We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent Location and Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Isla Verde Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Isla Verde Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
“Excellent Location and Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Very nice location right on the beach. Central location to travel to San Juan and the rain forest. The beach was great for kids (9 and 12) to boogie board, splash around and collect shells. Several pools for the evening or when the ocean is rough.
A special thank you to Sally in the Serena outdoor lounge. She was extremely friendly and helpful, and makes a killer Pina Colada. I would make a point to look for her, and also Sterling in the Picante Lounge.

Room Tip: Choose an upper level room. We stayed on the top floor and the ocean view was awesome. I read that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,071
    857
    293
    106
    74
See reviews for
693
802
92
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The room was clean, the bed was very comfortable plenty of cold air conditioning and hot water. The only issues with the room was air conditioning was a little noisey. I don't get to concerned with carpet and furniture that shows some wear or age as long as long as its clean. so for me those items were good. We ate at two of the hotel restaurants and they were both very good. But the outdoor restaurant by the pool had a menu that I liked better. We tried two of the appitizers, Cuban sandwich spring rolls...Excellent and crab stuffed peppers...also excellant! The grouper with grilled shrimp was delicious as was the chocolate cake for dessert. If you eat outside don't forget to go to the front desk and ask for the off bug spray, its complimentary and you will need it! Our waitress was very good, she recommended the appitizers. We also ate at the indoor restaurant salsas. It was another great meal. The specials listed on the board was in spanish, but our waitress brought over another waitress that explained it to us in english and in detail. I had the lechon (grilled pork) and liked it very much. I didn't use the pool or beach amenities this time, it was raining most of the times I could have. But no problem for me....a rainy day at the beach bar is way better than a rainy, thunderstorm, tornado, or snowy day in the spring in Illinois!
If I travel back to Puerto Rico I would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsarv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon. Clean, quiet, relaxing time. Beach view was awesome. The gnats do bite so bring bug repellent. Even though we had a good time, some things could always use improvement - they charge for bungee boards and water floats. The food at the hotel is a lil pricey, however, there are many eateries within walking distance. The hotel could use more activities for the guests (water aerobics, board games - other than casino gambling). We did venture out to other hotels for their free nightly entertainment. El San Juan next to ESJ towers is beautiful, had great entertainment during the week and Jimmy's bbq on the 10 floor (great view) was very good. Don Jose restaurant had awful pork chops. They were fried too hard so be sure to specify if you do venture there. We also partook of the rainforest tour. It was very nice, but I've seen better. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend PR if you've never been.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms have awesome views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alecia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Kisco, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Check in was fast and accurate, location is great, beach is great and pools are really clean! Johanna was the person that checked me in and it was really good, accurate and explained all the facilities even gave us 2 vouchers for drinks.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Let me start this review by saying that after returning from our Easter stay we have already booked our next visit to this hotel, five days at Thanksgiving time. In most cases such a quick return would indicate a super terrific stay. In this case, the locale (which is spectacularly gorgeous), the staff (who are uniformly courteous and helpful) and the outdoor space (which is clean and comfortable) made up for the shortcomings. The major drawback of this hotel is that no matter what room description you book, you will get what they give you. The room descriptions on the website are inaccurate and no matter what type of room you book, nothing (not location, not bed type, not other furniture) is guarantied.

Unlike the typical Courtyard, this hotel offers both bell service and valet parking, and the staff for both is helpful, pleasant and prompt.

Desk staff are polite, but you can tell from their demeanor that they've heard every complaint about the booking inaccuracies before, and can't do a thing about it.

The breakfast buffet is plentiful, reasonably priced, and edible, but nothing to write home about. The outdoor lounge and the Sirena restaurant have good food and are priced nicely given the island beach front location. Staff are knowledgeable and special requests accommodated when possible.

But what sells this place, is the location. Stunningly gorgeous.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigpvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was the perfect location after a long Minnesota Winter. The hotel was nice, the food was good, and there was plenty of sunshine to enjoy around the water. Sally our favorite bartender at Sirena's made our stay even better. She was fun and made us feel like old friends. We hope to see Sally again next time. Overall it was an A+ relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We went to Puerto Rico in April 2013. Weather was great. Nice warm winds in the evenings. We are two young 50 yr olds. We stayed in 3 hotels, Marriott Stelarius, St Regis Bahia Resort and the Courtyard at Isla Verde.

Courtyard, is ON the beach, has a very small casino and a few restaurants. That sets it apart from most other Courtyards. The rooms are average and could be updated but i think part of the not updated feeling you get from being in the room, is b/c it is on the beach. The outdoor, beach side restaurant is fabulous! And as the prior reviews attest Coral DelMar is a plus at the restaurant. Very friendly, attentive and customer service driven. She did make a positive difference to our experience - remember us the second night when we returned. For a moderate hotel, this Courtyard is good.

Good - This hotel is 5 minutes from the airport. Start or end your trip at this hotel to make transportation issues easy. We ended our trip at this hotel. So when we had to catch a flight at 7:00 a.m., it was easy being 5 minutes from the airport.

Good - This hotel is near the Pinones, which is where they have small kiosks (shacks) that sell authentic Puerto Rican food. We enjoyed it but if you're finicky you might think it's a little on the dirty or dingy side. If you want to get true Perto Rico visit this place on a weekend.
NOTE: If you go on a Sunday, you will probably not get a cab ride back (cab drivers say too much traffic). You can either ride bikes to and from the Courtyard. We got a cab from the hotel to Pinones, stayed about 4 hours and then walked back to the Courtyard. Nice.

POSSIBLY BAD - the day we returned home my husband and i had about 15 to 20 small bites on our bodies. Can not be sure where they came from - hotel room at Courtyard or being out on the beach? They did not show up until we were back in the states and since our flight left at 7:00 a.m. we were thinking we got them the night before??? TAKE BUG SPRAY and put it on before you go to bed.

It stacks up with the Marriott Stelarius, but not the St Regis Bahia (but you pay 3 times more at the St Regis).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truestoneinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
4.5 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
3.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
7.3 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 14 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 stars 2,842 reviews
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Condado Palm Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Isla Verde Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Isla Verde Beach Resort

Property: Courtyard Isla Verde Beach Resort
Address: 7012 Boca de Cangrejos Ave, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Isla Verde Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a powdery expanse of Isla Verde beach in San Juan, the newly renovated Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort is the perfect location for business or pleasure. The first hotel in San Juan to offer FREE Internet & wireless services it makes business a breeze! For families, babysitting & play services, game room & the beautiful pool & beach make any holiday perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Isla Verde Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Isla Verde Beach Hotel Isla Verde
Marriott Carolina
Courtyard Carolina
Carolina Courtyard
Carolina Marriott
Courtyard Isla Verde Beach Resort Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing