We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Staff, Under construction”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff, Under construction”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

As many other reviewers have mentioned, the staff at this Courtyard were incredibly nice; and that's enough for me to say that I would come back here. That being said, it was not the perfect hotel and you should set your expectations accordingly.

The pool was under construction while we were there, which was very disappointing and a little bit noisy. I wish they would have informed us before our stay about the construction because we might have stayed somewhere else.

The hotel is right by the airport, but the rooms have a double door to the balcony, which cuts down on the sound. I did not hear the planes while we were in the room (though I did hear the construction noise from the pool), but you would hear it from the beach/pool/outside dining area etc.

The airport noise is more than overcome by the amazing beach. Isla Verde has a beautiful beach and you won’t get to experience it without accepting the airport noise (which really is not bad at all). The hotel is right on the beach and they provide chairs and umbrellas and towels for guests. There are beach bugs in the morning and evening, so just pack some bug spray; not really a big deal. There is a swim up bar which is only open in the afternoon (I wish it was open in the evening too) and they have happy hour on rum drinks from 3-6(?).

The restaurants in the hotel are good, but overpriced. You can find a local place (I suggest Metropol for lunch/dinner or Las Canarias or Piu Bello Gelato for breakfast – both walking distance) for MUCH cheaper with the same quality. Or better yet, go into Old San Juan and grab some local food there, but don’t plan to bring home leftovers – the mini fridge is so tiny it won’t hold a to-go box.

The best things about the hotel were the beach and the great staff and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennyrenny06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry N, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. As you mentioned, our pool is currently undergoing renovations. Half of the pool as well as the swim up bar and grill are open. The other half of the pool is being worked on. The pool will completely reopen for Thanksgiving Day. We are very excited as we are sure that the remodeled pool area will enhance overall guest experience. Thank you for the comments about our staff. We would love for you to visit us again. Please contact me before our next visit, in order to give you a complimentary room upgrade. Feel free to contact me at 787-648-8834 or hneumann@sjcourtyard.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,253
    948
    318
    117
    84
See reviews for
788
918
107
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loudon, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We just returned from a four night stay at this great hotel. This was a mother/daughter trip and we had a wonderful time touring Old San Juan and shopping. It was so nice after a long day of fun to return to this hotel where the staff was so accommmodating. Everyone we met was super friendly and very knowledgeable. The general manager Rafael Lebrom wanted to make sure our stay was a great experience since we had not been on a mother/daughter trip in several years. He was so kind to give us an upgrade to a Junior Suite that was ocean front. The accommodations proved to be so relaxing with a wonderful view. It was tempting to just sit on the balcony and feel the ocean breeze but of course the shops in the old town were calling our name. We did spend one day at the beach soaking up the sun. The beach was very clean and the chairs, umbrellas and towels were complimentary. There was always a staff member coming by making sure we comfortable and asking if we needed anything to drink.

This hotel also had several places to eat but one of our favorite things to do in the evenings was to talk with Stephanie or Cesar at the Banana's Ice Cream Parlor & Cafe while they prepared our favorite and most delicious chocolate milkshakes. Both Stephanie and Cesar always gave us great tips on places to eat and shop in the Old City and by the end of our five days we not only made two wonderful friends but I am sure carried home a few extra pounds from those awesome milkshakes.

This Courtyard was more than just your standard Marriott Courtyard but exceeded our expectations with being an outstanding resort. We enjoyed everything about our stay but I believe the staff made all the difference in what could have been just an ordinary stay making it an extraordinary visit.

Thank you again, Rafael, Stephanie and Cesar. If we ever come to Puerto Rico again this will be our hotel of choice and we will hope we have the pleasure of seeing you all once again.

Room Tip: Ocean Front Junior Suite was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ct
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2013

My family and i stayed at the marriott for about a week. We were looking for beachfront hotel at an affordable price so we decided on this place. Food was good, place was clean and the service was GREAT! I have a son with downs and the staff went the extra mile to accommodate our needs. There was a staff/front desk person named Nancy who in a word was awesome!!!!!! She really was sensitive to our child's needs and is one of the reasons i will return...!
Ps thank you Nancy

G. Reyes

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabmiester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Just returned from a four day stay with a group of mature women. The staff ( from the GM down to the beach attendants ) were the best, friendly, attentive and never bothered by whatever the group needed. We were treated like queens. The beach is fantastic with plenty of towels, lounge chairs and staff for assistance. Yes, the hotel is very close to the airport but the plane noise is intermittent and not a bother. There was music in the bar every night and quite a robust Latin dancing scene. The hotel could use some updating but it is such a pleasant, happy place that you soon don't even notice. It was four days of paradise and we could not have been happier.

Room Tip: We had ocean view rooms but understand that some rooms that are not on the ocean have a less than at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Queens53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Great hotel with ocean-view room, and I could see El Yunque rainforest every day from the large window on the 10th floor hallway! Friendly staff, and I loved the live Latin music & dancing in the Picante bar. Amazing beach views from the outdoor restaurant, bar & lounge areas--I grabbed breakfast every morning from Bananas's snack bar and ate here--wonderfully quiet and great way to start the day. Also a great place to wind down in the evening, and I saw a couple having a romantic dinner set-up right on the beach, surrounded by candles. Beautiful pool area and swim-up bar area, too. I would definitely return!

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor so that you can watch the sun rise over El Yunque from the large window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RevWes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Illinois/STL
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

My family and I stayed 5 nights there last month booking three rooms. I stay at Marriotts regularly throughout the US, Caribbean, and Mexico so I think I have a pretty good handle on evaluating them. First, the good. The staff was excellent. A little slow at check in but very friendly and they tried hard to be helpful and responsive. Terry (a male) at the outside bar was terrific. Very helpful in recommending a restaurant in Old San Juan, a great bartender, and just generally sincerely super nice. Really, everyone we encountered was quite good. More good, all the meals we had there were good. We had two dinners (one at each restaurant) and one breakfast there. The beach is one of the best in San Juan. Great boogie boarding for kids or adults (a reasonable $10 rental). Surf boards are also available. You walk out of the lobby and are on the beach 20 feet later. Awesome. The lounge/bar was rocking over the weekend. Live bands and lots of fun. The rooms were clean and comfortable but it's time for an update. Bathrooms and other fixtures are outdated. Location is ok. Convenient to the airport (some jet noise) but it's a hike to Isla Verde convenience stores, shops, and restaurants (one trade off for the good beach location). The not-so-good, one of the reasons we chose the hotel was the combination of a great beach and nice pool with a swim up bar, regular bar, full food service etc. We were VERY DISAPPOINTED to find out at check in that the pool area just started being re-constructed. They have walled off part of the pool at a narrow swim-through to keep about a third of the pool open but the main area (including the bar) is closed for construction. When one side is done they will switch to remodeling the other. Marriotts, most hotels in fact, typically note these things on their websites. It wasn't and isn't. I even called a few days before arrival to ask about the amenities and it wasn't mentioned then. When we did try to relax at the pool jackhammers, drills, and sandblasters were running most of the time. I understand that remodeling needs to occur but at least notify potential guests on the website! Even while we were on our 8th floor balcony the noise was noticeable. The hotel said 6 weeks but I talked to one of the workers who told me more like 3 months which will put the conclusion in early January 2014. I'm sure it will be great when it's done but we probably would have stayed elsewhere had we known in advance. There is no gift/convenience store either. It's closed and supposed to be redone too (contributes to the issue of a long walk to a Walgreens for a Diet Coke). Due to the great staff, beach, and food/lounge entertainment we still had a positive experience. I would have given them a 4 instead of a 3 if it wasn't for the pool issue. To the management, put a notice about pool construction on your website!

Room Tip: Rooms to the west would have the better view except the condo building immediately to that side is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelSaluki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry N, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Good Afternoon Travel Saluki,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We will definitely recognize Terry for his outstanding customer service. I would like to apologize for the revamping of the pool area. We have already reopened the section of the pool where the pool grill and swim up bar is located. This area has been completely refreshed providing a vibrant look and feel. The pool will reopen completely for Thanksgiving weekend. We can send you pictures of the progress, if you would like. I hope that you can come back and enjoy the new pool. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. If I can be of additional assistance, please do not hesitate in contacting me. You may reach me at 787-648-8834 or Hneumann@sjcourtyard.com.
Have a great weekend,
Henry E. Neumann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree MA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Overall experience was great. Close to the airport, right on the beach, with a very active and entertaining lounge. Front desk was a little slow at check in, but think that is more of the way the whole island operates vs. anything wrong with the staff who were VERY friendly and helpful. Anyway, room was fine; bed very comfortable, nice big TV, small fridge. Upon checkout, the $149/night we thought we were paying became closer to $200. $25 a night fee for extra person (never heard of this one before!!). 20 something resort fee, $20 govt fee. So just be aware of this. I was able to speak to a very nice woman at the front desk (Natalia) who did remove the $25 extra person fee, but just make sure you take a close look at your bill. Taxi from airport was about $15 (they charge $12 but add $1 per bag fee). Also, airport is right across the street so there are times during the day when the sound of planes is near deafening!! There were several cats out on the beach, which I was told are there to keep Iguanas away.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BraintreeMADjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
4.5 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.9 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
5.2 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
6,755 reviews
4.1 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort
Address: 7012 Boca de Cangrejos Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a powdery expanse of Isla Verde beach in San Juan, the newly renovated Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort is the perfect location for business or pleasure. The first hotel in San Juan to offer FREE Internet & wireless services it makes business a breeze! For families, babysitting & play services, game room & the beautiful pool & beach make any holiday perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Isla Verde Beach Hotel Isla Verde
Courtyard Isla Verde Beach Resort
Marriott Carolina
Courtyard Carolina
Carolina Marriott
Carolina Courtyard
Courtyard By Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing