We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVED THIS PLACE!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Staten Island, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“LOVED THIS PLACE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Small boutique hotel hidden among large hotels, this place is a GEM! Contemporary style, blue lights, give this place a very warm, romantic feel. My boyfriend and I escaped for the weekend, stayed 3 nights, and hated to leave. Only a few minutes from the airport, which is great because we had such limited time that I really didn't want to spend it driving back and forth to the airport. Service was great. Concierge was so helpful in helping us plan our ziplining and fishing excursions. The rooftop pool was amazing, breathless view of the beach and waitress service. And the rooftop lounge was awesome! Paid a little extra for an oceanfront room, which was so well worth it. And literally a few steps from the beautiful beach. I know I sound like a commercial for this hotel but I promise I'm just a traveler just like you. Can't wait to go back...

Room Tip: Oceanfront room is worth the small extra charge. And no need for rental car since restaurants are w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudynLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for the 5 stars!!!!! We are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed our “GEM” hotel. I hope to see you again soon. Let me know when you are coming back so I can give you a warm welcome back.
Warmly,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    741
    426
    106
    38
    20
See reviews for
139
737
83
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

With so many glowing reviews, my husband and I were excited to stay here. It is close to the airport but far from all excursions (rainforest, bio bay, catamaran day trips - all more than 30 min trip away). The staff of the hotel were incredibly nice and helpful - especially Jorge, Keyra, Lorenzo and Paul. We were very surprised that no one mentioned in their reviews of anywhere in Puerto Rico how expensive things were. We never had a meal below $30 for the two of us and no meals were outstanding. One night, my husband and I decided to eat at Zest, the hotel restaurant. We got an appetizer to share, an entree to share and each had 2 cocktails - totalling $100. I know it was the hotel restaurant (which generally tend to be more expensive) but you would think 2 people would be able to have dinner for less than that. Also, beware of ordering cocktails on the beach - never less than $25 for 2 mojitos.
When we first checked in, we were given a room next to the elevator - incredibly loud but were moved promptly to an exterior room. It was still loud but better. Overall, I would rate the trip as "fine". The excursions were really fun and the beach beautiful but the high expense for food, booze and entertainment dampened our vacation. Because of this, we most likely will not go back to Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelstini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Super friendly, on site dining excellent! Very convenient location. Staff will do anything for you. Everyone very knowledgable. Would add refrigerator to make experience even better. Will stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DocWoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
And we would love nothing more than to welcome you back! Thanks for the brief and sweet review.
Yours in hospitality,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, New Hampshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife and I go to San Juan every year. This year we tried the Water Beach Club. We both loved it and are going back next year. It is only a 5 minute taxi from airport. The location is awesome. Just walk down the stairs on to a great beach with wait staff bringing drinks etc. The roof top bar is great! Super view of the area. You can walk to several great restaurants so there is no need for a rental car. There is a 24 hour Walgreen's nearby for any items you may need. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The manager Juan Castro was especially awesome!! I'm sure he was sick of me calling him Juan from San Juan, but he was still very friendly. He went out of his way to make sure we happy and had everything we needed. We can't wait to go back and we are bringing my brother next time. Great stay!!

Room Tip: the fron ocean views are great !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dakota1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
There are no words to describe our "Shining Star" Manager Juan Castro, his authentic and genuine care for our guests goes above and beyond, we are so fortunate to have him as a leader and part of our family. I will definitely pass along your kind words. Thank you for this review and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Yours in hospitality,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here from 09/19 until 09/24 and we had the best time! Everyone on staff was genuine, friendly and welcoming. The food was excellent and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Keyra our concierge was more hardworking and personable than l ever could have imagined. From helping my wife find the type of food she enjoyed as a child to making call after call to find a pair of authentic leather Puerto Rican sandals she went over and above my expectations on a daily basis. Natalia one of our servers became a quick friend and it was a joy to see her each day. Everyone seemed to have an easy smile and we felt that they really wanted us to have a great stay. We did. We plan to make another trip next year. Our friends tried to get us to stay in some of the local resorts. You are welcome to that "corporate" experience if that's your thing, but we will be staying with the real people and having real fun at the Water and Beach Club!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you, your title says it all…We are honored to have team members with that special gift of being “Genuine”; which is an asset one can’t teach. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Warmest regards,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We Stayed here from Sept. 18-21...we arrived from Sabana Grande on family business and decided to join our compadres Joe & Yanery on their Anniversary. Upon our check in we were upgraded to Ocean-view. We LOVED the waterfall in the Elevator and Blue lighting in rooms and yes they can be turned off !...Definitely a couples hotel...There is a wish board when you walk in the room (Chocolate Covered Strawberries !)...The view from the roof top pool was AMAZING ..Once again we enjoyed our stay At San Juan Water & Beach Club and we want to thank Victor from Front Desk, Andy from Valet ,Keyra from Concierge and Virma From Guest Services

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure meeting and greeting you upon check-in; you guys were a pleasure to have and easy to take care of... I'm glad to hear that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed the chocolate covered strawberries. Please feel free to reach out to me for any needs at all. I'm happy to take care of arranging all of your accommodations next time you're in Puerto Rico.
Warmest regards,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

My friend and I, both in the Travel industry, decided to visit the Water beach Club for a weekend getaway and what an incredible experience! From the valet gentlemen to the housekeeping ladies, all were so welcoming, professional and so eager to help! The roof top lounge/bar, pool, the hotel rooms all were clean and modern. We just got back to Florida yesterday and already planning our next trip to visit the Water Beach Club again! Thank you to the staff especially Aisha in the roof top bar for her great service and friendliness. Excited to see the whole staff again soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imaddy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thanks for your visit and review--and thanks for confirming that The WBC is the best hotel and has the best staff hands down. We hope to see you again soon!
Warmest regards,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,114 reviews
4.3 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,774 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
3.2 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
0.2 mi away
InterContinental San Juan
InterContinental San Juan
#5 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel

Property: San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Address: 2 Tartak St, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the San Juan Water Beach Club Hotel, a unique boutique property just steps from one of Puerto Rico’s hottest beaches – Isla Verde Beach, the ultimate playground for grownups. The perfect combination of comfort and style, 80 guest rooms including stunning suites feature ocean front views, partial ocean views, and city views. Renowned as the hot spot for local residents and tourists, MIST ROOFTOP Bar+Kitchen provides a unique rooftop experience for relaxing with friends and enjoying appetizing casual food and refreshing cocktails – all complemented by soothing lounge beats, fresh ocean air and breathtaking panoramic vistas of the Atlantic Ocean. ZEST Restaurant, where community, culture and local flavors mix with a relaxed atmosphere to celebrate Puerto Rican cuisine. A warm, vibrant decor combining the elements—earth, wind, fire and water— creates a sociable ambiance where you can enjoy delicious culinary delights and a creative selection of well-crafted cocktails and wines. Also known as the Water Club, The San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel is located in the city’s stylish Isla Verde, five minutes from Luis Munoz Marin International Airport, and just 15 minutes away from the cruise docks, business district and the famous Old San Juan. For business travelers and small groups they offer an intimate venue for up to 120 guests reception style, an elegant boardroom, an ocean front business center, and a 24-hour front desk service. In addition, the San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel boasts some of San Juan’s most beautiful beachfront and newest dining options. The Water Club was recently voted #4 on TripAdvisor’s Top 25 Trendiest Hotels in the Caribbean. It was also the recipient of the prestigious 2012 Certificate of Excellence award. The hotel is the latest addition to Dallas-based Aimbridge Hospitality’s growing resort division. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Water And Beach Club Hotel
San Juan Water Beach Hotel
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing