We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy, Happy Customer!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I work for an airline and am just beginning to use my free flying. So I came to SJ for a concert with my best friend. We arrived with no plan since we fly standby. We knew what area we wanted to stay at, given some of the big name hotels in the neighborhood. As we began calling around this place was the best deal. From the first call to the reservations, to now, sitting in my super comfy bed our last night here, we have been blown away by this staff and the hotel it's self. Walk out the front door to the beach, the valet team and front desk do everything they can to make sure you have every last thing your little heart desires. And the hotel....super chic!! I have stayed in trendy hotels on Sunset strip in Los Angeles, and they have got it all wrong. This place has it down. From the mood lighting to the ocean sounds as you wait for the elevator that has a clear ceiling and a waterfall in the back of the elevator. It's over the top in a good way, but a reasonable price tag.
We didn't try the restaurant, but again I can't say enough about this STAFF! My friend even forgot her purse on the beach. The towel boy had it safe and sound before she could even run back. I watched another guest freak out at the valet and the front desk guy. She was so pretentious, I wanted to slap her for them, but they were more than calm and courteous as they solved the issue. Overall, if you want a great experience in San Juan, stay here. :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thank you for a great review. I’m very happy to hear that our beach staff had a great impression on you! I will definitely pass along your kind words and recognize them for keeping safe your friend’s purse. It is always a delight to hear such great things about our hotel and team members.
We’ll look forward to seeing you again!
Warmest regards,
Virna
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

834 - 840 of 1,400 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

The hotel was in a perfect location in Isla Verde. The beach is literally steps from the front entrance of the hotel with someone there to carry your chairs and umbrella to the water's edge for you. Easy walking to several restaurants, shopping and casino. The hotel was immaculately clean and the staff was tremendous. Beds were super comfortable and we loved that there was a refrigerator in our room. We could not have asked for more during this trip and our stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guzmandeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Sounds like you experienced a perfect paradise stay! Let’s do it again…
Warmest regards,
Virna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The staff were outstanding, but the facilities, not so. Our room had a terrible view, no refrigerator. If you were to order room service, you would have had to sit in your bed, as there was only one chair and no table to sit at. We tried to dine on the acclaimed rooftop area, but to no avail.. Private parties abound, and spilled onto the pool area. We even tried to have a quiet Sunday evening (at the very small pool), but only to be overcome by another private party of smoking/drinking guests (smoking in the pool !!) There are only 6 pool chairs, so we finally - had to leave.

We even had to ask staff to get us the chairs/towels/umbrella on the beach one day, as their staff did not show up for work.

My final comments - this property is no more than lipstick on a pig - don't be fooled. Because of the lack of detail, we did not dare try the restaurant. It may be highly acclaimed, but because of the dis-satisfied hotel accommodations, we didn't dare spend the money and sought further properties on foot; just to get a great meal.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

The hotel is at the perfect location, a few steps away from the beach and very close to the best beach-shack-restaurant on Isla Verde (El Ambique). Service is great, the rooms are clean, but I wish there weren't so many blacklights!

I have to give an extre shout-out to our maid Sofia during our stay. She was SUPERB!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdventureAddict86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed our fabulous beach and that Sofia provided you great service. Looking forward to seeing you again!
My best,
Virna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

very small room, great view, bed 10!!!pillow toP!! roof top pool. view ..wow,, very nice sitting area, great bartender,,bloody maries 10!! will stay again,,yes . see u soon!! i live in Puerto Rico thks karen

Room Tip: ask for balconi!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen10131601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

#10 is our favorite number…Thank you and see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and loved it!! I found them on Trip Advisor after learning that the Marriott Courtyard would be under construction, so I cancelled my reservation there and booked here. It is so close to all the restaurants and the beach is right across the street. Easy to go back and forth to your room if necessary. We loved eating at the little sports bars down the street. All the staff was so friendly and eager to help. Danny was awesome on arrival (we were 9 hrs late and missed the whole day), he upgraded us to an oceanfront room. The rooms were small but very well-designed and the bed was very comfortable. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smooch616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

I love when our amazing staff makes such an impact on service that you remember them by name. I will pass along you kind words to him. I hope to welcome you back soon!
My best,
Virna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

1st time in PR for myself and 2nd for my husband. We stayed at the Water Beach Club hotel in Isla Verde. We loved the hotel and it's close proximity to several great restaurants and a short cab ride to historic Old San Juan. The beach is fabulous!!

    • Value
1  Thank Guzmandeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
2.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
3.6 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.2 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
#3 of 13 in Isla Verde
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
6.1 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 48 in San Juan
991 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental San Juan
InterContinental San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
2,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel

Address: 2 Tartak St, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range: $182 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the San Juan Water Beach Club Hotel, a unique boutique property just steps from one of Puerto Rico’s hottest beaches – Isla Verde Beach, the ultimate playground for grownups. The perfect combination of comfort and style, 80 guest rooms including stunning suites feature ocean front views, partial ocean views, and city views. Renowned as the hot spot for local residents and tourists, MIST ROOFTOP Bar+Kitchen provides a unique rooftop experience for relaxing with friends and enjoying appetizing casual food and refreshing cocktails – all complemented by soothing lounge beats, fresh ocean air and breathtaking panoramic vistas of the Atlantic Ocean. ZEST Restaurant, where community, culture and local flavors mix with a relaxed atmosphere to celebrate Puerto Rican cuisine. A warm, vibrant decor combining the elements—earth, wind, fire and water— creates a sociable ambiance where you can enjoy delicious culinary delights and a creative selection of well-crafted cocktails and wines. Also known as the Water Club, The San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel is located in the city’s stylish Isla Verde, five minutes from Luis Munoz Marin International Airport, and just 15 minutes away from the cruise docks, business district and the famous Old San Juan. For business travelers and small groups they offer an intimate venue for up to 120 guests reception style, an elegant boardroom, an ocean front business center, and a 24-hour front desk service. In addition, the San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel boasts some of San Juan’s most beautiful beachfront and newest dining options. The Water Club was recently voted #4 on TripAdvisor’s Top 25 Trendiest Hotels in the Caribbean. It was also the recipient of the prestigious 2012 Certificate of Excellence award. The hotel is the latest addition to Dallas-based Aimbridge Hospitality’s growing resort division. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Water And Beach Club Hotel
San Juan Water Beach Hotel
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing