We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and staff”
Review of Verdanza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Verdanza Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We had rented a condo in San Juan for 4 days prior to taking a cruise. Unfortunately, the condo was not quite to our standards and we decided to try and find a hotel in Isla Verde.

Found Verdanza Hotel where the staff was amazing. The staff, in all aspects of our stay, the restaurants, getting us a taxi or giving us advice made the difference between a nice hotel and a wonderful hotel. They genuinely seemed to care that we had a great time. (They apoligized for the condo - imagine!)

The rooms were lovely and the 5 (yes 5) restaurants/cafes attached to the hotel were great. Close to everything but not on the main drag was an added bonus.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noodle1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,046 - 1,052 of 1,619 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

The hotel is within 10 minutes of San Juan airport, about 4 blocks from the water. It is an "OK" hotel. Good housekeeping but it is it's age (for example, carpet had cigarette burns, wasn't surprised to hear it had been a Holiday Inn). First room had a connecting door, very noisy. Returned 2 days later, asked for a room without connecting door, that was much better. Pool area is nice. Service is very good, wonderful restaurant selections. Room has tub/shower combination but they don't provide stoppers for the tub so only the shower works. Price seemed very high for the quality of room.

Room Tip: Rooms on 3rd floor in main building have a great balcony overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Focused77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

After reading through a couple of reviews on this hotel with an overall high rating, I figured why not since I knew the area already and easy access to beach and restaurants. To my surprise when we arrived it was the same hotel I had stayed in my first trip to San Juan 25 years ago which was one of the best trip. This hotel had been expanded and renovated and they really did a great job. The staff were very nice and friendly and I definitely will stay here again.

Room Tip: We arrived early and instead of waiting for the 3pm check-in, the only room ready was a room with Ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FilRicanChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Verdanza hotel is in a good location close to Isla Verde Beach. Reception and everybody else, especially the house keeping are very friendly. Hotel has fairly good rooms and a nice pool area. They even have a spray park for kids. Restaurants in the hotel are good and service in them is as friendly as anywhere in the hotel. We spent there 12 nights with two kids and everything was just perfect. They have free wi-fi, which was very good for us, since our phone bills would have been huge without it. They have a free gym on the top floor with a spectacular view. One minus for the gym comes from partly broken equipment. Crosstrainer and bikes worked fine, though.

Room Tip: Poolside house looks nice. Don't know how big the rooms are there, but looking from our room in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teppo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Centerally located, Verdanza was beautiful. The grounds were well kept. Pool and hot tub were clean and the landscape around the pool was breathtaking. Many colorful flowers and ornate shubs all around. Staff was very nice and helpful. The rooms were adaquate and space for storage. We had a coffee maker, refrigerator, safe, hair dryer and even an ironing board and iron. The hotel had several restaurants on the premises and within walking distance to downtown and the beach. We felt the hotel was close to so much. A bus trip to old San Juan was 75 cents. We took a trolley for free and went to a fort made of stone. Very interesting history and a beautiful senic view

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsItalian48360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My partner and I both enjoyed the hospitality and warmth of the Verdanza Hotel front office and restaurant staff. We were able to change rooms without a hassle and received several treats sent to our room (brie en croute; cheese and fruit plate; and Valentine's Day dipped chocolate strawberries). There were many smiles from all of the hotel personnel seeing to our special needs. I enjoyed meeting hotel staff at the cocktail party and my partner and I both enjoyed the Valentine's Day meal deliciously served on the 8th floor deck. BTW, before the meal we enjoyed the jazz combo in the event room while drinking the special Rodanza cocktails. We also rented a car from Herman over at the Dollar Rent a Car booth and he was as kind and gracious as he could be. He gave us a great rate for the week and had one of his employees drive us to the airport on departure day. All and all, we had a memorable trip and we'll try to get back in the next few years for another visit to PR as travel seems to take us all over the globe.

Room Tip: Suites are very large; executive rooms on the top floor are small but have nice ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Extremely convenient location near the airport and the beach. Plenty of food options in the restaurant. Nice, quiet pool and patio. Edgar and the rest of the staff were extremely kind and helpful. 5 minute walk (2 blocks) to the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.2 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
#4 of 13 in Isla Verde
360 reviews
0.3 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
17.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Caguas Real Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verdanza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verdanza Hotel

Address: 8020 Tartak Street, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range: $168 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Verdanza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm smiles lead the way at the relaxed, urban-inspired Verdanza Hotel,a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts Lifestyle Collection. Steps from Isla Verde beach; near restaurants, clubs, casinos. Air-conditioned rooms offer pillow menu, iPod(R) docking station, LCD TV, organic bath products, 2-line phone, safe, fridge, iron/board, hairdryer. Facilities: pool area with whirlpool and SprayPark, three restaurants, cafe. Services: complimentary bike-taxi transfers to beach, Tour Desk, Dollar Rent-A-Car. Location places guests minutes from convention center, historical city, cruise piers, marinas, shopping, attractions, international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Verdanza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Carolina
Carolina Holiday Inn
Verdanza Hotel Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing