We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasteful neon lighting - Conscientious staff in lobby”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Such a trendy, cool looking hotel in a Miami Vice kind of way - walls floor to ceiling with curtains trimmed out in light blue neon lighting (very tasteful). Everything was white and clean. Elevator had a glass ceiling with same neon lighting up to the top of hotel. The restaurant was trimmed out in chrome with the same clean look and misty, soft lighting. Crudos to whoever designed this place. It was subtle and very well done!

Staff in lobby was so capable and friendly. Each person was concienscious and helped knowledably even one day we were a bit testy (sorry). Keiyna at the Concierge helped us get comfortable with driving to Gravate and El Yunque with such grace and patience. She charmingly worked with us until we had it down and were excited about the trips. Everyone was just like that.

Only complaint was that our room air conditioner was on it's last leg and kind of loud. Otherwise, great hotel and great New Year's Eve party with fireworks on the roof!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scot W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,387)
There are newer reviews for San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,093 - 1,099 of 1,387 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife and I traveled to Puerto Rico for the first time, and stayed at the Water Beach Club. we were attracted to the hotel by the great prices and proximity to the beach. We didn't realize how close to the beach this hotel was! We were within steps of the beach. We ended up getting a beachfront room, which was ideal. We fell asleep to the quiet sounds of the ocean every night. But beyond the location and white/turquoise design of the hotel (which was very tasteful and attractive), the staff were incredibly friendly. Cleaning staff checked our room twice a day, and often left us chocolates. Every staff member consistently greeted us warmly, whether in the elevator, at the front desk, or on the beach. In particular, Keyra and Nora, at the concierge desk, helped us make reservations for activities, find great restaurants, and offer suggestions of other fun things to do in PR. I would totally recommend this wonderful hotel for anyone looking to spend a relaxing vacation in PR.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Great place to be, gorgeous view nice atmosphere, you can enjoy the night in a fresh ocean breeze.
The service was great, the all night open bar was a hit, excellent food selection with a very nice presentation.
One of the best places for you to spend your holidays.

Stayed: December 2012
2  Thank Gerfsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I went on a couples retreat to Puerto Rico and booked Flight and Hotel on Hotwire. The Water & Beach Club Hotel was the best choice. Situated on a private beach where you get exclusive access to towels and beach chairs. The staff were so friendly and always wanted to cater to any of your needs. The concierge in front advised us on the best local restaurants and you could book your activities as well. Room was very clean and had a cool effect with the blue lights. Flat screen TVs, large rainfall shower, and huge windows that let in natural sun light. The Lounge on the rooftop, Mist was a comfortable lounge area with delicious finger foods like fried calamari & red snapper. The restaurant on the ground floor, Zest has gourmet breakfast and dinner menu. Please do not forget to try their local alcoholic drinks especially the one with coconut milk. Overall the trip was memorable, we will definitely be going again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kofi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent four nights at the San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel in celebration of our joint 50th birthdays. We live in New York and were looking for a relatively inexpensive trip to get away from it all and soak up some sun--boy did we pick the right spot! The hotel is located very close to the airport, but air traffic noise was never a problem. As other reviewers have pointed out, the staff at the hotel are over-the-top friendly and helpful--we wanted to bring them all home! Our concierge, Virna, even helped us find a ride to Fajardo for a snorkeling trip we had booked (Erin Go Bragh--can't recommend enough!) because she felt a car would be too expensive for us. She introduced us to a wonderful driver who gave us an "insider's tour" of Puerto Rico in addition to providing a safe round-trip ride. I was under the impression the hotel was across the street from the beach, but it's really just a walk across the parking lot to get to a delightful young man on the beach who sets your chair up as requested and plops an umbrella firmly down for you. You could see crowds further down the beach, but our area provided more room between chairs. Each day, we were surprised by different treats--homemade coconut ice cream, fresh fruit... Not usually ocean swimmers, we each even went into the water several times a day because it was so clear, crisp, and clean! The hotel does have a "club" vibe to it...and is very cool. It was rather odd to have black lighting in the hallways and room, but it all added to the fun. We had a room with two double beds and a "partial view" and were able to see the beach and water very well. The view from the rooftop bar and pool was breathless. We ate breakfast in the restaurant each morning, and each meal was better than the last. We also had a very good dinner there one night, and a very good lunch at the rooftop area. A brief walk down the beach brought us to another of our favorite restaurants--La Playita--excellent! Neither one of us wishing to drive around the San Juan area, we debated whether or not to rent a car. We decided not to go with a car rental and made out fine walking and using cabs. Originally planning to spend one day exploring Old San Juan, we just couldn't give up time on the beach and chose instead to stay at one of my new favorite places--San Juan Water & Beach Club on our last day!

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor with a partial view room and had no complaints!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We just spent three wonderful days at this hotel and we cannot tell you what a fun and charming experience we had. Not for the stuffy, predictable facilities that dot the city, this small, funky, and happening place is where you want to be! So wonderfully decorated with unique modern touches that really appeal to one's emotions, it promises rest, relaxation, fun and a clever use of small spaces. Loved our visit and will go back time and again. The staff is so well trained, knowledgeable and helpful, always there to help, say hello and make their guests feel SO WELCOMED!!! A delightful experience, excellent restaurant and a great place to relax.

Room Tip: Rooms have limited space, the suites are great for those who might feel a little cramped
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Excellent service in a beautiful setting- that’s the WBC Experience. A big THANK YOU! Hope to welcome you back soon.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We booked this hotel looking at the pictures on the website. We booked a room with two queen beds. When we reached there, they gave us a king bed and said they will move us to the 2 queen room the next day. So we took the room. When we went in the room, it was nothing like the pictures. It is a small white room, with awkwardly placed bed and blue light in it. It was nothing like any hotel room I have seen in my life.
We decided to leave it and moved to another hotel, even if it meant we have to pay twice. We could not let this hotel ruin our vacation.
From now on, I am going to stick with name brand hotels only.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anurag G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for your review. My most sincere apologies that your experience with us was less than perfect. I assure you we take into consideration our guests’ feedback in order to continue striving for excellence. We certainly hope for our guests to have far better than an average stay. Our guests are always our priority and that’s confirmed by past comments listed on Trip Advisor. In reference to the images displayed on our website, I assure you that they’re an accurate portrayal of how our rooms are designed. Yes, some guests find our hotel rather small for their preference but the majority of them discover that big things can come in small packages. Should you ever decide to give us another opportunity, we would love to welcome you back. Feel free to contact me should you need assistance with anything, I remain at your service.

Truly,
Virna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.3 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,252 reviews
4.3 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 47 in San Juan
7,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
13.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
3.2 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel

Address: 2 Tartak St, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range: $152 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the San Juan Water Beach Club Hotel, a unique boutique property just steps from one of Puerto Rico’s hottest beaches – Isla Verde Beach, the ultimate playground for grownups. The perfect combination of comfort and style, 80 guest rooms including stunning suites feature ocean front views, partial ocean views, and city views. Renowned as the hot spot for local residents and tourists, MIST ROOFTOP Bar+Kitchen provides a unique rooftop experience for relaxing with friends and enjoying appetizing casual food and refreshing cocktails – all complemented by soothing lounge beats, fresh ocean air and breathtaking panoramic vistas of the Atlantic Ocean. ZEST Restaurant, where community, culture and local flavors mix with a relaxed atmosphere to celebrate Puerto Rican cuisine. A warm, vibrant decor combining the elements—earth, wind, fire and water— creates a sociable ambiance where you can enjoy delicious culinary delights and a creative selection of well-crafted cocktails and wines. Also known as the Water Club, The San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel is located in the city’s stylish Isla Verde, five minutes from Luis Munoz Marin International Airport, and just 15 minutes away from the cruise docks, business district and the famous Old San Juan. For business travelers and small groups they offer an intimate venue for up to 120 guests reception style, an elegant boardroom, an ocean front business center, and a 24-hour front desk service. In addition, the San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel boasts some of San Juan’s most beautiful beachfront and newest dining options. The Water Club was recently voted #4 on TripAdvisor’s Top 25 Trendiest Hotels in the Caribbean. It was also the recipient of the prestigious 2012 Certificate of Excellence award. The hotel is the latest addition to Dallas-based Aimbridge Hospitality’s growing resort division. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Water And Beach Club Hotel
San Juan Water Beach Hotel
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing