We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Best hotel”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was one of the coolest hotels I have ever stayed at. It is very hip, chic, and the service was top notch. The beach is perfect and they have chairs and towels for guests. The restaurant looks good but we did not eat in it. The rooms have cool blue lights. Awesome place, would definitely come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rastko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
No more needs to be said; cool, hip, chic and top notch service! Thank you and hope to see you again real soon.
Warmest regards,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    761
    430
    108
    38
    20
See reviews for
143
750
86
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and the location was awesome--private beach with chairs, umbrellas, etc.
Ultramodern hotel, comfortable, but rooms rather small. When we first got there I thought it was rather different--it's like you're under water with the décor. Beautiful elevators with water flowing on back. Blue lights, which make it look surreal.
Staff was fantastic.
We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelers194448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
I'm very glad to see that all aspects were enjoyable for you. We work hard to deliver a perfect stay in all areas and you, as a guest, deserve the best that we have to offer. Thank you for the 5 stars; we are so happy you loved our location!
Yours in hospitality,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trujillo Alto, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We actually live in Puerto Rico and went to WBC to celebrate my wife's birthday and for a romantic escapade during the weekend. I cannot stress enough the excellent service we received from every single employee (Andy, Leonardo, Valerie, Carlos, Nelson, Natalie, etc.). We had never experienced such amazing customer service either here in PR or offshore. Food was delicious in Zest, poolside and even on the beach. I'd definitely be back everytime I need a break from everyday life.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delgado027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thanks for your visit and review--and thanks for confirming that The WBC is the best hotel and best staff hands down. We hope to see you again soon!
Warmest regards,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson, az
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed here twice on our way down to St. Barth and back from St. Martin and just loved it.
Danny at the front desk was very sweet and helpful. The interiors were surprisingly fabulous
as their interior designer nailed the property as far as the design concepts and furnishings.
Kudos to the owners of this property as they have a real gem!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank topcattc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Third time is a charm! We hope to welcome you back real soon.
My best,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights at the end of August. I chose it because of the great reviews, it seemed like it would be the ideal place for a romantic getaway but it was slightly disappointing. The staff was very nice and check in was easy. The hotel is actually across the street from the beach but that is not a big deal, they provide chairs and umbrellas. I am all about minimal decor but the room was quite sparse. There was a lot of empty space and a strange sheer curtain hanging when you first walk in but it was not clear what purpose this served. Our AC unit kept leaking and there was a huge pool of water extending from the window and under our bed. Supposedly they came up to fix it but it continued to leak and we had to keep using our towels to soak up the water. The bathroom was small. There was very little counter space in the room, we put out the ironing board just to have a place to put our stuff. The rooftop lounge was very nice and relaxing and it was great to have wifi up there. The pool is very small but usually empty. On some weekend nights it becomes a club and it was nice to go dancing there. The area around the hotel is ok. I had actually spent the first part of my trip at the Marriott in Condado and I think the area is much better there. There were a few bars/restaurants but not as good in Condado and everthing seemed run down. There is one beach bar just down the road that we went to several times a day and it was great. We did eat at the notel restaurant one night and the food was delicious. Expensive but worth it and our server was very knowledgeable about the menu and very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zedzee22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent visit. Yes, some guests find our hotel rather small for their preference but the majority of them discover that big things can come in small packages; we hope you can trade that for the best customer service ever.
My best,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I was on Groupon back in July and saw this deal for this hotel; it was a great deal for 4 nights. Since I had never been to Puerto Rico, I felt that need to jump on it. I booked the trip, airfare and start packing and couldn't wait until Sept to see what Puerto Rico had to offer. I got in touch with friends that were Puerto Rico to figure what things to see and do while there. The night before leaving to head to Puerto Rico, I couldn't sleep I was so excited. When arrived in San Juan, I caught a cab and less than 5 mins. I was at the hotel. I was feeling the contemporary style of the hotel, as I got out the cab Adrian (Valet -Friendly & Cool) greeted me and helped with bag to the check out where I was also greeted by Virna & Paloma (Front desk-Friendly & Professional) and checked me right into my room. When I got the elevator and the door opened I was amazed by the waterfall I was like wowwwww :) then when I got my 8 floor and got the off the elevator. I was really feeling the lights and the glow of the numbers on the door. I got to my room and opened the door and was very impressed by the room, most def the view of the beach from my room. I was very pleased with my room, not too much, not too little but just right. I left my room and went upstairs to the Mist club Lounge that was on top of the hotel, there I met Efrain. Very cool and friendly person, I informed him that it was my first time here in Puerto Rico. I asked him could he make me my first drink that was from there. I told me that Puerto Rico was famous for its rum and he made me a Mist Julep, which was very good and then made another drink for me called The Islander. I would recommend another to try these when you come along with a Pina Colada, which was invented in Puerto Rico. As I enjoyed my drink it was a breathtaking, amazing, priceless view of the beach, lounge area & pool. I couldn't believe it, all I could say was wowwwwwwwwwwwww. I was so glad that I had picked this place, and know that I was going to have the time of my life here while on vacation.
The days while I was there I had breakfast in Zest, Jackie (Host-Friendly, Professional & Great) took great care of me with and offered recommendations on the food choice they had that would be great to try. ;) On other days upon heading out, I stopped at the concierge desk where Lola & Kyra (Wonderful, Great, Professional & Friendly) was very helpful and knowledgeable on places to go, see and do around Puerto Rico. I wasn't able to do and see everything but I when I do come back I will for sho. On others days when I didn't go out, I would hit the beach. I met John & Leonardo (Friendly & Cool) who assisted with setting up the chair and umbrella for me on the beach. They made sure that I found a great spot every-time when I went out there to enjoy some fun in the sun. During the morning, afternoon and evening, I ran into the other staff Andy (Valet-Professional, Great, Cool & Friendly) who told me about a spot in Old San Juan called Cafe Manolin which was absolutely great. I can't forget about Abraham, Nelson, Carla, Victor, Ramon, Xavier & Aramis it so many people that took great care of me and was helpful while I stayed. There is nothing that I can't say bad about nothing or my first experience in Puerto Rico. EVERYTHING WAS BEYOND MY EXPECTATIONS....EXCELLENT JOB!!!! I CAN'T WAIT TO COME BACK ****I RECOMMEND THIS PLACE WHEN COMING TO VISIT**** THIS PLACE MAKE YOU FEEL LIKE YOU ARE FAMILY WHICH THEY ARE NOW MY FAMILY :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AJCrutch202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment and sharing your “Absolutely 100% Perfect” review. You basically said it all; it describes the way we strive to have every guest feel as they depart from the WBC as part of our family. Thanks again for sharing your experience so eloquent and so lovely. We greatly appreciate you for recognizing the individuals that accomplished just that, we take a lot of pride in what we do and it was a pleasure doing it for you. Welcome to the WBC family and hope to welcome you back soon.
My best,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Small boutique hotel hidden among large hotels, this place is a GEM! Contemporary style, blue lights, give this place a very warm, romantic feel. My boyfriend and I escaped for the weekend, stayed 3 nights, and hated to leave. Only a few minutes from the airport, which is great because we had such limited time that I really didn't want to spend it driving back and forth to the airport. Service was great. Concierge was so helpful in helping us plan our ziplining and fishing excursions. The rooftop pool was amazing, breathless view of the beach and waitress service. And the rooftop lounge was awesome! Paid a little extra for an oceanfront room, which was so well worth it. And literally a few steps from the beautiful beach. I know I sound like a commercial for this hotel but I promise I'm just a traveler just like you. Can't wait to go back...

Room Tip: Oceanfront room is worth the small extra charge. And no need for rental car since restaurants are w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudynLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for the 5 stars!!!!! We are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed our “GEM” hotel. I hope to see you again soon. Let me know when you are coming back so I can give you a warm welcome back.
Warmly,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,174 reviews
4.3 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 48 in San Juan
6,954 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
3.2 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
0.2 mi away
InterContinental San Juan
InterContinental San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
2,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel

Property: San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Address: 2 Tartak St, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the San Juan Water Beach Club Hotel, a unique boutique property just steps from one of Puerto Rico’s hottest beaches – Isla Verde Beach, the ultimate playground for grownups. The perfect combination of comfort and style, 80 guest rooms including stunning suites feature ocean front views, partial ocean views, and city views. Renowned as the hot spot for local residents and tourists, MIST ROOFTOP Bar+Kitchen provides a unique rooftop experience for relaxing with friends and enjoying appetizing casual food and refreshing cocktails – all complemented by soothing lounge beats, fresh ocean air and breathtaking panoramic vistas of the Atlantic Ocean. ZEST Restaurant, where community, culture and local flavors mix with a relaxed atmosphere to celebrate Puerto Rican cuisine. A warm, vibrant decor combining the elements—earth, wind, fire and water— creates a sociable ambiance where you can enjoy delicious culinary delights and a creative selection of well-crafted cocktails and wines. Also known as the Water Club, The San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel is located in the city’s stylish Isla Verde, five minutes from Luis Munoz Marin International Airport, and just 15 minutes away from the cruise docks, business district and the famous Old San Juan. For business travelers and small groups they offer an intimate venue for up to 120 guests reception style, an elegant boardroom, an ocean front business center, and a 24-hour front desk service. In addition, the San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel boasts some of San Juan’s most beautiful beachfront and newest dining options. The Water Club was recently voted #4 on TripAdvisor’s Top 25 Trendiest Hotels in the Caribbean. It was also the recipient of the prestigious 2012 Certificate of Excellence award. The hotel is the latest addition to Dallas-based Aimbridge Hospitality’s growing resort division. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Water And Beach Club Hotel
San Juan Water Beach Hotel
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing