new and stylish green-metal and wood furniture, and granite countertops on the main bar, entertainment center, dresser, and tv stand combination. The bathrooms are split between a very small shower and toilet room (oh, how small!) and an outer washroom. Rooms are outfitted with complimentary wi-fi and a large flat-panel TV set, coffee makers, and other standard comforts.

The property is set up for local meetings (not large conventions, although it could serve as an overflow property for the latter). There are five restaurants on the property, from a bistro along the interior garden/pool area to an Asian fusion place, a tapas and wine bar near the entrance to the hotel, and an informal restaurant serving burgers and local food (very yummy!). I've not found the fifth, but if the others are any indication, it is bound to be good. The property is kept clean and in good order. We had a problem with the toilet in our room, called the front desk, and within 20 minutes someone had fixed it.

Verdanza is a short walk from the main strip at Isla Verde, San Juan's premier tourist area. The area has been upgraded over the past few years, with new sidewalks, lighting, crosswalks, etc. Parts of it that were once a bit seedy are now significantly improved; only a few such blocks exist now. Visitors have their pick from fast food restaurants to chain establishments like Chili's to really upscale restaurants, casinos, and the like at the larger hotels fronting the beach. I have been pleasantly surprised, not only by the Verdanza but by Isla Verde in general.

In short, in the Verdanza visitors to San Juan now have the option of a high-quality hotel that charges reasonable rates. I will continue coming back to the place and hope that they maintain it in the shape that we've found it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franco53703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The Verdanza Hotel in Puerto Rico is awesome. It is very attractive both inside and out. The pool is very nice. The rooms are a nice size and very clean. They really go the extra mile to make sure your stay is great. I will most certainly stay here the next time I go, and I have already advise tow of my family members who are going to Puerto Rico to stay here also.

Room Tip: Rooms on the pool side are much quieter and have a balcony. The hotel is just minutes from the airp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FelderM29786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.2 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
0.3 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
#3 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
0.4 mi away
ESJ Azul
ESJ Azul
#11 of 13 in Isla Verde
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
3.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verdanza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verdanza Hotel

Property: Verdanza Hotel
Address: 8020 Tartak Street, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Verdanza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm smiles lead the way at the relaxed, urban-inspired Verdanza Hotel,a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts Lifestyle Collection. Steps from Isla Verde beach; near restaurants, clubs, casinos. Air-conditioned rooms offer pillow menu, iPod(R) docking station, LCD TV, organic bath products, 2-line phone, safe, fridge, iron/board, hairdryer. Facilities: pool area with whirlpool and SprayPark, three restaurants, cafe. Services: complimentary bike-taxi transfers to beach, Tour Desk, Dollar Rent-A-Car. Location places guests minutes from convention center, historical city, cruise piers, marinas, shopping, attractions, international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Verdanza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Carolina
Carolina Holiday Inn
Verdanza Hotel Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing