We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice Location and Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Isla Verde Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard Isla Verde Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Ardsley on Hudson, NY
Level Contributor
276 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice Location and Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Especially surprising for a Courtyard (Marriott brand which is usually middle tier) right on beach easy drive from airport, nice pool and restaurants on site. Being near airport you do get sounds of planes but windows are sound dampening (not sound proof) but the trade off being right on the beach is worth it but be aware of that in case it is't for you!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanONYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,142
    890
    300
    108
    77
See reviews for
724
841
98
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Archbald
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

This was the best vacation that we ever had and we have been married for 27 years (going on 28 - on June 8th) and we have been making memories for all of those years. The resort was wonderful, the staff was kind and attentive, We mean extraordinary! We recommend that you stay here if you want to be treated like you are family, we will stay here again and bring our friends.

We will always hold in our memories the beautiful views and sounds of the ocean you can hear and see it from your room. We will never forget how kind and how well we were treated by everyone at Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort.

We really, really enjoyed hammocking near the beach -- and we also had fun when we faked falling off of our bar stools in the pool. The beach chairs and umbrellas were great.

Thank you Jose, Henry, Francesca, Eric, Ricardo and everyone that worked so hard -- you touched our hearts.

Louise and John Blake

Room Tip: Ocean View, ask the staff...our recommendations, and I think we have this right, would be 327, 427...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

From the moment we arrived until the moment we departed everything was EXCELLENT. The valet service, Adrian that checked us in was quick and very courteous. Room was very clean, A/C worked great and the view was priceless. We walked out to the beach and with in 3 minutes we had a table, 2 chairs and an umbrella all set up right in front of the beach. Breakfast at Salsa was plentiful and very well presented.An AWESOME EXPERIENCE!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors are better!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Efraim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sailing
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We booked our stay at the Courtyard Marriot as a post cruise stay. We arrived around 8:15 and they apologized for not having our room ready. I had hoped to have a king room with ocean/pool view but was notified after booking that those rooms were all booked. I emailed the manager of the hotel and explained the situation. He said he would take care of it and boy did he. They were going to going to upgrade us to an ocean front king room and wanted us to wait in the public areas of the hotel. They gave us a pager which would go off when they had our room ready. The pager also gave us 15% off in any of the restaurants, so we went to have breakfast.

As we finished the assistant manager came to us and wanted to know if we would consider a two queen bed ocean front Jr Suite instead of the king regular ocean front room. Seemed like a no brainer to me. It was a beautiful corner room with fridge, microwave and cabinets. The bathroom was huge and very clean. The beds were some of the most comfortable ever. We took a quick nap and were down to the pool by noon.

The Courtyard Marriot more than met our expectations. It was a beautiful hotel with very friendly service and beautiful grounds. We spent 2 ½ days here after our cruise and never felt the need to go anywhere else. The restaurants were very good and not too pricey. The beach and pool bar service was very good.

We had lunch at the Papaya Grill both days. This restaurant is on the back side of the swim up bar and food is served in the seating area as well as the pool and beach areas.

Early in the evening we sat outside and browsed the Sirena Restaurant menu to get an idea of what to order for dinner later on. I just loved the light up menus. The service here was great.

We did not have to check out until 12:00 which us a full morning to enjoy the beach and have one more breakfast before leaving. The Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde is a wonderful place and I highly recommend staying there anytime you can.

Room Tip: If you have a special request just ask. They really do make an effort to make your stay enjoyable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cruisinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Very nice location right on the beach. Central location to travel to San Juan and the rain forest. The beach was great for kids (9 and 12) to boogie board, splash around and collect shells. Several pools for the evening or when the ocean is rough.
A special thank you to Sally in the Serena outdoor lounge. She was extremely friendly and helpful, and makes a killer Pina Colada. I would make a point to look for her, and also Sterling in the Picante Lounge.

Room Tip: Choose an upper level room. We stayed on the top floor and the ocean view was awesome. I read that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

The room was clean, the bed was very comfortable plenty of cold air conditioning and hot water. The only issues with the room was air conditioning was a little noisey. I don't get to concerned with carpet and furniture that shows some wear or age as long as long as its clean. so for me those items were good. We ate at two of the hotel restaurants and they were both very good. But the outdoor restaurant by the pool had a menu that I liked better. We tried two of the appitizers, Cuban sandwich spring rolls...Excellent and crab stuffed peppers...also excellant! The grouper with grilled shrimp was delicious as was the chocolate cake for dessert. If you eat outside don't forget to go to the front desk and ask for the off bug spray, its complimentary and you will need it! Our waitress was very good, she recommended the appitizers. We also ate at the indoor restaurant salsas. It was another great meal. The specials listed on the board was in spanish, but our waitress brought over another waitress that explained it to us in english and in detail. I had the lechon (grilled pork) and liked it very much. I didn't use the pool or beach amenities this time, it was raining most of the times I could have. But no problem for me....a rainy day at the beach bar is way better than a rainy, thunderstorm, tornado, or snowy day in the spring in Illinois!
If I travel back to Puerto Rico I would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsarv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon. Clean, quiet, relaxing time. Beach view was awesome. The gnats do bite so bring bug repellent. Even though we had a good time, some things could always use improvement - they charge for bungee boards and water floats. The food at the hotel is a lil pricey, however, there are many eateries within walking distance. The hotel could use more activities for the guests (water aerobics, board games - other than casino gambling). We did venture out to other hotels for their free nightly entertainment. El San Juan next to ESJ towers is beautiful, had great entertainment during the week and Jimmy's bbq on the 10 floor (great view) was very good. Don Jose restaurant had awful pork chops. They were fried too hard so be sure to specify if you do venture there. We also partook of the rainforest tour. It was very nice, but I've seen better. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend PR if you've never been.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms have awesome views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alecia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
4.5 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
0.9 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 14 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,933 reviews
5.2 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#21 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,300 reviews
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Isla Verde Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Isla Verde Beach Resort

Property: Courtyard Isla Verde Beach Resort
Address: 7012 Boca de Cangrejos Ave, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Isla Verde Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a powdery expanse of Isla Verde beach in San Juan, the newly renovated Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort is the perfect location for business or pleasure. The first hotel in San Juan to offer FREE Internet & wireless services it makes business a breeze! For families, babysitting & play services, game room & the beautiful pool & beach make any holiday perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Isla Verde Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Isla Verde Beach Hotel Isla Verde
Marriott Carolina
Courtyard Carolina
Carolina Courtyard
Carolina Marriott
Courtyard Isla Verde Beach Resort Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing