We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Post cruise stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Post cruise stay”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We came here for two days after our cruise was done. Across the street from the airport so it will be a short ride when we leave. Beautiful beach, even nicer then other beaches we have been to on the island. Exceeded my expectation of a courtyard. Comfy bed too!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank OutAndAbout88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,280
    960
    323
    120
    86
See reviews for
803
937
109
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (720)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Deerfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Hotel was excellent and close to the Airport the Staff was very friendly and helpful. Our group of eight enjoyed the beach pools and bars. With winter tempature at home below 0 degrees Courtyard and sunny San Juan was the perfect start to our cruise vacation. Special thanks to Corral from the beach bar staff who waited on our party and kept the cocktails flowing with a smile. Excellent location to unwind and relax pre cruise. Next time we sail from San Juan we plan on arriving earlier and staying longer Thank you

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Service was great. Parking was a little much ($15 a day). Room was very pretty. Bathroom smelled a little strange but wasn't too bad. Bathroom could also use a redo. View from balcony was so nice. Pool and casino open 24 hours. Pool a little too warm and no deep end. Casino was a decent size. Room service was great. Live band in the Picante lounge was so cool. Pool side restaurant had good food, a little expensive but good. Got to go jet skiing :-)

Room Tip: Full balcony room would be great if you plan to relax in the room for extended time. If not then a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

I love this place. The beach is beautiful (same beach as the Ritz for far less money). The beach chairs are very comfy and they provide a full set up including umbrella and table. The pool area is also great. My favorite thing though is the ice cream parlor in the lobby!

My only reason for 4 rather than 5 stars is the AC was a bit noisy and although we could see the free Wifi address we could not connect to it. Some guy in tech support tried to tell me it was my tablet and made me give him all this info about my tablet promising ro get back to me but he never did. As it happened there was another free Wifi available and we had no problem getting on to it.

But these were not big deals and I would stay here anytime I go to PR.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrienneB6013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demotte, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2014

When we booked the hotel we didnt realize how close it was to the airport. Surprisingly, the noise was not even an issue! We upgraded our room to an ocean view. It was definately worth the money!! The beach was very clean. We could hear the waves from our room when the glass doors were open. The only bad thing I have to say is that we didnt get to utilize the swim up bar in the pool area because there were to many kids sitting there when they clearly had there own seperate pool.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melgar41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We started at a hotel in Old San Juan which was an unfortunate experience. We called Marriott and got out of the other reservation. This Courtyard was able to accomodate us for two nights and then we could move to Condado Beach as planned. Yes, this is an older property and the rooms are not updated, but it was very quiet and right on the beach. We were even given a partial ocean view and balcony despite our late check in. One of the hotel restaurants is right on the beach. Lounge chairs and umbrellas for the day are included in the resort fee which we appreciated. On the down side, we spent a fortune on food while at this property because there are not a lot of options to walk to other than hotel restaurants which are usually overpriced. Still, this property is good to know about especially if you are only staying for a day or two. We would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoakUpTheEnergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Good overall stay. A few pluses, a few minuses. Pool and beach are very nice. Room is average but comfortable. Main restaurant... not that good (mostly buffet style). Nice lounge and pool bar. Game room - closed. Gift shop - closed. Spa is gone. I don't understand how Marriott Corp. allows this. People are friendly, but with the lack of amenities, I may search for another location on my next visit.

Room Tip: All room are at least partial-ocean view, to my knowledge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenEyelander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
4.5 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.9 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
5.2 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 48 in San Juan
6,955 reviews
4.1 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort
Address: 7012 Boca de Cangrejos Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a powdery expanse of Isla Verde beach in San Juan, the newly renovated Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort is the perfect location for business or pleasure. The first hotel in San Juan to offer FREE Internet & wireless services it makes business a breeze! For families, babysitting & play services, game room & the beautiful pool & beach make any holiday perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Isla Verde Beach Hotel Isla Verde
Courtyard Isla Verde Beach Resort
Courtyard Carolina
Marriott Carolina
Carolina Courtyard
Carolina Marriott
Courtyard By Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing