We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“A great welcome to P.R.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Isla Verde Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Isla Verde Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A great welcome to P.R.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is a great oceanfront hotel for a pre- or post- cruise stay or a long weekend.

Staff is incredibly welcoming and friendly. Andre met us at our taxi with a friendly welcome. He stored our luggage and then brought it to our room. Andre was helpful with providing information about the resort and area. Yanet at the front desk also provided a friendly welcome. Our thanks to manager Yanira for accommodating our need to check in at 10:00am.

We had a room on the 9th floor, 2 queen beds, oceanview with balcony. While some may consider the rooms dated, they are clean and spacious. Our view from the balcony was great (we just avoided looking toward the building on our left that was not aesthetically pleasing- this is P.R. and there is a mix of run down and nice buildings everywhere). The palm trees and crystal blue waters were picturesque.

The beach was paradise. The beach is the reason (along with the friendly staff) that I would not hesitate to stay here again. Harry was friendly and prompt with assisting with beach chairs and umbrellas. The water was calm and clear. The sand was soft and clean. The hammocks on the beach were also a great place to relax to the sound of the waves.

Sirena was the restaurant/tapas bar outside that was adjacent to the beach. I could have eaten all meals here enjoying the great view of the beach and ocean.

We were here for only 1 night and did not venture outside the resort area. The restaurants Sirena and Salsa had good food. There was also a coffee/ice cream counter for breakfast & snacks.

Resort is near the airport, yet we did not hear the airplanes in our room. On the beach and from the resort windows facing east, we were able to plane watch.

This resort is a great value and the best option for oceanfront in Isla Verde (unless you want to spend a great deal more for the same beach at the Ritz).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wifam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,072
    858
    293
    106
    74
See reviews for
693
803
92
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and I were celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary and made our reservations well in advance with specific requests for a room on a high floor with a view of the beach and away from the elevator, and guess where they put us? Third floor of a 10 floor hotel, right across front the elevator. And the front desk staff is the worst l have ever seen for a Marriott property. I had to check at the front desk daily to assure they did not add charges to my room that they should not have. We got one free breakfast per day (mind you, our reservation was for two people, but we only received one free breakfast). I will never stay there again!!! Spending over $200.00 per night for a hotel, to get such poor is disappointing. I'm fact, when l retuned a couple of weeks ago in business travel, I had faster, more efficient serve stating at the Hampton Inn Isla Verde. The rooms there are larger and they have free breakfast. It is surrounded by great restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImaTravelBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry N, Manager at Courtyard Isla Verde Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Congratulations on your 10th Wedding Anniversary and thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay. I would like to apologize for not being able to accommodate you according to your requests. We take guest requests very seriously and always do our best to fully service them. Our front desk staff is constantly educated with various guest service trainings. I am very sorry to hear that you did not receive satisfactory service from them and apologize for this. I would like to address the breakfast item, but need more information about your reservation in order to do so. Please feel free to contact me at 787-648-8834 or hneumann@sjcourtyard.com in order to further discuss your stay.
I wish that we would have had the opportunity to meet during your vacation in order to correct these situations.
Hopefully, you will give us a second chance in the future. If so, please do not hesitate in contacting me.
Always willing to assist,
Henry Neumann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, TN
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed for 1 night on way to USVI for vacation. Clean, comfortable room. Patio restaurant "Sirena" was great. Tapas and drinks over looking beach and ocean with lighted fountain in middle of table. Breakfast at "Salsa" again on patio was good, maybe a little over priced...but good quality. Pool area was very nice. Casino is old feeling and small. Every staff member we encountered was very pleasant. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Very close to airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JCeyecandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I picked this hotel to get closer to the airport and avoid traffic before my return trip home. It was a little hard to get to but I blame that on the street layout and the GPS system. My first thought was, "Oh No, another casino hotel but it turned out to be my best stay in Puerto Rico. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Jose recommended their Selina restaurant for dinner and it was fantastic! One of my best meals ever. Christian was an excellent server and the atmosphere was soothing. The music was retro Latin jazz and suited the outdoor eating area perfectly. It will rate in my top 10 dining experiences. I felt like a celebrity in the 50's. I could easily see myself spending a week here relaxing. If the commute wasn't so bad I'd stay here instead of Dorado.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ivybeanaverywareman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this courtyard, nice resort. Had some issues getting out of the garage but were able to overcome this, rooms are older but just fine, pool is nice, ocean is calm no big waves. We did the rain forest tour 1 1/2 hour tour, the content was ok. Our guide did not guide us thru and explain the forest. Just met up with him when we finished the hike, it was a slippery trail,bananas was good to have breakfast . Nice casino, walgreens close by to grab water and snacks , went to the metropole resturant twice its a good dea l and lots of food. We had rain half the time. But did not stop our golf, hiking and fishing charter, all in all good hotel and good services.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnyd2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were given a room with a view of a roof!!! And the air were not working well.. We complained to the front desk and they moved us to a better room with balcony but had to pay the extra $20 a day. But well worth it... the view from our balcony was amazing!!! I loved the hammock by the beach. This hotel is literally a walk from the beach. The service by the beach were amazing. The casino is a plus and the bar by the lobby is wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cherbac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Puerto Rico ..San Juan..fantastic place
This was our first time trip to San Juan Puerto Rico
Courtyard Marriott was our first hotel we stayed in.
We are from. India and are vegetarians..having no meat.
We visited the restaurant in the hotel and met the F&B manager Sonia Gonzalez.
She was such a warm pleasant and enthusiastic person,who made sure we were fully satisfied with our meals
She created lots of vegetarian meals for us along with the chef and made our stay wonderful.
Her energy and willingness to churn out vegetarian meals which were not in the menu made us eat every meal at the hotel
We will recommend this hotel and the services of the able F&B manager

Room Tip: Higher floor would be a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madhulahoty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
4.5 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
3.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
7.3 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 14 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 stars 2,842 reviews
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Condado Palm Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Isla Verde Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Isla Verde Beach Resort

Property: Courtyard Isla Verde Beach Resort
Address: 7012 Boca de Cangrejos Ave, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Isla Verde Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a powdery expanse of Isla Verde beach in San Juan, the newly renovated Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort is the perfect location for business or pleasure. The first hotel in San Juan to offer FREE Internet & wireless services it makes business a breeze! For families, babysitting & play services, game room & the beautiful pool & beach make any holiday perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard Isla Verde Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Isla Verde Beach Hotel Isla Verde
Marriott Carolina
Courtyard Carolina
Carolina Courtyard
Carolina Marriott
Courtyard Isla Verde Beach Resort Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing