We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular...Hardly left”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My wife and I went down to PR to celebrate our anniversary. Having lived in PR before, we just wanted to be tourist this time around. This hotel made all the difference in the world.

The service was fantastic. We were planning to take a nap, but happened to go check out the bar upstairs. It was only noon, so hardly anyone was there. The bartender (wonderful, wonderful Aisha) made us some of the best drinks we've had in a while (especially welcome for getting off such a long flight). If she's there, please ask her for her Rum Island Iced Tea. No one else will make it like her. Fantastic.

The housekeeping was equally spectacular. Though they were punctual, we never felt like getting up on time. So most days (we stayed a week), we would have to call down after noon and ask if it would be ok if housekeeping could come back up to us. After a while, the she just expected this and knew our routine (we left a small tip daily for the trouble). This was only ever an issue one day where we had to call back down several times (they eventually still sent someone up even though it was much later in the evening).

All of the tour guide activities (rainforest, bioluminescent bay, etc.) that we looked into were familiar with the hotel (even though it is small), and were willing to pick us up from there. So, between the nightlife at the hotel itself, the nightlife all down Isle Verde Ave., and the tours picking us up, there was really no need for a car (buses and taxi's run often to Old San Juan if you like though).

The beach was never crowded, and the (really nice) service there was unexpected, but welcome. They had an employee to bring out chairs, umbrellas, and towels should you need either. It was mostly couples there, we would often run into the same people all the time. Felt good to see the familiar faces around Isle Verde.

The rooms are quaint, but the neon lights were right up our alley for a cool feel and relaxed ambiance. The restaurants and bars onsite are expensive though. So, with the exception of our favorite bartenders, we would sometimes save a few bucks with our own bottle of wine, picked up from the Walgreens across the street. The feel of the room was great for that quiet time with a glass and an awesome view of the beach.

Room Tip: The partial-ocean rooms provided great view of beach and ocean. With the longer floor-to-ceiling wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Regigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,192 - 1,198 of 1,391 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2012

I didn't read a lot of the reviews here- I just saw there were a few hundred and the hotel got 4 stars (and there wasn't anything incredibly negative on the first page of reviews)... so, pardon me for [most likely] repeating what others have said. I was tasked to find an oceanfront room WITH a balcony (hopefully in Isla Verde) with availability for a Sunday check-in (and this was on Thursday!) And, I was trying to stay near $200/night. Using Google Satellite Maps, I saw a bunch of hotels with almost no beach, so I avoided them. We (my girlfriend was going) also prefer smaller boutique hotels, when possible. Well, I feel like we really lucked-out with the Water and Beach Club. The room was exactly what we wanted (right on the beach with a balcony), the hotel was kept nice and clean, and the staff were over-the-top friendly. Free beach chairs and towels (and not the crappy chairs we saw a lot of other hotels using), and drink service on the beach was nice (we only used it once, though). As we walked the beach, we decided we had the best spot in Isla Verde (I can't imagine staying at the Embassy Suites and having to walk that far every time we wanted to go in the ocean). Lots of sand, not many people (granted, it was off-season [August]), no rocks to deal with, like on either end of Isla Verde, and decent little waves which kept things fun.
The only negatives I found with the hotel were minor (for me)... the pool was an afterthought. Yeah, it's on the roof, so the view is cool. But, it's so small I wouldn't bother using it. No matter, because we spent hours in the ocean every day. The only other thing was the ice machine had crushed ice (I told you this was minor)... I was too cheap to pay for a 'fridge, so I was constantly getting ice to keep drinks cold. Crushed ice melts faster than cubes. Again, no big deal.
The blue lighting in the hotel was different, and kinda cool. The rooftop bar was nice to have, but we only went one night. I imagine it gets pretty packed in-season (but, I preferred it with only a few people).
I'd recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in San Juan or Isla Verde- I don't think we could have found a better place, and it really added to our enjoyment of the island.

Room Tip: Call the hotel and see if you can get a deal- I have never tried this before, but it worked incredib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank broadwayron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The staff is what makes this place great. It is a cool atmosphere and a decent renovation of the building but everyone works very hard to make sure you have a great experience .... and we did! We had really good meals in both Zest and Mist, the concierge was very helpful in getting our days planned and Juan on the beach is awesome. We knew we were in the right place when Virna recognized us under our beach umbrella while checking on everyone during the day. She really impressed us! Bartender Carlos was really fun to talk with too. Thanks to everyone for your dedication to your guests ---- we hope to get back there very soon.

Room Tip: We got an oceanfront balcony room - didnt see the others but I assume the view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jags1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I loved this Hotel. I loved the atmosphere, the lighting and the decor gave it a great ambiance. The staff was really friendly and the location was great. Walking distance to good food, car rental and Casino. I will be going back

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dallen77510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

And we love you more…Thank you for this review. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we’re already looking forward to your next visit.
Many thanks,
Virna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Wonderful hotel! The hotel is an excellent value and because it is a smaller boutique hotel the staff gets to know you & your needs. The staff is excellent, friendly and helpful. We had two full beds and a great side view of the beach. The rooftop provides amazing beach/city views and is perfect for hanging by the pool, lounging on any of the white couches or having lunch/drinks. There is always music with a "chill" vibe throughout the hotel. They provide chairs/umbrellas on the beach for the guests. There are towels by the pool area for pool/beach use. The rooms are bright, white and sunny during the day and have a cool blue lighting at night. Great hotel, great staff! Even though there was music on the rooftop, we never heard it in our rooms. We will return to this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tanya_From_Memphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Thank you so much for your recent visit and this review; especially mentioning our committed staffs as they are the ones who make the magic happen. You’ve pretty much covered the entire WBC experience, with pictures to boot! Thank you again and hurry back!
My best,
Virna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Views from the hotel room were amazing! Our bed faced the ocean, and we couldn't wait to get up and walk on the beach at sunrise. The rooftop pool and lounge had a fantastic atmosphere for this young couple in love (50 yr olds married 26 yrs). Very friendly staff all around. We highly recommend this hotel and plan on returning next year.

Room Tip: Spend the extra $ and get a room facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Location! Location! Location! With friendly service and everything you need that’s the WBC! Thank you for your kind words, please come back again soon for some more rest and relaxation.
Warmest regards,
Virna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This hotel is located literally a few steps away from the beach and less than 10 mins away from the airport. Cab costs me $13. Everybody was super friendly from the valet people to the cleaning maids. There was always someone there to open the door for you when you get to the entrance. The hotel is pretty nice inside. As one reviewer said it does have that miami vibe when you walk in. The elevator had a waterfall. Downside is that the eleveator is kind of hot due to the waterfall.
In terms of the room it wasnt bad. There was a weird sort of musty odor when we walked in but we eventually got used to it. I was contemplating buying some air freshner from Walgreens which is conveniently located steps away from the hotel. Back to the room. It was a standard room with a king bed, flat screen tv (had tons of channels to watch), ipod deck, ironing board and a safe (which didnt work). The bathroom was decent but the shower had some mold on the floor. I always wear flip flops when i use hotel showers anyways though so that wasnt a total big deal for me. I could see the beach from my hotel but the windows were not pleasant to look through. Looked like they needed a could dose of windex. Luckily, there are two window drapes. A sheer one and a thick standard one. If you just pull back the standard drape and leave the sheer drape closed you do get some nnice sunlight without the dirty view. The bed sheets were clean. There is a lounge upstairs with a bar and a pool. The pool is small but who needas a pool when the beach is right there. I dont know what genius decided that white couches was a good idea because they lounge chairs and couches looked disgusting. Stains and black marks. The hotel is located a few short blocks away from old san juan resort and casino were at night they have a live band and a few shops in the lobby. Great place to hangout. Aside the negatives of this hotel i really did enjoy my stay and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Dont get a room next to the elevator. You can hear it at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tildeestbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Thank you for your review. We listen to our guests’ feedback and use them as tools to learn and grow. We certainly hope for our guests to have far better than an average stay. We appreciate your comments and will surely use them to make sure we are always improving our hotel and service. Please feel free to contact me directly on your next travel plans, so I may welcome you back personally.
My best,
Virna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
0.3 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
3.6 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
849 reviews
6.1 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
976 reviews
1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel

Address: 2 Tartak St, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range: $184 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the San Juan Water Beach Club Hotel, a unique boutique property just steps from one of Puerto Rico’s hottest beaches – Isla Verde Beach, the ultimate playground for grownups. The perfect combination of comfort and style, 80 guest rooms including stunning suites feature ocean front views, partial ocean views, and city views. Renowned as the hot spot for local residents and tourists, MIST ROOFTOP Bar+Kitchen provides a unique rooftop experience for relaxing with friends and enjoying appetizing casual food and refreshing cocktails – all complemented by soothing lounge beats, fresh ocean air and breathtaking panoramic vistas of the Atlantic Ocean. ZEST Restaurant, where community, culture and local flavors mix with a relaxed atmosphere to celebrate Puerto Rican cuisine. A warm, vibrant decor combining the elements—earth, wind, fire and water— creates a sociable ambiance where you can enjoy delicious culinary delights and a creative selection of well-crafted cocktails and wines. Also known as the Water Club, The San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel is located in the city’s stylish Isla Verde, five minutes from Luis Munoz Marin International Airport, and just 15 minutes away from the cruise docks, business district and the famous Old San Juan. For business travelers and small groups they offer an intimate venue for up to 120 guests reception style, an elegant boardroom, an ocean front business center, and a 24-hour front desk service. In addition, the San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel boasts some of San Juan’s most beautiful beachfront and newest dining options. The Water Club was recently voted #4 on TripAdvisor’s Top 25 Trendiest Hotels in the Caribbean. It was also the recipient of the prestigious 2012 Certificate of Excellence award. The hotel is the latest addition to Dallas-based Aimbridge Hospitality’s growing resort division. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Water And Beach Club Hotel
San Juan Water Beach Hotel
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing