We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2014

This hotel is worth the price, which is not expensive. Considering the ocean front room, wonderful, courteous staff, 3 minute walk to the beach and the comfortable bed, you really can't beat it.

The only reasons for giving it a 4 rating would be that one elevator was not working, so we had to wait quite a while for elevator service. The pool is extremely small and located on the roof. Lastly, there is virtually nowhere to store your clothes! Just an armoire. They really should think about installing a dresser in each room.

Other than those negatives, we enjoyed our stay and would go back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank ILuv2TravelwithmyDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Thank you for the review. It sounds as if you were able to enjoy a number of offerings here and it’s good to see that most aspects exceeded your expectations. We do apologize for
inconvenience caused by our elevator maintenance, but we do hope our level of guest's service will keep you coming back. Please feel free to reach out to me on your next travel plans; it would be great to meet you personally.
My best,
Virna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

588 - 594 of 1,390 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2014

This was our first visit to Puerto Rico but we've traveled the Caribbean and South America extensively. So, I think our expectations were pretty realistic. Here are the pros and the cons:
Pros:
1. The beach location was great as was the beach service. They set up umbrellas and chairs for you for no charge, and even have food and drink service on the beach.
2. The hotel is clean and modern, lots of blue neon lights everywhere which I guess is kind of cool.
3. Nice restaurant on ground floor. Serves high-end food.
Cons:
1. Rooms are very small and with the way they arranged the beds, there is even less room.
2. Crazy loud music from rooftop bar. We stayed for a week and 3 nights that week, there was insane amount of noise coming from the bar, long into the night. And we were on the 6th floor!
3. Bed and sheets were uncomfortable and scratchy.
4. Restaurant was quite expensive, even for breakfast

All in all, I'm giving this hotel an average score. If it weren't for the night noise, I may have even given it a 4 but that was the killer for me.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a lower level if you don't like bar noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank AbroadDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Thank you for your review. We listen to our guests’ feedback and use them as tools to learn and grow. We certainly hope for our guests to have far better than an average stay. We appreciate your comments and will surely use them to make sure we are always improving our hotel and service.
My best,
Virna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Just returning from a 3 night stay. I must say this was a pretty quaint and chic hotel. The decor is all white with aqua blue accents...very chic and modern. The cab ride to and from the airport is $15 and fee to Old San Juan is $21. It's right on the beach but the beach area had a lot of trash in the sand. The water was perfect!! Beach chairs are taken up daily at approximately 530pm so if you're laying there the guy will come and ask for the chair!! So we just spread our towels down to continue relaxing and watch the sunset! Room was very clean but really small. There is no standard refrigerator. We asked and the staff got one to the room in less than 5 minutes but it was a extra $20 charge for the entire stay. The shower had extremly low water pressure and you could take a shower with the water all the way on hot bc it didn't get very hot. We always had to dry the floor after we showered because of it being a 1/2 open glass shower door...nothing to close so water went everywhere unless you turned the shower head straight down...but if you did that it was difficult to shower so we requested extra towels to dry the floor after showering. In room 708 we had a view of other buildings but we were able to see the ocean but no balcony door to hear the waves. There are 2 very small elevators but one was out the entire stay. This caused major delays. Even though the elevator had a nice soothing waterfall it was tiny and it didn't hold many guests so we spent a ton of time waiting to leave our floor or return to our floor. I must say the staff was very accommodating and welcoming. Coming or going the door was always opened for you. The pool on the rooftop is SMALL but bc of the view and the rooftop atmosphere I overlooked the kiddie pool. The rooftop view is amazing!! Overall I enjoyed my stay. This is definitely a boutique hotel and it's not designed for families and kids. If you like chic and modern looks this is the place to be but if you're looking for more amenities this hotel is not for you!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank iluvfoodz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Thank you for your informative feedback. We are very happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We accept and use all comments offered- the pros and the cons- as tools to know what we are doing right and where we can improve, equally important is our ability to deliver to you what a true SJWB Club Hotel experience is all about, with that said; we hope to welcome you back!
All the best,
Virna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

I stayed here 2 months after staying in Marriott Courtyard Isla Verde. I do not get why this hotel get 4 star rating, while the other one is 3.5 stars. The hotel is rather small, there is not much seating room in the lobby, no bar in the room, and the room was rather small, just a bed without adequate seating area. That would be OK in San Francisco, but not good enough for the oceanfront 4 star hotel. On the good side they had a great service on the beach, and the sea was great (light blue color). Generally it was a good stay, but I would only give 3.5 stars by mainland US standards.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yuri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Hola Yuri,
Our style of hotel, in the true essence of the concept, contains facilities of varying size in unique and intimate settings with full service accommodations. Therefore, the WBC is incomparable to the Marriott Courtyard. If you are looking for a fun experience where every need or want is attended to with a prompt yet casual “Yes” then we are your hotel. It is true some guests find our hotel rather small for their preference but the majority of them discover that big things can come in small packages. Should you ever decide to give us another opportunity, we would love to welcome you back. Feel free to contact me should you need assistance with anything, I remain at your service.
My best,
Virna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Room was smaller and worse view than the first time we stayed, and although it appeared empty, we were told the hotel was booked for the night and we could not be accommodated to a similar room than the last time we stayed. The next day we had an issue with something in the room, and although the staff handled it well, we were told the GM Carlos was going to be available to address it. He never addressed it, never personally apologized, and never showed up. I'm wondering what was more important than a repeat visitor who works in the industry that had an issue that needed to be addressed- a similar problem in someone else's room? He's lucky he has a staff that did the best they could, and he's also lucky we are not the bad guys to bash the hotel on the website. Sadly though, because of Carlos being a no show on the day before our wedding to address this problem(which we told the staff, hoping they could get him), we will not be able to stay here again. If you market yourself as a boutique hotel that means you're available to address anything your patrons need. Otherwise it seems like you're just a small hotel in over its head.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Fernando L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlos r, General Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Dear Fernando,
It's always off-putting to hear that we have missed the mark with one of our guests. I apologize that your experience did not go over as well as either one of us would have hoped. Should you ever decide to give us another opportunity, we would like to welcome you back.
Sincerely,
Carlos Rodriguez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

This was my 8th stay at the San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel in Isla Verde and it was perfect...again!
As I was celebrating a big birthday with a friend, I wanted it to be memorable and it was. Everything, from the familiar faces at check in to the beach staff, the restaurant staff and even the housecleaning staff, made it an absolutely wonderful stay!
The beautiful rooms, oceanfront and with a balcony overlook the Isla Verde beach are tastefully decorated in blue and white, They even brought in a little refrigerator for my stay, to keep water or wine chilled.
The rooftop pool and restaurant/bar is always a favorite place to have a leisurely lunch and get out of the sun for a couple of hours. It is beautifully lit there in the evening and we had a light dinner of tapas, wine and cocktails more than once this trip just because it is so easy to take the elevator to the roof. Totally relaxing and convenient, the truth is, on a 4 or 5 night stay, you hardly want to leave this gorgeous hotel at all.
I have stayed here now in every season, except the fall, which can be hurricane season, but if I ever get the opportunity and the weather looks clear, I would definitely go down in the fall. For us New Yorkers, it is a quick three hour + flight, and the hotel is located very conveniently near the airport.
I am so happy to once again recommend this hotel. The one thing that made it even better this trip was trying the new restaurant on the ground floor, Zest, which I am going to review separately in the restaurant section. Bravo San Juan Water and Beach Club!!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms have ocean views, obviously, the oceanfront rooms are amazing and worth the extra c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Edward R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Hola Edward,
“WOW 8 is the big number” This review is really heart filled and we greatly appreciate your continued loyalty. We pride ourselves on creating lasting impressions and everlasting bonds with our guests. It was our honor to have you and your guests celebrate your birthday. I am happy to hear you still love us and we can’t wait for number 9.
Always,
Virna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I wish I could do a long review but only have a few minutes. Adult daughter and I stayed for her Spring Break this year. Loved Puerto Rico and loved this location as pretty easy to do what we wanted to do in a convenient location. If the buses were running on time and as regularly as they should be , it would have been PERFECT. For that reason, if Old Town is a daily destination for you, probably should stay there and not in Isla Verde. The only reason the hotel doesn't get 5 stars is because we had a recurring hot water issue related to faulty equipment which eventually was replaced. The technicians and staff tho treated us very well and compensated us for the inconvenience. The management was terrific, the technicians were terrific, the Concierge was FABULOUS and assisted us with ideas and trouble-shooting a car rental snafu, the restaurant is pricey but food was worth it for the 1 night we splurged. Beach service food and deck service food is also pricey and can be passed on IMO. There are many great choices for food in the general area for breakfast, lunch and dinner...wish I had time to list them. Daughter particularly liked the juice bar around the corner. GORGEOUS setting and would most definitely return with adults.

Room Tip: Stayed on a middle floor. Had a double Queen, I believe but not oceanfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SKIL9884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Thank you so much. We appreciate all feedback but of course a glowing review as yours is a real pleasure to see on Trip Advisor. Thank you for mentioning so many great points on our hotel starting with the staff, location and the great service you experienced. Please know that the SJWB Club Hotel is here and waiting for you return.
My best,
Virna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
0.3 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
3.6 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 47 in San Juan
7,207 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
18.0 mi away
Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel

Address: 2 Tartak St, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range: $179 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the San Juan Water Beach Club Hotel, a unique boutique property just steps from one of Puerto Rico’s hottest beaches – Isla Verde Beach, the ultimate playground for grownups. The perfect combination of comfort and style, 80 guest rooms including stunning suites feature ocean front views, partial ocean views, and city views. Renowned as the hot spot for local residents and tourists, MIST ROOFTOP Bar+Kitchen provides a unique rooftop experience for relaxing with friends and enjoying appetizing casual food and refreshing cocktails – all complemented by soothing lounge beats, fresh ocean air and breathtaking panoramic vistas of the Atlantic Ocean. ZEST Restaurant, where community, culture and local flavors mix with a relaxed atmosphere to celebrate Puerto Rican cuisine. A warm, vibrant decor combining the elements—earth, wind, fire and water— creates a sociable ambiance where you can enjoy delicious culinary delights and a creative selection of well-crafted cocktails and wines. Also known as the Water Club, The San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel is located in the city’s stylish Isla Verde, five minutes from Luis Munoz Marin International Airport, and just 15 minutes away from the cruise docks, business district and the famous Old San Juan. For business travelers and small groups they offer an intimate venue for up to 120 guests reception style, an elegant boardroom, an ocean front business center, and a 24-hour front desk service. In addition, the San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel boasts some of San Juan’s most beautiful beachfront and newest dining options. The Water Club was recently voted #4 on TripAdvisor’s Top 25 Trendiest Hotels in the Caribbean. It was also the recipient of the prestigious 2012 Certificate of Excellence award. The hotel is the latest addition to Dallas-based Aimbridge Hospitality’s growing resort division. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Water And Beach Club Hotel
San Juan Water Beach Hotel
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing