We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A really good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A really good place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel has an excellent and friendly staff. The beach and pool areas were excellent. The hotel suffers by its location. Being in the airport vacinity you would expect airplane noise. Suprisingly there was little of that, I was told by a taxi driver it was their favorable relationship to the active runways. However, the hotel is at the end of the Isla Verde strip, as such it is separated. from the other hotels and most restaurants. It took a 20-30 walk to get to an off site restaurant, which during daylight was not a problem, at night it was a $20 taxi ride round trip. If you rent a car you can eliminate this but incur parking fees and stress.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a full ocean view. We had a partial which was OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irwinvno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,257
    950
    319
    117
    84
See reviews for
792
920
107
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (706)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
westfield ma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Fabulous experience. Will definitely return. The beach was great. Plenty of sun and shade when you needed it. The food was better than expected. We liked it so much we ate there every night. The service was very friendly, prompt and professional. All the wait staff was great. I especially remember fantastic treatment by Jennifer and Christina.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We chose Isla Verde for the beautiful, kid-friendly beach and we got exactly what we hoped for. The Courtyard had a terrific location on the beach, with plenty of space, chairs, and fun hammocks. The beach service of food and drinks was excellent, and the poolside bar and grill was very good too; no more over-priced than most similar places. The check in was efficient, effective, and very friendly. We arrived early but were still given rooms right away.

The concierge service was truly excellent, especially Crystal. She booked a night tour of the bio-bay the week before we arrived, and held our spots as the tours sold out. When we arrived, Crystal remembered our conversation and welcomed me warmly. She also helped book a last minute zipline at EcoQuest, plus gave helpful hints about hikes at El Yunque rainforest and how to get into old San Juan during the festival. The tours and other arrangements the concierge helped with were the real highlights from the trip.

The building and rooms themselves were less memorable. The balcony and view from our room were picturesque, but the room itself was tired and boring. The furniture, bedding, carpet, bathroom, and curtains could all use updating. The room felt more like a roadside motel on I95 than a beachside resort. The lobby, lobby bar, ice cream/desert bar, and indoor restaurant seemed more updated and resort-like. The breakfast buffet had a nice variety and the made-to-order omlettes were delicious and well-prepared by friendly staff.

But for the rooms, this would be an excellent all-around rating, and a fine value choice.

Room Tip: Definitely worth the extra money for an ocean-view room. The partial ocean-view had a better-than-e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JDofDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Forget that it's a Courtyard, forget that it's near the airport, forget that the lobby is a little too busy with bar, restaurants, casino, etc. If you want a vacation experience that will leave you saying that was one of the best ever, consider this property. The hotel itself is aging, the rooms are a bit small and the bathrooms are tiny with not a lot of storage, but are very clean and have comfortable beds, and our view from the 10th floor oceanfront was wonderful. From the minute we walked in we were greeted and checked in by Mailyn who went out of her way to offer us different options of rooms and even showed us two of them herself because she had someone cover the desk for her!! Unheard of customer service. We don't typically eat dinner in a hotel, but were so impressed with the outdoor restaurant, Sirena, that we ate there three different nights. The halibut was fabulous, as well as the paella!! Our bartender Luis and waitresses Jennifer and Christina were so welcoming and helpful...answering our tourist questions about food, golf, sightseeing, etc. They were all genuinely lovely people who were friendly, professional, and a wonderful addition to our vacation, The outdoor property at the back of the hotel is lovely..beautiful uplit palms, comfortable hammocks and wicker chairs and couches that were perfect for lounging any time of the day or night. Carolina Beach is lovely, and complimentary lounge chairs, tables, and umbrellas are set up where you'd like by a very polite group of young men. Bar and food service is available on the beach by raising the red flag on your chair. The managers are very much in evidence on the property, and meeting them makes you understand why everyone on staff that you come in contact with is the way they are. Angel, Sandra, and the food and beverage managers for the outdoor areas were always at your service and genuinely wanted feedback about everything..good and bad. The security outside the hotel is very lowkey but you feel very safe being outside at night dining under the stars at any number of lovely areas on the well lit back beach. There is a lot of repeat business at this resort and we totally understand why. We will be going back again and again. Kudos to Henry, the Asst. General Manager who sets the tone for friendly, professional and thoroughly effortless customer service. Do not hesitate to try this resort...you will be so happy you did.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JFC1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Very nice property.. The resort fee and taxes are a killer.. We need a room for one night during a sold out period.. Was lucky to get a suite..Expensive but nice..Ocean View..very safe. Big comfortable bed

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
82 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Arrived in San Juan from Madison, WI in February. Weather was great, transition from airport to hotel was stress-free thanks to a very courteous cab-driver who spoke Spanish, English, Italian, French & Dutch.

However the hotel was another matter. The grounds were lush and manicured and really pretty, but once inside, the glamor fell apart. No one at the front desk, then when the stunningly beautiful front desk "concierge" came out she couldn't find our reservation which I had a printed confirmation for. She obliged and re-booked us, but this was NOT a pleasant experience for my family who was exhausted. No place to sit for family as we did the entire reservation all over again.

The lay-out of the entry/lobby area is totally dysfunctional. Blaring music from the open-to-lobby disco and competing gambling slot machines was absolutely vulgar and we had to pass through this lobby everytime we went to the outdoor area and NO WAY were the children going through that gauntlet alone with drunken tourists from all over the world slobbering on each other!

The room itself was very nice and the view was from a very high floor and was stunning.

There is nothing wrong with this place that a really thorough RE-DESIGN of the main level couldn't cure. This place needs to decide if it is going to focus on 1 or 2 night clientele who are just there to get drunk, wait for their cruise ship, spend the weekend gambling OR if it is going to promote itself as a family-friendly resort. When our cruise ship arrived we left for the pier and once again the cab-driver turned out to be a very gracious and lovely older gentleman who had lived much of his life in Minnesota and LOVED meeting other Puerto Ricans who had lived in the States.

Marriott has let itself down and that is very unfortunate because all the employees were obviously working very hard to put a good foot forward but the management was clearly lost in the plot.

Room Tip: ask for room with water view even if it is not ocean-front
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GentlemanFromVerona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

I say home away from home because of the people.. I visit this hotel about every month on business, and after a long day I actually look forward to being greeted back by the friendly staff.. From a friendly hostess Coral del Mar at sirena restaurant to the great bartender Christina.. They always help you unwind whether on vacay or here on business.. Great beach, great hotel, great people..
They are respectful and make every trip relaxing and fun.

¡Gracias! Mi famila de Marriott isla verde .. Hasta pronto

Constipado.. :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bconsaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
4.5 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.9 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
5.2 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,769 reviews
4.1 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort
Address: 7012 Boca de Cangrejos Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a powdery expanse of Isla Verde beach in San Juan, the newly renovated Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort is the perfect location for business or pleasure. The first hotel in San Juan to offer FREE Internet & wireless services it makes business a breeze! For families, babysitting & play services, game room & the beautiful pool & beach make any holiday perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Isla Verde Beach Hotel Isla Verde
Courtyard Isla Verde Beach Resort
Marriott Carolina
Courtyard Carolina
Carolina Marriott
Carolina Courtyard
Courtyard By Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing