We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wishes Fulfilled at the San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2014

So - let's get the average, regular sort of rating feedback out of the way - wonderful people staffing this hotel, the food in the small fist floor restaurant as well as served at the roof top bar is above average and the location, literally a stone's throw from the rolling surf, is great. What we wanted to highlight was a wonderful program called "Your Wishes" which is a small write-on board on the wall as you enter you room. You are invited to write your wish on this board by 12pm. So first my wife and I requested a better light over the sink - and it was installed. We were surprised and then we requested a hook for the shower to hang towels to dry - and it was installed. My wife has very thick hair and needs a powerful shower in order to wash her hair and the large rainforest shower head was pretty but the water flow was so weak it could not really wash the sand off our feet - so we "wished" for a new shower head with a more powerful output - and THAT was installed - all in the afternoon before we got back to the room. I don't know of any other hotel - big or small - that provides that kind of responsiveness. We emailed their manager and told the front desk. And now we're telling you.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you so much for your recent visit and this review--especially mentioning our “Tus Deseos” In-room Wish boards which were especially created for our guest’s wishes to come true. We are so happy you enjoyed our "Wish Board"; you've pretty much covered the entire WBC Experience. Thank you again and hurry back!
Yours in hospitality,
Virna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,387)
There are newer reviews for San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

697 - 703 of 1,387 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

Came back to the San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel for the second year in a row and nothing has changed--it is the same fantastic place we came to last year. Terrific, friendly staff, great services, and a clean and comfy place. I don't expect we'll stay anywhere else when visiting Puerto Rico.

Room Tip: Personally, we preferred the rooms that have a city view--the layout is slightly better than the par...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cargoboy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you! I have had the pleasure of working here for many years now and one of the best parts of the Water Beach Club Hotel is that we have so many guests; like yourself who return year after year. I LOVE welcoming them back. We are glad you are a fan and that you appreciate its genuine and friendly atmosphere. We are only as fabulous as though who stay with us; our loyal guests as you are a huge reason we have remained the best hotel in Puerto Rico.
Truly,
Virna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

My husband and I finished our vacation by staying at WBC for three wonderful nights. We loved everything about it from the roof top pool to the amazing food in the hotels restaurant, Zest. The service was pleasant and the rooms were clean and comfortable. A little more lighting in the bathroom would be nice but seriously, everything was amazing. We are already planning our next vacation and will be staying at this hotel again. BTW, you get comfy chairs and service on the beach. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a full ocean view room. We were on 8th floor and the view was spectacular.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julestrainsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Short and Sweet; now you will have a perfect excuse to return for a longer stay! Thank you.
My best,
Virna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

If you're a pool lounger, then this is probably not for you. The pool is on the 10th floor with a great view, but it's small (about 4X5 meters, 12X15 feet) and there are only 6 lounge chairs next to the pool. Just a few steps away is a large upper deck with many lounge couches. This is the Mist bar and it is a wonderful place for an afternoon or evening cocktail or even a light dinner. The views are wonderful.

The hotel is BLUE and I mean BLUE. Everywhere are blue LED lights to illuminate the hallways, elevators and even your room. It's unique and it goes with the water theme, but some may find it distracting.

The rooms are not too small or big. They are well designed and perfect for a place to stay for the night. Not necessarily a room to spend a lot of time in, that's what the beach is for and it's only a few meters/yards from the front door. Carolina beach is very nice and clean here. The beach boys will gladly bring you lounge chairs and umbrellas wherever you would like and also provide you with fresh towels. The restaurant also has a waitress that will take and deliver drink and food orders on the beach. The beach is the main attraction.

The restaurant, Zest is currently rated #2 in San Juan and well deserved. Breakfast and Dinner are available and the food is very good. Lunch is provided upstairs at Mist on the 11th floor. Parking is by valet with unlimited in and out privileges for $15 a day.

The service here is what sets it apart. ALL of the staff are very helpful and accommodating. They will go out of there way to assist you with anything you may need. For example, we arrived at 5am and the hotel had been sold out so our room couldn't be ready before about 12:00. They took our suitcases after showing us a place to change and let us lounge at the pool or beach or restaurant while we waited. Just an all around well serviced facility.

The hotel location is across the street from the beach, but don't be fooled. The street ends at the hotel and has almost no traffic at all. It is NOT a factor at all.

The rooms could use a full length mirror and possibly a few hooks to hang towels, bathing suits etc. The hotel is very eco friendly, but it would make it easier to reuse towels with more hanging opportunities.

Overall, a great experience and a great hotel that is very quiet also. Rooms are clean and neat and everything worked just fine.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank txsoccerref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you for the 5 stars!!!!! We are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed our décor, fabulous beach service. I hope to see you again soon. Let me know when you are coming back so I can give you a warm welcome back.
Warmest regards,
Virna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Our trip was so amazing the hotel and staff were all very friendly and welcoming! Can't wait to come back!!! The room was beautiful and the view was spectacular! The service on the beach was awesome! cheers to the waitress'!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Excellent service in a beautiful setting- that’s the WBC Experience.
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We just returned from a lovely stay in Puerto Rico and the "Water Club". The hotel is thankfully small and focuses on good solid service. The overall design is modern and very creative. Our room was quite clean and comfortable. Mist (the roof lounge) offers a welcome respite after the beach and in the evening. The restaurant (Zest) is quite good and reasonably priced. The staff is fairly young and enthusiastic, they seems to really enjoy working at the hotel.

I would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorettalenox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

It seems that our magic has worked again on another happy guest. Thank you so much for sharing your experience. While all feedback is great, we are thrilled when one of our many happy guests takes time to share their glowing reviews. We can’t wait to welcome you back again.
My best,
Virna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I really wanted to love this hotel, but at the end of the day this review is about whether I would recommend this place to friends. I won't until future reviewers write that some of the deficiencies have been fixed.

This hotel is about form over function. It is a boutique hotel. "Cool". If you like such hotels you will love this one. Throughout you feel like you in a work of art, not a hotel. The theme is water and the theme runs through everything here. The rooms are beautifully decorated, and the lightening is a kind of light luminous blue. The closets are too short (if you hang up pants or a dress they will not hang all the way down, but end up on a shelf or room safe). There is a tiny nightstand on one side of the bed (not both). The bathroom was tiny and was badly laid out and unvented. The shower was terrible with a rain style shower head and with no glass enclosure at one end. The shower head was so deficient in terms of flow (an irony given) that "water club" was in the name) that I examined it and found that probably 20 % of the nozzles (mainly on the perimeter) actually had water flowing through them.

On the top floor there is a terrace with a tiny dipping pool. The area is beautifully decorated with couches where you can rest and have drinks and munchies and lunch. The halls on the floors and the elevators are lit with the same luminescent light that became tiresome. The elevator also had a glass enclosure on the back that had water running down it and there was the loud sound (I suppose of a waterfall) that was always there.

There is a tiny lobby. The staff is helpful. The restaurant is fabulous for dinner (I will review that separately) but mediocre for breakfast. The breakfast buffet was a huge disappointment. There was a poor selection of everything -- fruit, rolls, pastries, croissants. The latter were really stale. We ended up having our breakfasts elsewhere.

The location is excellent, minutes from the airport, near the main drag, within walking distance of stores and other hotels bustling with excitement. The main feature of the hotel is the beach which starts about 40 feet from the front of the hotel. Less than a minute to get there. The beach is huge, wonderful with white clean sand. No stones in the water. The water temperature here is perfect. Umbrellas and beach chairs are provided by the hotel and they will bring you food so you don't have to leave this beautiful setting. At least for me with a real gorgeous beach a minute away the water themed decoration inside the hotel seemed superfluous and ultimately tiresome after three days.

Room Tip: The terrace on the top floor is loud at night. Stay in the middle floors. You get a decent view of t...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MkMD11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you for your comments, I respect all feedback “Highs and Lows” and find it useful to help the hotel learn and improve. That is what this forum is for, to hear about the good points of your stay and the areas where we can refocus on our guest’s experience. We do have a number of room categories and we are always very happy to find a suitable accommodation for everyone’s individual need. Of course, we would have loved to turn around your experience immediately had we known. If you are looking for a fun experience where every need or want is attended to with a prompt yet casual “Yes” then we are your hotel. It is true some guests find our hotel rather small for their preference but the majority of them discover that big things can come in small packages. Should you ever decide to give us another opportunity, we would love to welcome you back. Feel free to contact me should you need assistance with anything, I remain at your service.
My best,
Virna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.3 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,252 reviews
4.3 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 47 in San Juan
7,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
13.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
3.2 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel

Address: 2 Tartak St, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range: $152 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the San Juan Water Beach Club Hotel, a unique boutique property just steps from one of Puerto Rico’s hottest beaches – Isla Verde Beach, the ultimate playground for grownups. The perfect combination of comfort and style, 80 guest rooms including stunning suites feature ocean front views, partial ocean views, and city views. Renowned as the hot spot for local residents and tourists, MIST ROOFTOP Bar+Kitchen provides a unique rooftop experience for relaxing with friends and enjoying appetizing casual food and refreshing cocktails – all complemented by soothing lounge beats, fresh ocean air and breathtaking panoramic vistas of the Atlantic Ocean. ZEST Restaurant, where community, culture and local flavors mix with a relaxed atmosphere to celebrate Puerto Rican cuisine. A warm, vibrant decor combining the elements—earth, wind, fire and water— creates a sociable ambiance where you can enjoy delicious culinary delights and a creative selection of well-crafted cocktails and wines. Also known as the Water Club, The San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel is located in the city’s stylish Isla Verde, five minutes from Luis Munoz Marin International Airport, and just 15 minutes away from the cruise docks, business district and the famous Old San Juan. For business travelers and small groups they offer an intimate venue for up to 120 guests reception style, an elegant boardroom, an ocean front business center, and a 24-hour front desk service. In addition, the San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel boasts some of San Juan’s most beautiful beachfront and newest dining options. The Water Club was recently voted #4 on TripAdvisor’s Top 25 Trendiest Hotels in the Caribbean. It was also the recipient of the prestigious 2012 Certificate of Excellence award. The hotel is the latest addition to Dallas-based Aimbridge Hospitality’s growing resort division. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Water And Beach Club Hotel
San Juan Water Beach Hotel
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing