We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coral by the Sea Hotel
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Location location location”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This friendly hotel is an excellent place to stay on day of arrival and especially handy when leaving the island via Luis marin airport only 5-10 minutes away. Also hotel two blocks from denny"s Walgreen and other resaurants.Within walking distance of anything you may need.However this hotel is basic do not suggest for vacation stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Texan790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    56
    97
    55
    114
See reviews for
66
92
43
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nederland, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Good place to stay right near airport, close to the beach and restaurants. Stayed there just one night after arriving late into SJU. Not fancy, just your basic place to sleep. Nice, helpful staff. Cockfighting right across the street!

Room Tip: only stayed in one room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank planetminder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We needed an inexpensive place to stay for one night on our way to Culebra. Coral by the Sea is close to the airport, the staff were very friendly and helpful (my sister left her Rx glasses there and they found them and some articles of clothing and kept them clean and safe until we could get back a week later), it is very close to the beach and there is a great little spot for breakfast (Piu Bella) right there. The room was basic island fare - its not the Ritz but it was fine for what we wanted.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tabok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This hotel is affordable and cute. The service was great. The location is perfect. Don José's Restaurant is around the corner and serves 24 hours; American cuisine (including breakfast) is on the menu. Piu Bello restaurant is next door and closes at 11 p.m. Parking was free! Room was clean and had awesome air conditioning, free WiFi, and t.v. with free cable (yes, English programming). Will go back next time I'm in Puerto Rico. Refuse to pay more when I have it all here at Coral by the Sea.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maritza V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

dont expect a 5 star hotel for this price.. but it is a nice place...great location no pool but 3 min walking to the beach...clean rooms...a good..tv limited channels...free wifi... free parking great restaurant located on the bottom floor of hotel and across the street local cuisine and they do delivery to the room. Shopping via taxi is $7-$10 is ten to 15 min away..or u can take the bus for $1.50 ...Supermarket ten min from hotel and other hotels with casino and live music thurs/fridays right next door is ok does need a upgrade in decor... rooms are nice and clean.. no marriott but if your on vacation you wont be staying in the room all the time... corner rooms are the best...

Room Tip: choose corner rooms..larger and roomier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yasmine1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We booked a last minute cruise out of San Juan and needed an inexpensive hotel, preferably in Isle Verde as we were meeting some friends there. Read all the reviews, and booked Coral by the Sea. We arrived after a redeye flight and per Travelocity, check in was at 1PM. On arrival we were told that was incorrect, it was 3PM, and they had been trying to get Travelocity to update their information for the longest time. We had lunch and a few beers on the outside patio by the ice cream shop/bar and the staff got our room ready in record time - we were in there well before 3PM.

Room was what we expected (as was the Deliverance elevator as read about in other reviews!) - small, outdated - but clean and with one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept on.

Security was a bit of a concern with no in room safe for documents, but we improvised and it worked out just fine. Staff was excellent - when my husband accidentally left his wallet in the restaurant/bar they held it at the counter and when he went to reclaim it everything was intact (for those wondering, we have different last names and the room was under my name - they did try to locate him but could not, but it was waiting when he went looking the next day).

Clean, comfortable, friendly and helpful staff, inexpensive compared to surrounding hotels, a short walk to the beach - what else could we have asked for?!

Room Tip: No room tips - but it helps to hit the button for the elevator three times to get prompter service!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willowrose028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2013

clean rooms and clean bathrooms. ac and tv worked perfect. its location is also very convenient. close to everything including the airport. i dont go on vacations to spend time in a hotel room so this modest hotel was perfect for me. very good value for its price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonathan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Verde hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
0.4 mi away
Verdanza Hotel
Verdanza Hotel
#9 of 13 in Isla Verde
1,579 reviews
0.7 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
#4 of 13 in Isla Verde
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa del Sol
Hotel Villa del Sol
#12 of 13 in Isla Verde
146 reviews
0.5 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.3 mi away
La Playita
La Playita
#10 of 13 in Isla Verde
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral by the Sea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral by the Sea Hotel

Property: Coral by the Sea Hotel
Address: 2 Calle Rosa, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979-7107, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Coral by the Sea Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coral by the Sea is situated only steps away from many of the area's most popular attractions. A variety of recreational activities, including various water sports, as well as the historic Old Town San Juan are nearby. The Coral not only provides guests with an ideal location, but also with a variety of modern amenities. Enjoy complimentary wireless internet access, a modern business center and the on-site restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Coral by the Sea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Sea Hotel
Hotel Coral By The Sea
Coral By The Sea Hotel Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing