We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, great staff & pool”
Review of Verdanza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Verdanza Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2012

During a family vacation we only stayed one night but wished we could have stayed longer. Staff was extremely helpful and we were given flavored ice treats for the kids (limbes in Spanish) and vouchers for pina coladas for the adults. The kids enjoyed the pool and the large chess set until the last minute.There were Various choices for a quick bite or a sit down dinner. Rooms were clean and unlike other reviews there was no mold in our rooms. Needless to say we were very happy with our stay here..would & will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Very convenient and economical hotel. Just a block away from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cy0079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenaJOrtiz, Public Relations Manager at Verdanza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

cy0079, It's great to learn how you made the most of a brief stay - and that you had a wonderful time! We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again, hopefully for a longer stay to enjoy from beginning to end. Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,169 - 1,175 of 1,616 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2012

For what we paid it was not as expected. It was ok for 1 night. The location left a lot to be desired. I will not stay here again.

We checked in very late and preferred to leave early to wait at the cruise port.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topaz1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenaJOrtiz, Public Relations Manager at Verdanza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2012

topaz1100, I am sorry to learn that your stay did not meet your expectations. Verdanza Hotel enjoys an excellent location much valued by guests - a block from the beach, surrounded by restaurant and entertainment options, and a mere five minutes from the airport. However, I trust you were able to enjoy the day in Old San Juan before departing on your cruise. I would love to receive your input our property, which helps us continue improving the guest experience. You may reach me directly at feelthevibe@verdanzahotel.com. Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We have mixed feelings about this hotel. The room seemed clean and the hotel itself had a lot of nice amenitites. However, the sheets on our bed were torn and the room seemed to have a real nasty mold problem. We both ended up with terrible congestion and pounding headaches. We happened to check in on a Friday night and the bar area next to the lobby had the music cranked up so loud the receptionist had to yell at us to get the information she needed. Not a good first impression.

Room Tip: Stay away if you have mold allergies and ask for a room a distance away from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triptyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenaJOrtiz, Public Relations Manager at Verdanza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2012

triptyme, our guests’ experience of Verdanza motivate us to double our efforts in ensuring that our maintenance program is second to none for your enjoyment and relaxation. Your observations allow us to identify areas that require immediate attention - and in fact we have been hard at work implementing enhancements to our room product. We thank you and hope to have a second opportunity to impress you favorably next time your travels bring you to San Juan. If I may be of any assistance, please contact us at feelthevibe@verdanzahotel.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

I like it very much. Great customer service. Clean and confy rooms. Free Wifi and great location. Near everything in Isla Verde. I definitely staying again.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maelo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenaJOrtiz, Public Relations Manager at Verdanza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

Maelo76, Our goal at Verdanza is to make our valued guests feel welcome and at home, so it was very rewarding to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

It was a wonderful experience for us. All was great the service, the attentions and the rooms were beautiful we enjoy a lot doing our weeding in this hotel. I would like to stay more days and with less stress, just to enjoy my vacations.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yamil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenaJOrtiz, Public Relations Manager at Verdanza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

Yamil R, congratulations on your recent nuptials. We hope you will return to celebrate many anniversaries at Verdanza Hotel. From everyone at Verdanza, may you enjoy a long and blessed life together!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

I would highly recommend this hotel. The employs were very friendly, rooms were clean, beds were comfortable. I would not recommend the pancakes for breakfast, not only were they $12 in which they add another $4 room service, I actually paid $19 for pancakes that were like cardboard no matter how much syrup I put on them they were horrible. I mentioned it to the manager on my check out and she was so kind to cancel the charges. I would stay at the
Verdanza again. I really enjoyed my time there!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacqueline r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenaJOrtiz, Public Relations Manager at Verdanza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2012

jacqueline r, thank you for your review of Verdanza! We are glad you enjoyed our hotel and service. Verdanza is well known for its culinary diversity and excellence – and we genuinely appreciate your feedback, which helps us to ensure our offerings are of top quality. We hope you can make it out to visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We decided to go on a last minute trip to San Juan because Seattle was beginning to get a little cold, wet and unbearable.

We made reservations at the Verdanza and to our surprise we were upgraded to a beautiful suite upon checkin. Although our stay was pretty short (3 nights), we had a wonderful time and the friendliness and service from the staff was outstanding.

Verdanza is on the other side of the Carolina strip (away from the beach), but we got plenty of much needed sun by the Verdanza pool which was clean, impeccably kept and featured gorgeous orchids that were expertly grafted on to the well-manicured palms.

Overall a great experience, and we're already looking forward to our return visit. :)

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbdullahS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorenaJOrtiz, Public Relations Manager at Verdanza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2012

AbdullahS, thank you for your review of Verdanza Hotel! We are happy to hear we lived up to expectations, not just the property and service, but also the hotel’s location in the heart of Isla Verde. We are looking forward to welcoming you back for another Caribbean getaway. Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Verde hotels
0.2 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
#4 of 13 in Isla Verde
360 reviews
0.3 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.4 mi away
ESJ Azul
ESJ Azul
#11 of 13 in Isla Verde
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verdanza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verdanza Hotel

Address: 8020 Tartak Street, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range: $137 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Verdanza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm smiles lead the way at the relaxed, urban-inspired Verdanza Hotel,a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts Lifestyle Collection. Steps from Isla Verde beach; near restaurants, clubs, casinos. Air-conditioned rooms offer pillow menu, iPod(R) docking station, LCD TV, organic bath products, 2-line phone, safe, fridge, iron/board, hairdryer. Facilities: pool area with whirlpool and SprayPark, three restaurants, cafe. Services: complimentary bike-taxi transfers to beach, Tour Desk, Dollar Rent-A-Car. Location places guests minutes from convention center, historical city, cruise piers, marinas, shopping, attractions, international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Verdanza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Carolina
Carolina Holiday Inn
Verdanza Hotel Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing