We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you want a boutique experience, stay here” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If you want a boutique experience, stay here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

There is nothing wrong with this place. It was clean, comfortable and infront of an amazing beach, which is what I most enjoyed about this hotel.
There was also nothing in particular that made me love the hotel itself. The water theme was a bit overwhelming at times, example is insufficient lighting in the rooms, but again, overall, nothing wrong with this place.
Had a really good chicken sandwich from the upstairs restaurant that was really good!
This place is not for families. Couples and maybe friends is the best for this place.
I was spoiled by me experience at the Doubletree Hotel in San Juan.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soniadpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    422
    106
    36
    20
See reviews for
136
725
82
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was a HUUUUUGE surprise for me and my girlfriend. When anyone walks into this hotel the vibe is a very hip/cool/elegant one but thats not it. The rooms are very nice with an elegant simplicity that matches perfectly a very beautiful beach that's within 20-25 ft. from the hotel doors. So far we have a beautiful property with elegant rooms and a scenic beach that served my "do nothing but enjoy" philosophy while vacationing. BUT THATS NOT IT. San Juan Water Beach has got a fantastic team of people that makes everything possible. Bartenders(at the beach, restaurant and the roof top lounge), Beach Attendants(who make everything possible at the beach) and BRIAN at the front desk. After a very nice girl checked us in and gave us our keys we decided to drop by the front desk for some info. but she wasn't there so Brian helped us. He was very polite and knowledgeable of everything nice to do. Awesome restaurant recommendations plus he pointed out the best plates at Zest. Every night we ended up meeting with him and told him about our day experiences and his recommendations, after a few day we where just friends. This hotel is a gem surrounded by big brand hotels who miss the human warmness that the Water Beach has got. Hands down there are many people doing great things at the Water Beach. Thanks to everyone and we will meet again, SOON!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CooperBoston1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear, Delaware
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

My husband and myself were very apprehensive as we had never been to Puerto Rico nor this particular hotel and we also are an older couple who actually had never before been on a real vacation. This hotel EXCEEDED ! our expectations and we had an absolutely wonderful experience there. The entire hotel staff were extremely polite and accomodating, the hotel is very, very clean and elegantly decorated. The LOCATION !!!!!! cant beat it....right on the most beautiful beach in Puerto Rico. We will never stay at any other hotel in Puerto Rico and we fully intend to return here as often as we can.

Room Tip: A partial ocean view or a full ocean view are the best/
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank celestine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

The hotel was really nice and the staff was very friendly. Only complaint I can think of is the shower head is kinda low for us tall people, and cannot be adjusted. We really enjoyed our stay. The proximity to the beach is awesome, and the rooftop lounge was cool too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lecterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

The San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel is definitely not your mom & pop family hotel...it's for the cool & down to earth kind of traveler. The hotel has a MIAMI appeal but much BETTER service. The location is great due to the fact that you can find various restaurants, stores, and the beach is all within walking distance. The atmosphere of the hotel is very sexy if you know what sexy looks and feels like. The rooms are nice, clean, and spacious. Free wi-fi is always a plus when traveling. The rooftop lounge is a perfect spot to coolout with a drink and take in the sights. Although you are in Puerto Rico the hotel restaurant menu doesn't really reflect that...it's geared more for the FOO-FOO food eater (but thank goodness you can walk either direction and get a hearty meal).

Over all the San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel is worth the money...just having the beach at your front door makes it all GOOD.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrothaAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I am not one to write reviews, but I really felt the need to here. I have stayed at many bad hotels in my day & very nice ones but this one was over the top exceptional!
My boyfriend and I stayed here Aug 11-15 & loved every minute of it. The staff was beyond nice to us, did everything they could to make us feel at home. Valerie ( i think/hope that is her name), was soooo nice & helped us out about thee area, she was a sweet heart!!! The location of this hotel & so much better then any other hotel. You are 10 steps away from the beach! Once at the beach, someone sets up chairs & an umbrella for you & provides towels. Compared to the other hotels, we had the best chairs! During the afternoon, girls from the restaurant @ the hotel walk around and ask you would you like a drink or food. This was perfect! We were on vacation so we took advantage of every minute of this service!
Every night after we were done venturing San Juan, we would relax on the roof top..the pool is small but you have a beautiful ocean 10 steps away, why do you need a pool? We watched sunsets up there and it was just absolutely perfect!
The concierge helped us choose what to do, she advised us to go snorkeling, which turned out to be the highlight of our trip. Everybody who works there are very knowledgable on the area, and the best places to eat. The minute we would return back to the hotel, they were all asking us how was it...I would return there in a heart beat!
Our room was very clean& the ocean front view was breath taking. They have a pretty decent check out time, 12... we asked for an extension because our flight was leaving late, and they gave it to us nor problem!
Only thing I would change is the white seats up on the roof, they get dirty easily.. but other than that, this place was perfect!

Room Tip: We heard an older couple complain about the music coming from the roof top, on Saturday night. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roisinhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We only had the opportunity to stay at the property two days but they were the best two days of our vacation! At first my husband was a little skeptical because it is a boutique hotel and we had our kids with us (ages 14 and 13) but they loved it. The staff was so friendly and helpful and assisted us whenever we needed them. The kids loved the "blue atmosphere" of the property and my husband loved the rooftop bar! We were really sad to leave but will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,077 reviews
4.3 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,658 reviews
0.3 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,540 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
3.2 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel

Property: San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Address: 2 Tartak St, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the San Juan Water Beach Club Hotel, a unique boutique property just steps from one of Puerto Rico’s hottest beaches – Isla Verde Beach, the ultimate playground for grownups. The perfect combination of comfort and style, 80 guest rooms including stunning suites feature ocean front views, partial ocean views, and city views. Renowned as the hot spot for local residents and tourists, MIST ROOFTOP Bar+Kitchen provides a unique rooftop experience for relaxing with friends and enjoying appetizing casual food and refreshing cocktails – all complemented by soothing lounge beats, fresh ocean air and breathtaking panoramic vistas of the Atlantic Ocean. ZEST Restaurant, where community, culture and local flavors mix with a relaxed atmosphere to celebrate Puerto Rican cuisine. A warm, vibrant decor combining the elements—earth, wind, fire and water— creates a sociable ambiance where you can enjoy delicious culinary delights and a creative selection of well-crafted cocktails and wines. Also known as the Water Club, The San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel is located in the city’s stylish Isla Verde, five minutes from Luis Munoz Marin International Airport, and just 15 minutes away from the cruise docks, business district and the famous Old San Juan. For business travelers and small groups they offer an intimate venue for up to 120 guests reception style, an elegant boardroom, an ocean front business center, and a 24-hour front desk service. In addition, the San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel boasts some of San Juan’s most beautiful beachfront and newest dining options. The Water Club was recently voted #4 on TripAdvisor’s Top 25 Trendiest Hotels in the Caribbean. It was also the recipient of the prestigious 2012 Certificate of Excellence award. The hotel is the latest addition to Dallas-based Aimbridge Hospitality’s growing resort division. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Water And Beach Club Hotel
San Juan Water Beach Hotel
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing