We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful resort”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at the Courtyard on Isla Verde for 5 nights and enjoyed every minute. The staff was extremely friendly from check in to check out. All of the rooms face the ocean but the East side has the best views, especially the high floors. Small resort, but it has everything you need, swim up bar, live music, casino(some older machines, but they serve the purpose). The restaurant was a little disapointing for dinner, but it could have just been our preference for other tastes. I definately would go back there again if I return to Puerto rico. It is located close to the airport but we didnt notice any noise problems from the airport. Taxi ride, $12 from Airport, $22 to old san juan. We rented a car for our trip to the rain forest for $45. Drive was fairly easy and was a lot cheaper than the tours.
Karla , the front desk mgr and Nancy were great to deal with. We hope to return.

Room Tip: as for East side, high floor. Dont pay extra for Ocean view.. All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,279
    960
    323
    120
    86
See reviews for
803
937
109
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (719)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

From the moment we pull up, when the doorman says "Welcome home!" until the day we leave, everyone on the staff is courteous, friendly and willing to go out of their way to help you. The pool with a swim-up bar is great, the beach and ocean are beautiful, and the hammocks strung between the palm trees were made for reading or sleeping or just lazing about. The menu at Sirena's has recently changed (within the last year) and, to my mind, the food has suffered a bit. But the food offerings are very good at Bananas and at the indoor bar/lounge. Even room service has never let us down. The rooms are always clean and comfortable with free wi-fi and (my favorite) 2 free bottles of water. A person can really get thirsty in the tropics.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better, especially on the pool side (otherwise all you see is the roof of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alinem2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We were notified when we checked in that the pool area would be unavailable the following night. What they did not tell us is that there would be extremely loud music for all of the rooms facing the ocean until 12:00am. Complaints to the front desk did no good. An organization with good customer service would have handled it in a different way. They would have said, " there will be loud music until 12:00am tomorrow night and we are going to give you $20 hotel credit for use in the restaurant or bar for you inconvenience". They way the Courtyards of Marriott handled it was totally unacceptable. My next visit to San Juan I will not be staying at a Couryard. Unless you like unexpected load concerts lasting until 12:00 and want to lose one of your nights on vacation I recomend you not stay there either.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watkinsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My first impression was not good as I turned into the self parking garage, spend the extra bucks and let them park your car. I wish I would have pulled up to the door and checked in. However, the front desk put my mind to rest and the bed won me over. Great bed! The room was clean, the hallway a little dark in the evenings, in the morning the lighting was perfect.
The garage, self parking, is in great need of signage and color.

The lobby was large, the restaurants looked good, and the coffee was excellent. The beach area was beautiful: hammocks, waves, huge beach, beach chairs, and outdoor sofas on the deck. A Storm had passed the day before and the waves were big.

The room was VERY quiet, I slept very well. No airport noise. The door is double paned and when you open the sliding door you hear the ocean, the hotel a/c, but when the door is closed it is very quite.

This place could use a upgrade, and I don't understand the resort fee its a hotel by the airport, but the outdoor sofa on the patio was nice.

We did not eat at the hotel but ventured into Old San Juan. The hotel had printed directions. Driving in San Juan is an experience, but we had a great time. We walked around and had dinner, nice place.

Yes, I would stay here again. I found a great rate but I feel like it is worth what their website ask. Stay a couple of days, enjoy the beach, see the city, I regret just passing through. However Vieques called!!!

Room Tip: My room overlooked the ballroom, I would ask to see it they had a room that did not overlook the bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skidawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Our family had a great experience at the Courtyeard, but the bartender at Sirena's was outstanding in accommodating our interests with food and drinks .. all with an excellent personality and pleasant smile throughout. The service Sally provided was far and above beyond the call of her duty and worthy of special recognition. She loves her job and shows it with this type of customer service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
210 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed here again this week for one night before an early morning flight out. I previously stayed here in 2011. I was disappointed to see that they still have not underwent any type of room renovation or upgrade. The rooms are outdated and boring despite the fact that they are clean. I have Platinum level in the rewards program and that did not seem to matter at this hotel. No upgrade was given. The price you will pay to stay here is not a good value based on the rooms.
Pros-
Directly on Isla Verde beach - I slept all night to the sound of the waves with my balcony door wide open
5 minutes from the airport - good place to spend one night before an early flight out.

Cons-
Rooms are outdated and need a renovation!
Rates are not a good value for what you get at this property.
Can be noisy at times due to the close proximity of the airport.
No perks for being the highest level in the Marriott rewards program - Platinum.....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hobiecatsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Let me preface my review by saying that I'm a Marriott rewards member and have stayed at a number of them and I can't believe this one even calls itself a Marriott. The Customer Service was TERRIBLE! I have never met people so obviously fake. Considering the amount that they charge per night they should have sufficient funds to train their people right!
Food was gross. Every single restaurant as well as the room service had the exactly same food and none of it was fresh. It all felt tasteless and felt like they just picked it up from the frozen foods section. Not what you expect to eat on an island. The cakes they offered for dessert stood there for the entire 7 days of my stay. They were old and stale. The property itself was old. We even had a leak from the ceiling in our bathroom! The only thing that really saves it was the proximity to the beach. Otherwise I couldn't wait to get out of there. Not worth the cost or stress.

Room Tip: every unit has a tiny balcony, but the AC from neighboring unit will make so much noise you won'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pinkyndthebrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padin, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am grateful to be aware of the issues that you experienced. I am also very thankful to have this opportunity to assure the members of TripAdvisor that we take all comments and reviews extremely seriously.

I am really disheartened by your comment about our staff and food options. All of us at the Courtyard by Marriot Isla Verde are proud to have built our reputation over the years by having some of the kindest, most caring staff and we truly believe all our guests deserve to be treated with the highest level of service. All our training programs and standards have one common goal, to exceed guests’ expectations. In two words we are a “guest centric” company and the best testimonial are all the great reviews we get about our staff. For example the previous review not only describes all the food choices available to our guests but also makes reference to our great staff and service.

I would like to have the opportunity to personally apologize and learn more about your stay, as this is the only way we can address them and prevent similar problems from arising in the future, please contact me via email or phone.

To all Tripadvisors’ Users: Please rest assured that if you choose the Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort for your upcoming visit to Puerto Rico, we will do everything in our power to ensure your stay will be a pleasant one. Should you need any assistance during your stay or with a future reservation, special requests or would like additional information about the hotel, things to do, restaurants, the Isla Verde area or Puerto Rico, please do not hesitate to contact me via e-mail at jpadin@sjcourtyard.com or call me at 787-388-3043.


@ Your Service,

José C. Padín
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
4.5 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.9 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
5.2 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 48 in San Juan
6,954 reviews
4.1 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort
Address: 7012 Boca de Cangrejos Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a powdery expanse of Isla Verde beach in San Juan, the newly renovated Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort is the perfect location for business or pleasure. The first hotel in San Juan to offer FREE Internet & wireless services it makes business a breeze! For families, babysitting & play services, game room & the beautiful pool & beach make any holiday perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Isla Verde Beach Hotel Isla Verde
Courtyard Isla Verde Beach Resort
Courtyard Carolina
Marriott Carolina
Carolina Courtyard
Carolina Marriott
Courtyard By Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing