We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Overall Pleased” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Verdanza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Verdanza Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Overall Pleased”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

As everyone else mentioned rooms need some serious upgrade. I could have given 3 starts, but my 4 starts are just for the staff and how hard they worked to make our stay comfortable. Great location, neatly maintained facility and helpful staff. Take a walk towards tehe beach, on Puetro Rico 37 (as per google maps) there so many restaurants, fast-food chains, CVS, SubWay, great breakfast places. If you are renting a car I strongly recommend you to activate e-zpass (auto expresso).

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with swimming pool view, there are no elevators in this building so be prepare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N3Kumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    432
    226
    89
    66
See reviews for
424
422
73
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
125 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is an older hotel that has been updated. The problem is they updated it on the cheap. The workmanship is subpar. It is an okay hotel. Just not anything special. It is located close to the airport. Conveniently located close to a variety of restaurants and the beach. The rooms and lobby were clean. The cafe in the lobby is nice but pricey. Ten dollars for 2 coffees and 2 danish. The staff is pleasant and they try hard.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SLCparrothead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is a nice hotel with good value. The service is good. The first room to which we were assigned was in the old building, next to the pool restrooms. It had more broken things in the room than things that were functioning properly. For example, closet doors, both of them, off the runners. After 15 minutes, we moved to a Deluxe Suite. Even this was nice, but the Verdanza is not luxury, it is nice and affordable. While unpacking, standing in front of the closets, I stepped on broken glass and there was shard stuck in my foot. At the front desk, it surprised us a little that the attendant wasn't apologetic or overly concerned. When we asked (he didn't offer) to have a visit from housekeeping, he asked us to be in the room so we could show housekeeping where she needed to vacuum instead of just vacuuming the whole room thoroughly. This being said, housekeeping service could only be a B- at best. The parking is easy and close, never too full. The location, 2 blocks from the ocean is ideal. The lobby has a coffee shop which has excellent coffee, smoothies, and freshly squeezed juice. There is a simple basic gym which works nicely, but the remote is either missing or locked up.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new building. High up. Ours was #702 and had a terrific view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieDR10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights. Lobby was very neat, clean, and great atmosphere. The staff was very nice and polite. The room was well kept and clean. I had to wait for towels but that was not a big deal. The shower they need to update some looks old and some mold mold was evident but not a lot or of major issues. I would stay again for a nice comfortable stay. The bed was very comfortable and plenty of pillows.

Room Tip: Dont accept to be on the ground floor. You wake up with every passer by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
185 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This hotel is a very pleasant surprise! We booked on Hotwire for one night pre-cruise and it really exceeded our expectations.

After a long flight - redeye from SFO to connection through MIA - we were tired and the proximity to the airport is a real plus. Also, the front desk was so kind to give us a room mid-morning when we arrived as they had one free. Our room was right next to the pool which we enjoyed. Nice little pool with water features that make it really relaxing. Nice jacuzzi. We had cute chairs in front our our room so we came back after dinner and just had a drink with a view of the pool.

The rooms are old but renovated adequately. There was a mini fridge and flat screen. Found the bed to be completely comfortable. For the price, was a deal as PR can be quite expensive during high season.

We did not dine there but the restaurants looked very pleasant. We did get drinks at the bar which was very affordable and appeared to have a pretty good menu for bar snacks.

Our credit card was stolen at a restaurant down by the beach at lunch so we ran back to the hotel to cancel it and they were super helpful and summoned the police on our behalf to file a report.

There are lots of taxis out front so it's very easy to get to the cruise port early.

Overall, I'd definately stay here again. Although I wonder if the area of Isla Verde is all that safe? Not sure about that so much - but that has nothing to do with the hotel - it's great.

Room Tip: The rooms next to the pool are great if you plan to swim.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmont, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This hotel is an excellent choice. We were not happy with our first room because of the scent of perfume. My husband has allergies. We brought this to their attention and were immediately given another room. The hotel has four restaurants and all four offer delicious food. We tried them all.They also have a wine bar which we loved. The grounds are kept immaculate. We would definitely go back. If your looking for beach front this is not the place, you may have walk two blocks. The casinos are within walking distance. Loved it, good choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacatioon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
157 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We liked the hotel & their staff; we only stayed 1 night and the only time we were in & around the hotel was in the evening & early morning, so here is my summary:
Positive - easy to get on & off the highway, close to the beach, clean room with flat TV, coffee maker & minifridge, corner room had 2 sides of windows. Self-parking - relatively cheap for the hotels on Isla Verde. Within a walking distance (8 minutes) of Metropol Cuban/PR restaurant. Computer in the lobby for printing boarding passes...
Negative - Very small Bath/shower+toilet room, thin walls, heavy drapes cannot be closed, so the city's light filters through - might be a problem for light sleepers..?

Room Tip: I would pick the tower rooms - perhaps they are used less frequently or were renovated; quiet A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.2 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
ESJ Azul
ESJ Azul
#11 of 14 in Isla Verde
3.5 of 5 stars 113 reviews
3.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.3 mi away
El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verdanza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verdanza Hotel

Property: Verdanza Hotel
Address: 8020 Tartak Street, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Verdanza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm smiles lead the way at the relaxed, urban-inspired Verdanza Hotel,a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts Lifestyle Collection. Steps from Isla Verde beach; near restaurants, clubs, casinos. Air-conditioned rooms offer pillow menu, iPod(R) docking station, LCD TV, organic bath products, 2-line phone, safe, fridge, iron/board, hairdryer. Facilities: pool area with whirlpool and SprayPark, three restaurants, cafe. Services: complimentary bike-taxi transfers to beach, Tour Desk, Dollar Rent-A-Car. Location places guests minutes from convention center, historical city, cruise piers, marinas, shopping, attractions, international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Verdanza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Carolina
Carolina Holiday Inn
Verdanza Hotel Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing