We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Excellent customer service .. nice room..didnt like that coffe maker was in the bathroom! Germs!! Dingy white tiles...old metal shower head... happy hour only covered beer...pricey drinks but not watered down...good meals not a lot of food thou... casino inside but I didn't visit... pool area ok ...could use touch ups n renovations wear n tear shows...nice outdoor furnishings couches n comfy hammocks to relax in..if u don't mind the smokers caz they place the ashtrays next to the hammocks n couches so u cnt just enjoy the fresh air...nope...close proximity to airport so u will only pay taxi a few bucks but u will also hear n see every plane that takes off.. airline emps r used to that lol... the neighborhood is ok...short @ or 3 block walk to restaurants n walgreens..mosquitos will buffett u so bware!!! U feel it days later... beach clean not a lot of seaweed n debris to mess up the view beautiful teal water n beige sand...wth cigarette butts of course...n a couple stray cats n dogs lol... no hagglers selling n harrassing tourists either... Iwould return for the affordability also they hold $100 for inccidentals they don't explain that before swipping lol smh...oh n I caught a neighbor peeping at me from balcony across...I think its apartments bware ..

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAZZ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,257
    950
    319
    117
    84
See reviews for
792
920
107
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (706)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Ok, this hotel is very nice and I have no complaints about the rooms or the facilities. However, my stay there and remaining holiday has been completely ruined by by sitting on the beach directly outside the hotel in one of their hammocks. After checking in we went to sit on the beautiful beach and spent an hour there. Following this, my legs, arms and back erupted with hundreds and hundreds of angry red bites which are unbelievably itchy and ugly. I am writing this 4 days later and they are still just as bad. I had to see a doctor who couldn't believe the severity of them.
When I returned to my room I saw a tiny notice warning about these bugs which was hidden away in a closet. Too little, too late. My stay there was ruined and it has wrecked the rest of my vacation.
Warning: if you are considering a stay at this hotel bear in mind this potential hazard and pack gallons of insect repellent.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
22 Thank Calmcglaughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padin, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We do appreciate hearing from our guests, as their comments are vital for us.

Please accept my most sincere apologies for the incident that affected your stay. As in any part of the Caribbean there is a possibility of being bitten by insects. Insects like the Sand bite (Family Ceratopogonidae) which is endemic to the Caribbean and is commonly known as no-see-ums or biting midges. These tiny biting insect are barely visible to the naked eye, but as you experienced their bites can be very annoying but not harmful to human health. The challenge we have with this insect is that it only comes out during sunset hours and under specific temperature, humidity and weather conditions and it is less active during the winter and spring.

I truly sorry to know that in your particular circumstance it ruined the remainder of your vacation, with that in mind we would like to restore your faith and trust in us. Please, in your next visit to Puerto Rico, I personally would like to make your reservation arrangements and offer you a special rate and complimentary room upgrade. We look forward to welcoming you back so that we may extend our hospitality to you under more pleasant circumstances. Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at 787-388-3043 or jpadin@sjcourtyard.com.

Sincerely,

José C. Padín
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Super friendly service, good location right in front of the beach, hotel restaurants are pricy but very good. The beach is nice, the water is not clear....On the negative side: TV never worked during my 4-night stay (even after reporting it at the front desk every single day...I guess I was too nice and respectful so they never paid attention), wireless internet in the room was always so slow I couldn't stand it (always would wind up switching to 4g to avoid the aggravation). One last thing, I went Old San Juan via cab, I was told at the front desk it was $19 dollars but at the destination the driver said it was $21...no big deal but I thought it would be worth noting it here. Overall balance the stay was good (probably because I rarely watch TV anyway, what bothers is that you are paying full price for something you don't get....).

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jguti69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry N, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Puerto Rico. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the beach and received friendly service from our staff. I would like to apologize for the situation with television. One of our engineers visited your room on 10/6 and 10/7, while you were out. He checked the TV on both occasions and the regular programming was working. On those days, we did have a situation with the movie purchasing system. Movie purchasing through the TV was not available during your stay. The system has already been fixed and we also have DVD players in every room. Our engineer should have left you a note indicating that he had visited the room. Please let me know if I can be of additional assistance. Feel free to reach me at hneumann@sjcourtyard.com or 787-648-8834. Stay with us during your next trip to Puerto Rico and I will give you a complimentary room upgrade.
Have a wonderful day,
Henry E. Neumann
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed 2 days before a cruise. Great way to start our vacation -- beach was great, service was fine, would stay again if in Puerto Rico.

The powers that be should think about keeping pool bar open a little longer (5pm to early to close).

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scoobydobe7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband and I decided on a longer honeymoon, with a stop in the mainland first, and we flew into San Juan for 5 days to enjoy the "second leg" of our honeymoon. As soon as we got out of the taxi, we were immediately greeted by the guys with, "Welcome home." When booking our reservation it said we would get a low floor, ocean view, a 20% Dragonfly Tour discount and Enterprise REnt a Car discount. They put us on the 11th floor, which was fine by me! We had a great view of the Ocean and beach! This room is considered an "Ocean view" room because the balcony area is angled, but you have a perfect view of the ocean. The restaurant is down below, but on a high floor, you really can't see anything.

We ate dinner in Salsa our first night there. They had no problem translated the specials for us as they were written in Spanish. We had great service in the restaurant.

We frequented the pool, which was clean and relaxing. We were always at the pool bar, Papaya, and Terry at the pool bar was AMAZING!! Every day we showed up he remembered exactly what we had ordered and asked if we wanted it again. He told us a lot about the island, including historical. He was amazing and made a huge part of our trip!!! What we didn't understand is why the pool bar closed at 5 every day. The bar and pool would be FULL of people drinking and eating, and at 5, when the bar closed, everyone left the pool. I can't help but think Marriott is losing money by closing when you have a bar full of people! That was one thing that set us back a little bit, but it wasn't anything big.

On Saturday's and Sunday's Salsa only has a buffett for $25 dollars for dinner. What was on the buffett didn't really look desireable, so we chose to eat at Picante, which had a pretty limited menu. It took a while to be waited on, and our waitress was less than attentive. Our nachos came out, and they were so soggy, you could tell that the ingredients on them had been sitting for a while. My french fries were ice cold. We let the manager know, and she corrected the situation right away and brought us out food. We weren't aware that regular soft drinks did not have free refills! Imagine our surprise after having 5 or 6 sodas and being charged $3 dollars a pop!!! Marriott definitely gets you there on that. There is NO WHERE in that area where they say that sodas are not free refills. We were a little disturbed by this. Overall, we never visited Picante any more, though the manager was extremely attentive to making the situation right when our food was cold and soggy.

We also ate at Banana - the first night we had a brownie sundae that was overflowing at the bit with ice cream and every topping you could think of. We also had breakfast there one morning (Bagel and cream cheese will cost you $2 and a muffin is around $2.75, practically the cheapest restaurant in the hotel). On our last night we ordered a pizza from Banana and Tannelly was our waitress. She was PHENOMENAL! She was so attentive, constantly checking on us to see if we needed anything else, and even letting us know that she was going on break and she would be back in x amount of minutes in case we wanted to close our our tab (we had already had dessert and was finished our meal). You couldn't ask for better service.

On one of the days, I asked the concierge about the 20% Dragonfly tours and she said she had no idea what I was talking about. She then showed me a brochure for some other tour company, and kept pushing that on us. It seemed that no one knew about Dragonfly Tours, so I'm not sure why that was a "selling" feature when making the reservation. Unfortunately, that 20% got wasted in the shuffle of things.

We ended up doing a lot by taxi, which will cost you anywhere from $15-21 one way to Old San Juan (not sure why this price always changed?) We didn't feel comfortable taking the bus, because we really didn't know the area. There is a Walgreens 3 blocks from the hotel and within walking distance - though the lady in the gift shop suggested that we do not walk at night. The gift shop has a few last minute items if you need anything, though everything was on sale and it appeared that they are either moving or closing for good.

The casino gets busy at night, and i found I hit more during the morning hours than in the evening.

The beds in the hotel are UNBELIEVEABLE!! They are so comfortable, and probably one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. We took the name and model of the mattress down so we can check it out when we need to get a new mattress. The walls however, in the room, are somewhat thin. We had a connecting room, and where we couldn't hear the people on one side of our room, the room with the connecting door, the first three nights we were there, the people were loud and obnoxious at 6 AM in the morning. I really didn't want to move my room, so I never complained, but it was only on one side of the room. I feel like it's a given at any hotel and really just the luck of the draw if you happen to get next to a person who is loud.

While we were there we endulged in a couples massage. It was relaxing, though the downside is, you are right near the pool. They may want to look into moving the massage area, as, a massage isn't as relaxing when you have children running and screaming in front of you. Though, I know this isn't any fault to the massagist, the hotel should REALLY look into moving their massage tables. For $200 it could have been a lot more relaxing then it to be disturbed by children running and screaming.

Overall, our stay at the hotel was good. Tannelly and Terry made this experience wonderful for us. You're right on the beach, you have a nice pool, and really, every ammenity you can think of - my suggestions to make it 5 stars - Papaya staying open later if you have a bar full of people, moving the massage area, and letting people know if there are free refills or not. People work hard for their money! If you chose to stay here, it's well worth the money paid, and you are close to the airport, which means, you can use the amenities a little bit longer before checking out!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location, close to restaurants and stores. Value was average compared to others but having the beach in your backyard makes it worth it! Casino on site as well as a pool. Staff was great and visitors were friendly. Take the .50 cent bus to old San Juan instead of a taxi for $20. Hotel is minutes away from airport which leaves more time to have fun! I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klasallejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Hotel is a little dated, but the beach is one of the best we visited, next to a Ritz Carlton so you know you are in a nice area. Last hotel on the east end of Isla Verde, nothing to the east but sand, surf and sun. The staff were awesome,casino was fun with pretty loose slots. Rooms were nice, comfy beds, nice linens and great service from housekeeping. Spring for an oceanfront room if you plan on spending much time in it. Partial ocean views have a view of the roof below AC on the roof made it impossible to enjoy the sound of the surf while on our balcony. Food is hotel quality, and expensive. Walgreens and plenty of recognizable food spots a short drive down the blvd. We rented a Hyundai for $8.75 a day, but when you add $16.50 a day to park at the hotel per day, you realize why they rent cars so cheap!

Room Tip: Ocean view, or east side gave better views, higher floors give great views and are farther from roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
4.5 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.9 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
5.2 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,765 reviews
4.1 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort
Address: 7012 Boca de Cangrejos Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a powdery expanse of Isla Verde beach in San Juan, the newly renovated Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort is the perfect location for business or pleasure. The first hotel in San Juan to offer FREE Internet & wireless services it makes business a breeze! For families, babysitting & play services, game room & the beautiful pool & beach make any holiday perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Isla Verde Beach Hotel Isla Verde
Courtyard Isla Verde Beach Resort
Marriott Carolina
Courtyard Carolina
Carolina Marriott
Carolina Courtyard
Courtyard By Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing