We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb”
Review of Zest Restaurant

Zest Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 41 Restaurants in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Contemporary, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
NJ
Level Contributor
79 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Zest started off very slow to a point where we were getting somewhat annoyed. We were seated on time but waited far too long to be waited on and served drinks. Unfortunately, we had to be moved to a different table because of an issue. After being moved, we waited again. The place was packed with only 2 servers on hand. Zest is not a big place and it gets crowded. After waiting we finally got our appetizer. An incredibly tasting seafood bouillabaisse. The only thing missing was a good loaf of Italian bread. After another long wait we were finally served our dinner. I can't even describe how unbelievable my dinner of Sea Bass was. It was the most superb dish that I have ever tasted. Well worth the wait. I enjoyed every single bite and have never tasted something so fabulous in my life. Yes, it was that good!
However, the wait was just too much and needs to be addressed. Otherwise, this is a must do restaurant!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MCKNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    101
    38
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orefield, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We loved the décor and the food was delicious. Our waitress was very helpful. Great Puerto Rican food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimyankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The popcorn/cream/truffle soup is unbelievable”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

This restaurant and hotel were recommended by a friend of mine who lives on the island - it is where her family vacations when in Isla Verde. (I only wish we had stayed at the hotel - see my review of the Verdanza.)
We made reservations on Open Table.
I am so glad we came for dinner. The restaurant is very sleek-cool (clear tables lit from underneath for example). It is divided into smaller rooms so it is not roaring loud...so I could actually hear my parents over dinner. The menu is creative and everything is beautifully plated. The popcorn / cream / truffle soup is incredible - one of the most memorable things I've ever eaten.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MTC2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, NY
Level Contributor
255 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“So. Much. Salt.”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

After reading the reviews of this place, we decided we had to go there on our vacation while we were staying in Isla Verde. Everyone raves about the popcorn soup, so we ordered that and the clam chowder croquettes as appetizers to share. The croquettes were fine, though not amazing. The popcorn soup is plated well. It looks cute in the brandy glass on the little cutting board. But...it is awful. Unless you like drinking a thick cup of warm butter with a heavy/overwhelming truffle oil smell - if that sounds great to you, go for it. We couldn't finish the glass of it between the two of us and both decided even then it was sitting like a rock in our stomachs. (I'll also admit - there's a part of my brain that struggles with soup that has to be sipped from a glass. Brain wants spoon.) Husband had the salmon with the guava sauce. Again, plating was very pretty, but he found bland, other than way too much salt in the rice (with no other distinguishable flavor despite the "cilantro cocount" description) and there was very little sauce. I had the chicken with Israeli couscous and was convinced that the chef had tripped in the kitchen and dumped the entire salt container into it. The chicken itself was edible, though salty, but I couldn't even get through a third of the couscous. (Felt terrible for a couple of hours until I drank enough water to balance out all the salt.) Donuts for dessert were pretty good though and the coffee was also good. Maybe just go there for dessert, I guess.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank wraar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
129 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Had a good Time!”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We had been to the bar on a previous trip, the atmosphere is nice, the seating would be the only "issue" that I would see, unless you are at a big table it is really not condusive for comfort during a meal. We decided to eat at the bar, which was great, the bartender Raphael (It think) was gracious and very accomodating, I enjoyed my meal more than my wife, but she liked what she had, where I thought my meal was very good! It was a short walk from where we were staying, we would go back again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Len H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zest Restaurant also viewed

 
Isla Verde, Carolina
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Zest Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing