We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room for improvement”
Review of Coral by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coral by the Sea
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The hotel has a great location, near to the beach, stores, restaurants and nightlife. The room was clean and so was the bathroom. Not the comfiest bed or pillows though including sheets. If you're looking to get a good rest, this is not the bed for it. Bathroom was very small, very. This is a good hotel if you're just looking to have fun around the island and have somewhere to crash at night. Even though its a bit pricey to do just that. A plus, they have two good restaurants at the lobby in case you don't want to go to far from the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank katalina08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 345 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2014

i stayed here june 2013 for 5nights it was the cheapest hotel i could find in san juan which was $100 at last minute. basic hotel, the room was old and needs up to be dated but i enjoyed my stay here, the beach is walking distances ...... just walk in the ally to the beach. restaurant was okay down stairs. you can hear the planes landing/ taking off with loud engine sounds from my room but was not problem for me as i love airplanes. airfare was great on jetblue mco-san juan

Room Tip: no tip at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank American_Citizenship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Awesome price area was good very close to the airport. The hotel and room 409 was not moldy or smelly. The hotel is doing upgrades, the bathroom was gorgeous. Would definitely stay and recommend. Sadly no pool but there were 2 restaurants attached which I didn't get a chance to visit

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharpeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I thought it was going to be a low quality stay for the price I payed, but it was definitely all the contrary, hot water ran great, parking spot available, great location...prices of the room service were expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carlos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

College guys looking for a spring break hotel - This is your pad. Romantics, or someone looking for style and class, move along... It took almost an hour to check into our hotel room. There were two people in front of us and I had prepaid. The pictures online, don't quite do it justice... it's not that nice. The Location, well I could argue the location both ways - You are at the end of the runway, but you are also only 2 blocks from the Ritz Carlton and several other high end hotels. If you are planning on spending all of your time on the beach, then this may be an option, but you may want to bring your own sheet to sleep on, mine had stains on it. I didn't really hear airplane noise, unless I was in the bathroom - then it was loud.

I had read another review which said "If you only have to spend one night there, its not that bad" I would agree with this statement... I was let down at check in and seeing the room... I dreaded the next day after hiking through El Yunque - knowing I had to go back. I seriously debated just camping in El Yunque.

There is also a cock fighting ring right across the street, two restaurants on the main floor, and the beach is only a few blocks away.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TryppAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

The hotel is very close to the airport, an excellent place to overnight if necessary. It is a short cab ride, we had 2 bags and the fare was $14 each way. There was some airplane noise but I did not notice it between 9:30pm and 7:30am.
The hotel itself is basic; utilitarian and not at all fancy. I do not think it would be adequate for a long stay unless you only use it to sleep. It was day to day clean but could use a down deep sort of yearly type clean up. The bed was a bit hard but I slept well enough.
The staff were super nice which is always a plus.
There is a small cafe attached that made breakfast on the way to the airport easy.
I would stay here again if I had reason to be in San Juan over night.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MurTheExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

If you are on a budget and looking for a great place to stay then do check out the Coral By The Sea. I was pleasantly surprise by our room. It was spacious and cleaned. The amenities aren't much just a TV and a refrigerator. The furniture was old and needed to be updated but that didn't bother our group as we were only looking for a place to sleep and shower and were not spending an abundance of time in the room. The beach is literally a 5 minute walk from the hotel. There was free parking in the back and two great restaurants are attached to the hotel. The food was yummy!!! If you are a accustomed to larger grander scale resorts this place is not for you but if you are on a budget and looking to spend time in Puerto Rico then this place is a great deal. The review on here by some were harsh and granted its not a 5 star hotel but it definitely is NOT a dive and the the staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tara D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.4 mi away
Verdanza Hotel
Verdanza Hotel
#9 of 13 in Isla Verde
1,619 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa del Sol
Hotel Villa del Sol
#12 of 13 in Isla Verde
147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
3.7 mi away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#30 of 47 in San Juan
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
ESJ Azul
ESJ Azul
#11 of 13 in Isla Verde
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral by the Sea

Address: 2 Calle Rosa, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979-7107, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Price Range: $91 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Coral by the Sea 1.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coral by the Sea is situated only steps away from many of the area's most popular attractions. A variety of recreational activities, including various water sports, as well as the historic Old Town San Juan are nearby. The Coral not only provides guests with an ideal location, but also with a variety of modern amenities. Enjoy complimentary wireless internet access, a modern business center and the on-site restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Coral by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Sea Hotel
Hotel Coral By The Sea
Coral By The Sea Hotel
Coral By The Sea Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing