We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“San Juan Puerto Rico” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Verdanza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Verdanza Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Orion, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“San Juan Puerto Rico”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Centerally located, Verdanza was beautiful. The grounds were well kept. Pool and hot tub were clean and the landscape around the pool was breathtaking. Many colorful flowers and ornate shubs all around. Staff was very nice and helpful. The rooms were adaquate and space for storage. We had a coffee maker, refrigerator, safe, hair dryer and even an ironing board and iron. The hotel had several restaurants on the premises and within walking distance to downtown and the beach. We felt the hotel was close to so much. A bus trip to old San Juan was 75 cents. We took a trolley for free and went to a fort made of stone. Very interesting history and a beautiful senic view

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsItalian48360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    428
    225
    87
    66
See reviews for
416
420
73
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My partner and I both enjoyed the hospitality and warmth of the Verdanza Hotel front office and restaurant staff. We were able to change rooms without a hassle and received several treats sent to our room (brie en croute; cheese and fruit plate; and Valentine's Day dipped chocolate strawberries). There were many smiles from all of the hotel personnel seeing to our special needs. I enjoyed meeting hotel staff at the cocktail party and my partner and I both enjoyed the Valentine's Day meal deliciously served on the 8th floor deck. BTW, before the meal we enjoyed the jazz combo in the event room while drinking the special Rodanza cocktails. We also rented a car from Herman over at the Dollar Rent a Car booth and he was as kind and gracious as he could be. He gave us a great rate for the week and had one of his employees drive us to the airport on departure day. All and all, we had a memorable trip and we'll try to get back in the next few years for another visit to PR as travel seems to take us all over the globe.

Room Tip: Suites are very large; executive rooms on the top floor are small but have nice ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Extremely convenient location near the airport and the beach. Plenty of food options in the restaurant. Nice, quiet pool and patio. Edgar and the rest of the staff were extremely kind and helpful. 5 minute walk (2 blocks) to the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The hotel was nice enough, but the staff (especially Alfred) went above and beyond to make the experience excellent. There were 4 restaurants in the lobby and one cafe. You could walk to the beach, casino, and countless restaurants in less than 5 minutes. Also, the 5 bus to take you to Old San Juan is one block up. Excellent location!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

This is the 12th hotel I stayed at in San Juan in the last 2 years and will never go back to this place! I very seldom neat pick on my reviews but from my recent experience, its quite unavoidable.
It was a last minute decision to go for the. weekend, but I still did my comparison check (as I always do) with 3 travel websites, comparing price & reviews. Got a good price at Orbitz, this hotel was rated 4 star and I thought I had a deal.
It started when I got to my room. It was at the third floor outside the main tower, that has no elevators. From the street, you can see who comes in and out of your room, similar to a MOTEL set-up. I open the sliding closet but its stucked outside the slider. I fixed it, and I see the safety deposit box on the closet floor, off the stand where it belongs. These are metal bars sticking out from the inside wall that can potentially hurt anyone who's not careful. I looked for a luggage cart so I can lay my small luggage, none in the room. I ignored it and I go to the bedroom area, turned on the lamps, no lights! Both were unplugged and 1 has a busted bulb...(ok, deep breathe), I open the balcony door since the Front desk Agent described a beautiful view of the pool, guess what?
NO VIEW on rm 1201. There were foliage covering the whole view of the pool. By this time, I was already so tired to be upset since I just came from a business trip. I took a shower and after I finish, shower knob fell to the tub floor! I went to the bed area to make a call, no phone? Oh, its across the bed---next to the tv! I crash and just rested my frustration away. After 2 hours sleep, I complained to the front desk and requested another room. Agent says to check the following day, since fully booked and will just send Maintenance over. I was just staying for 2 nights and would not want to move everyday so I stucked it out in rm 1201 and told myself never to return. Everything was fixed, however shower control was not the same (it gets cold on the hot side). It continues, at 5 am, my phone rang, and I am in the middle of my sleep BUT had to get up since phone is across from bed. Agent rings me up for a wake up call I never requested! Wrong room...wow!
During the day, I go to the pool. No towels. Have to go to front desk for towels but they were out! Pool was half full. Agent says towels will be delivered but waited 15minutes, no towels! I cannot lay on pool chairs since not the cleanest, so had to go back to my third floor room and use a bath towel.

Except for the clean sheets and the tub in the room, and "trying to help staff", this was my worst hotel experience...unfortunately!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mauikit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marstons Mills, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

recently traveled with a group had to change rooms twice=many of the rooms have a mildew odor as well as the corridors. at least 3 other travellers had to do the same thing. very nice hotel, rooms very clean and the pool area is great. too bad it is tainted with this problem. Have going there 2 years and have had the same problem. will not go there again would have given it a very good if it were not for this

Room Tip: check out room first to make sure there is no odor,there are some
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joyceezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We enjoyed a long weekend at this hotel. The staff was wonderfully friendly at the front desk, and even offered us a few different rooms. We picked a room in the main tower, which had a lovely view of the ocean, but we should have picked a pool room with a balcony for our family. We like having a place to read and sit outdoors.


the resort was kid friendly, with a nice pool and spray park. The front desk staff promptly answered any questions, allowed us to have a late check out, and exchanged our pool towels whenever we asked. The only cons were that, if air conditioning was turned on at all, our room quickly was freezing and uncomfortable. We also had housekeeping come daily around five, which was difficult for us as this is when we usually returned from the beach and they only did a cursory change of sheets and towels. We had great coffee in the cafe, and we enjoyed meals off property within walking distance at La Playita and Piu Bello. We plan to return. I was extremely pleased with the value for thins hotel.

Room Tip: Pick a pool room if you like to have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.2 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
ESJ Azul
ESJ Azul
#11 of 14 in Isla Verde
3.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
3.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.3 mi away
El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verdanza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verdanza Hotel

Property: Verdanza Hotel
Address: 8020 Tartak Street, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Verdanza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm smiles lead the way at the relaxed, urban-inspired Verdanza Hotel,a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts Lifestyle Collection. Steps from Isla Verde beach; near restaurants, clubs, casinos. Air-conditioned rooms offer pillow menu, iPod(R) docking station, LCD TV, organic bath products, 2-line phone, safe, fridge, iron/board, hairdryer. Facilities: pool area with whirlpool and SprayPark, three restaurants, cafe. Services: complimentary bike-taxi transfers to beach, Tour Desk, Dollar Rent-A-Car. Location places guests minutes from convention center, historical city, cruise piers, marinas, shopping, attractions, international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Verdanza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Carolina
Carolina Holiday Inn
Verdanza Hotel Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing