We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stepping into Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I felt like I stepped into Paradise the moment I entered the resort! This resort is a tropical oasis with the most beautiful beachfront right out the backdoor of the resort! The restaurant choices in the resort are all amazing with gorgeous indoor and outdoor seating like you are right on the beach! I loved the many hammocks under the beautiful palm tress right out the door on the white sandy beach! Pool with swim up pool bar was so relaxing and you must try the Mango Madness! The resort would go out and set up your umbrella and chairs under the palm tree of your choice or right out in the warm sunshine...always a breeze and WHAT A BEAUTIFUL beach! You do not have to leave the resort to have the Puerto Rico vacation of a lifetime! The staff was amazing and so friendly...would go out of their way to please you! Each day the staff would teach us a Spanish "word-of-the-day" or phrase. Would recommend this resort to others.

Room Tip: We stayed ocean front, but believe ocean view would be just as spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,826)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,754 - 1,760 of 2,826 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

Pretty decent hotel. Food options were okay - bit overpriced, but it makes sense considering the beach front location. Happy hour wasn't too amazing, but only because the happy hour choice was literally rum with a mixer (think of a typical college drink). Casino had $3 to $5 dollar Black Jack mins, depending on time, so that was fun.

Bed was comfortable, beach was amazing, staff was very friendly. Given the proximity to the airport, I was worried about noise, but I found that you couldn't here it at all inside. Minimally on the beach, but it wasn't bad.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Curious1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This hotel was recommended to us by our San Juan office and we were not disappointed. We went for a long weekend and it was the perfect place to be for 3 nights. I'm a Marriott platinum member for several years now and I tend to be picky about hotels, but this was by far the nicest Courtyard property that Marriott has. The beds were super comfy and I slept great there. As other reviews mention, and as many properties in the area are old, this one has been well maintained and doesn't smell or feel that old.

We checked in a few hours early and received an upgrade to an ocean view room on the top floor. After the porter brought our bags up (I normally bring my own but they were so nice when we arrived I just said yes) we noticed that our room was next to the ice machine and the door to the ice machine room was super squeaky. The porter called down to tell the front desk that we needed another room and we were settled into our new room within 5 minutes.

We had lunch at the pool bar which was perfect after being on the plane all morning and not wanting to wander far. 2 drinks and 2 meals was about $45, more than your average lunch but about right for a hotel on the beach. We had breakfast at the buffet both weekend days and enjoyed it as well. We also had lunch at the other outdoor restaurant and it was delicious.

The beach is ahmazing! There is no other way to describe it. The beach boys bring your chairs and an umbrella and set it up wherever you want it. We didn't use the beverage/food service on the beach but it seemed to pretty decent. The pool was equally as nice and we spent our afternoons lounging/napping in the chairs followed by cocktails at the swim up bar. The happy hour was great, we enjoyed a few rum drinks each night.

There was live salsa in the Picante lounge each night and it was packed with mostly locals and some hotel guests.

The hotel gym was also fantastic- one of the best I've seen and compares to a full service Marriott gym. The equipment was new and the gym was well maintained. The gym overlooks the pool and beach which was nice to see while working out.

Overall great experience, would definitely recommend it and will go back soon.

We loved the local food at Metropole which was walking distance from the hotel. We also had lunch at Brother Jimmy's at the El San Juan hotel. I've been to the NY Brother Jimmy's and this one is exactly the same. It has an amazing view of the beach being on the 10th floor. It's safe to walk around at night- a cab ride to Old San Juan is $21 each way so spend some time down there if you go. We just had dinner down there and felt that it was an expensive trip.

Room Tip: The rooms next to the ice machines have a view but can be noisy-
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frenarena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This hotel is a great choice for a mid-priced hotel in Puerto Rico. Isla Verde is a very nice area. The beach in front of the Marriott is fantastic. There are plenty of chairs and umbrellas. The beach-side service is great.

As other reviews state, it is right next to the airport. But the plane noise it not an issue. I didn't hear it at all in the room. And only noticed it a few times on the beach, but it is only a little louder than when a plane flies over my house.

The food in the restaurants is expensive, but around the same as any resort. The food at Sirena was very good. If you want a cheap choice for breakfast, Bananas in the lobby sells muffins, bagels and fruit.

I'd recommend a car if you don't want to eat in the hotel all the time. This is the last hotel on the strip and nothing too close to walk to. FYI, parking is $15 a day.

Every staff member was warm, friendly, and helpful. The room might need a little updating, but it was very clean and housekeeping was very attentive.

Overall, this was a great, relaxing vacation. I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: The ocean front room was great. But all the rooms have a side view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NancyNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

As a long time Marriott rewards member I have stayed at a lot of Marriott brand hotels and by far this property is the nicest Courtyard I have visited. It's more like a mini Marriott resort than a Courtyard. The outside is really wonderful with tons of comfy outdoor seating where you can lounge and read a book or grab a cocktail and a meal. There is a swim-up bar- hammocks and benches on the beach as well as employees to set up your own little area on the beach with chairs, table and umbrellas. Now for the downside- the service. It's not terrible, it's just okay. In fairness, because the property is so nice perhaps I was expecting Marriott Resort service and that is why I was disappointed. It's nothing major- just the little things that make your stay especially great. We made two different requests (one for one more pillow and another to have someone come up and reset our alarm clock) and waited most the day before requesting AGAIN. We also found the concierge less than helpful- like pulling teeth to get her to call a restaurant to see when they opened. Despite the less than stellar service I would stay here again- the property just outweighs the service, I guess!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbarnes505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I loved this hotel and the balcony view was perfect. The outside at night was put together well. The hotel lobby had the best drinks ever and had a nice band playing music. I will def stay here again on my next trip to PR

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

our stay was good overall. we stayed 2 nights. the rooms are small and the bathroom needs major upgrade. however they had good restaurant and scenic views. the hammocks outside was very comfy and enjoyable.
the parking spots are very small, and its $15 a day. parking card did not work too well, but staff was fast to help.
the hotel is close to a lot of things to do and see. best place was pinones for food and drinks :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolineJenn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.9 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
0.6 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,255 reviews
4.5 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
4.1 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort

Address: 7012 Boca de Cangrejos Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range: $219 - $501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a powdery expanse of Isla Verde beach in San Juan, the newly renovated Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort is the perfect location for business or pleasure. The first hotel in San Juan to offer FREE Internet & wireless services it makes business a breeze! For families, babysitting & play services, game room & the beautiful pool & beach make any holiday perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Isla Verde Beach Hotel Isla Verde
Courtyard Isla Verde Beach Resort
Courtyard Carolina
Marriott Carolina
Carolina Marriott
Carolina Courtyard
Courtyard By Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing