We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Vacation in PR EVER!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Vacation in PR EVER!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

There's a reason why this hotel won 2012 Tripadvisor hotel award. THIS WAS THE BEST BOUTIQUE HOTEL I HAVE EVER STAYED AT! If you are looking at places to stay in Isla Verde this is the ONLY hotel you need to book. From Value, to location, restaurant options, nightlife, service (extremely friendly and accommodating) The beach is literally 8 feet from the steps of the hotel steps. The beach is by far one of the best beaches I've EVER been on. Rooftop pool overlooking the ocean (not huge but definitely worth the view). Happy Hour almost every night at the bar in Zest, and 2-1's at Mist from 8-10pm and Friday is ladies night! Get a quick drink before you head to Brava (club in San Juan Resort & Casino) or just to relax and take in the views. Zest has an amazing menu (must try the popcorn soup you'll be in for a treat!) if you love coconut the bartender makes this coconut martini to die for. If you want to dine outside the hotel and want to try some authentic PR food, Mi Casita is very close walking distance in the shopping center. La Playita is a great restaurant with ocean views a bit of a walk but worth it. There's Platos which I didn't get a chance to try but was recommended from the hotel staff. Galluzzo cafe down the block makes the best Cafe con leche and serves breakfast and lunch til 8pm. If you want to switch to more American food theres your typical chain fast foods, Chili's, Brother Jimmys BBQ, Ruths Chris Steakhouse then you have Burger King, Wendys, Taco Bell just to name a few. Next to Mi Casita is Pasta to go, PLEASE GO THERE. I was shocked that their lasagna was decent. Getting around is extremely convenient. You can get a cab 24/7. Rates are by zone. FYI it doesn't matter where you stay in PR, cabs can be expensive if you plan on taking them multiple times a day every day. I recommend heading to Charlie's Rental if you want to check out other parts of the island or head to El Yunque. There is a bus (T5) in front of the Walgreens that can take you into Old San Juan for 75 cents (exact change) beware there is no bus schedule so you'll have to deal with PST (Puerto Rican Standard Time) and just wait. Ride takes roughly 45-50 minutes from the hotel and drops you off at the piers. So now that you finished eating Mofongo, drinking coco frios, site seeing and taking in some sun on the beach it's time to take a nap. I stayed in one of the atmospheric rooms which gives you a little more space than the standard rooms, it's worth the extra bucks. The blue ambiance lighting throughout the hotel and rooms makes you feel like your in a spa. Very calming and relaxing. I will admit the shower is a bit awkward. There's no door....BUT housekeeping will give you a TON of towels because the floor will get wet. Every room has a safe, fridge I believe is upon request, they do have a laundering service that picks up every morning. The staff is really great and will bend over backwards to make sure you have a wonderful stay. There wasn't a day that went by you weren't greeted with a smile and that says a lot! I've stayed at the Marriott Stellaris in Condado which is very nice but does NOT compare to what you will get at WBC. So happy I stumbled upon this hidden gem and would certainly return without a blink of an eye =D Thank you everyone at WBC for making me very sad to return to NYC!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SummerBaby81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for the excellent review, you covered it all, we would love to welcome you back again and again for more "Best vacations ever'!
Yours in hospitality,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    422
    106
    36
    20
See reviews for
136
725
82
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had. Everything from the decor, the facility layout and the ambiance to the friendliness of the staff exceeded my expectations. If you think the pictures are nice, trust me that it is 10x better in person. This hotel has everything you need to make for a wonderful, luxurious island getaway. The rooms are clean, refreshing and comfortable during the day and very hip and chic with the blue lighting and city views at night.

The rooftop bar and lounge is absolutely amazing. The views are breathtaking and the service is top notch. We found it very hard to pull ourselves away and spend time anywhere else, night or day. The isla verde beach is beautiful and the beach service of towels, chairs and umbrellas was a great bonus. Don't miss the sunsets!

I have no complaints whatsoever about this hotel, in fact, it made my vacation! I heard other travelers talking about other hotels in the area and they did not have very positive feedback. You will really have an amazing stay at WBC, and the staff will see to it! They truly care about each and every guest and ensure their satisfaction.

I have already told my friends and family all about this hotel and cannot wait to come back very soon.

Also, if you are worried about the price of food at the restaurants in the hotel, don't worry, there are plenty of other low-cost options around the hotel. It is central to just about everything in the San Juan and Isla Verde area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank islandlvr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
It was a pleasure to read such a well-articulated and descriptive review. I couldn't have said it better myself. You touched on and described most of the highlights of a The WBC stay... We like to keep it on the surreal side with excellent service and breathtaking surroundings.
We would love to have you back to enjoy The WBC all over again. Please make sure that you contact me before you make your final plans. I'd be happy to add a little personal touch to the accommodations to bring it over the top.
Yours in hospitality,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Great place, roof top bar is excellent, food is great, service id friendly. The chef is one of the best in PR. Best choice for a great time, the entire staff is out of this world, do not miss it, sunset time at the pool.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerfsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Short and sweet!! Thank you for the very brief but great review. Looking forward to having you back!
Yours in hospitality,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeadon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

This review is late but felt the need to share...We were married on the sat before hurricane sandy so to say we weren't really prepared for that was an understatement!!!! After getting word the morning after our wedding that the airports were closing Sunday night was a disaster since we we werent supposed to leave til Monday morning!!!!! The staff at the hotel were SO helpful and took our Stress level down ten times fold...not only were we upgraded to a midlevel floor with BEAUTIFUL OCEAN VIEWS We were given a day at a discount for the extra night since we had to come in a full day early.
Everyone was so nice and kept giving us congrats on our wedding!!
This hotel is for couples and thats exactly what we wanted....we loved it so much we are already booked for our honeymoon week!!!
Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsJT711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
It is an honor that you chose The WBC for such an important getaway your “Honeymoon”! stress free environment, luxurious surroundings and world class service are some of the ingredients you can expect from The WBC! I'm glad you had the opportunity to experience it and we look forward to celebrating your 1st anniversary. Thank you so much for the great review.
Yours in hospitality,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

I have never written a review of a hotel, but i simply had to for this one.
I arrived in Puerto Rico excited for a week of relaxation and sun. Booked into número uno guesthouse in san Juan, and checked out the next day. Awful place, really disappointing.
So spent my first day researching an alternative, and found the Water and Beach club. So glad I did. I travel often and stay in high end hotels for work. This place is really in a different league
Just down the beach from the El San Juan Resort and Casino, so it shares the same beach.
The hotel is privately owned and it shows. The staff are incredibly friendly, helpful and polite. Notngs is too much trouble. Most rooms face the ocean, and it's worth booking one of them. I stayed on the 9th floor. The rooms are modern, comfortable and on the funky side which I liked. Clever how they face the bed at an angle to face the windows and make the most of the space. Literally right on the beach, and the road dead ends at this hotel so it's quiet. Great rooftop bar with small private pool. Lots of comfy sofas to relax on (think white nightclub type) again great staff and service.one last thing, I mislaid a valuable ring in my room and notified the staff. My housekeeper spent 2 hours searching as if it were her own ring, and eventually found it stuck in a corner.

Room Tip: Really worth paying a little extra for Ocean View room. The weekends the roof top is a "go to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for the excellent review, you covered it all in a nutshell. We are so happy to hear of your amazing stay with us. Now that you have discovered us…this will be your home away home Puerto Rico destination. Search no more...
Yours in hospitality,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Its really awesome hotel at good price. Its close to airport with hardly 10 min drive. Ocean front view is must ! Hotel staff is very helpful and might even upgrade if room is available at the time you visit. In the daytime you will get beach-chair, umbrella complimentary from hotel. Its quite clean as well. You can ask for drinks and snack right at the beach ( I loved that !). Another fantastic feature is Roof top pool with breathtaking view of the Ocean. In the night time the serene sound of ocean to falls to your ears. The hotel eating place is little expensive although there are plenty of nice restaurants just to the back side of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drashish83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
We work hard to keep our high service standards throughout the property both day and night. It seems like you were able to experience the best of what the WBC has to offer. Please know that we enjoyed having you stay with us more!
Yours in hospitality,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Loved this place! This was me and my boyfriends first visit to PR and we loved staying at the WBC. Friendly and helpful staff, awesome location - literally right across from the beach, and perfectly fine rooms - albeit, its no Ritz, but just what we wanted.

If you are looking for a cool/ chic boutique hotel that gives you a personal feel (we are not resort people) that is also ON the beach, this is the place to go in Isla Verde if youre searching for a non-resort sort of spot. Also, they had cute details to the stay, like flavored water, fruit kabobs on the beach, free drinks for the mujeres on their roof (w/ amazing views) and chocolates on the pillows at night.

I would without a doubt stay there again.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and had no problem with the noise from the roof, however I did hear the hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gretchen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you! We have made some fresh and exciting changes throughout the hotel over the last year and the end result has exceeded our guests ‘expectation. We're very glad that you had the chance to enjoy some of the new perks, especially our beach amenities. Thanks for dropping by and we hope to welcome you back.
Yours in hospitality,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,077 reviews
4.3 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,658 reviews
0.3 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,540 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
3.2 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel

Property: San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Address: 2 Tartak St, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the San Juan Water Beach Club Hotel, a unique boutique property just steps from one of Puerto Rico’s hottest beaches – Isla Verde Beach, the ultimate playground for grownups. The perfect combination of comfort and style, 80 guest rooms including stunning suites feature ocean front views, partial ocean views, and city views. Renowned as the hot spot for local residents and tourists, MIST ROOFTOP Bar+Kitchen provides a unique rooftop experience for relaxing with friends and enjoying appetizing casual food and refreshing cocktails – all complemented by soothing lounge beats, fresh ocean air and breathtaking panoramic vistas of the Atlantic Ocean. ZEST Restaurant, where community, culture and local flavors mix with a relaxed atmosphere to celebrate Puerto Rican cuisine. A warm, vibrant decor combining the elements—earth, wind, fire and water— creates a sociable ambiance where you can enjoy delicious culinary delights and a creative selection of well-crafted cocktails and wines. Also known as the Water Club, The San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel is located in the city’s stylish Isla Verde, five minutes from Luis Munoz Marin International Airport, and just 15 minutes away from the cruise docks, business district and the famous Old San Juan. For business travelers and small groups they offer an intimate venue for up to 120 guests reception style, an elegant boardroom, an ocean front business center, and a 24-hour front desk service. In addition, the San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel boasts some of San Juan’s most beautiful beachfront and newest dining options. The Water Club was recently voted #4 on TripAdvisor’s Top 25 Trendiest Hotels in the Caribbean. It was also the recipient of the prestigious 2012 Certificate of Excellence award. The hotel is the latest addition to Dallas-based Aimbridge Hospitality’s growing resort division. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Water And Beach Club Hotel
San Juan Water Beach Hotel
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing