We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We would return - they treated us really well!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“We would return - they treated us really well!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

The staff is what makes this place great. It is a cool atmosphere and a decent renovation of the building but everyone works very hard to make sure you have a great experience .... and we did! We had really good meals in both Zest and Mist, the concierge was very helpful in getting our days planned and Juan on the beach is awesome. We knew we were in the right place when Virna recognized us under our beach umbrella while checking on everyone during the day. She really impressed us! Bartender Carlos was really fun to talk with too. Thanks to everyone for your dedication to your guests ---- we hope to get back there very soon.

Room Tip: We got an oceanfront balcony room - didnt see the others but I assume the view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jags1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    741
    425
    106
    38
    20
See reviews for
139
736
83
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

I loved this Hotel. I loved the atmosphere, the lighting and the decor gave it a great ambiance. The staff was really friendly and the location was great. Walking distance to good food, car rental and Casino. I will be going back

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dallen77510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
And we love you more…Thank you for this review. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we’re already looking forward to your next visit.
Many thanks,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Wonderful hotel! The hotel is an excellent value and because it is a smaller boutique hotel the staff gets to know you & your needs. The staff is excellent, friendly and helpful. We had two full beds and a great side view of the beach. The rooftop provides amazing beach/city views and is perfect for hanging by the pool, lounging on any of the white couches or having lunch/drinks. There is always music with a "chill" vibe throughout the hotel. They provide chairs/umbrellas on the beach for the guests. There are towels by the pool area for pool/beach use. The rooms are bright, white and sunny during the day and have a cool blue lighting at night. Great hotel, great staff! Even though there was music on the rooftop, we never heard it in our rooms. We will return to this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanya_From_Memphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your recent visit and this review; especially mentioning our committed staffs as they are the ones who make the magic happen. You’ve pretty much covered the entire WBC experience, with pictures to boot! Thank you again and hurry back!
My best,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texa, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Views from the hotel room were amazing! Our bed faced the ocean, and we couldn't wait to get up and walk on the beach at sunrise. The rooftop pool and lounge had a fantastic atmosphere for this young couple in love (50 yr olds married 26 yrs). Very friendly staff all around. We highly recommend this hotel and plan on returning next year.

Room Tip: Spend the extra $ and get a room facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Location! Location! Location! With friendly service and everything you need that’s the WBC! Thank you for your kind words, please come back again soon for some more rest and relaxation.
Warmest regards,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

This hotel is located literally a few steps away from the beach and less than 10 mins away from the airport. Cab costs me $13. Everybody was super friendly from the valet people to the cleaning maids. There was always someone there to open the door for you when you get to the entrance. The hotel is pretty nice inside. As one reviewer said it does have that miami vibe when you walk in. The elevator had a waterfall. Downside is that the eleveator is kind of hot due to the waterfall.
In terms of the room it wasnt bad. There was a weird sort of musty odor when we walked in but we eventually got used to it. I was contemplating buying some air freshner from Walgreens which is conveniently located steps away from the hotel. Back to the room. It was a standard room with a king bed, flat screen tv (had tons of channels to watch), ipod deck, ironing board and a safe (which didnt work). The bathroom was decent but the shower had some mold on the floor. I always wear flip flops when i use hotel showers anyways though so that wasnt a total big deal for me. I could see the beach from my hotel but the windows were not pleasant to look through. Looked like they needed a could dose of windex. Luckily, there are two window drapes. A sheer one and a thick standard one. If you just pull back the standard drape and leave the sheer drape closed you do get some nnice sunlight without the dirty view. The bed sheets were clean. There is a lounge upstairs with a bar and a pool. The pool is small but who needas a pool when the beach is right there. I dont know what genius decided that white couches was a good idea because they lounge chairs and couches looked disgusting. Stains and black marks. The hotel is located a few short blocks away from old san juan resort and casino were at night they have a live band and a few shops in the lobby. Great place to hangout. Aside the negatives of this hotel i really did enjoy my stay and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Dont get a room next to the elevator. You can hear it at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tildeestbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you for your review. We listen to our guests’ feedback and use them as tools to learn and grow. We certainly hope for our guests to have far better than an average stay. We appreciate your comments and will surely use them to make sure we are always improving our hotel and service. Please feel free to contact me directly on your next travel plans, so I may welcome you back personally.
My best,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

This hotel ticked all the boxes. It was fun/quirky with the "Underwater" theme everywhere you went. There is a rooftop paradise with a canopy and comfortable lounge areas. Even a rooftop pool to look over the edge and contemplate the beach life ten floors below. Danielo was on bar duty during our stay, and kept us well supplied with Happy Hour beverages and Tapas!

The rooms are not huge, but plenty big enough and besides, who spends much time there anyways! They were clean and the staff kept it that way despite my best efforts to mess it up every day with beach-sand.

You are right on the beach. The hotel sets up your chairs with an umbrella and even comes around to deliver food and refreshment if required. Warning, the Long Island Iced Teas are very conducive to spending too much time contemplating the ocean.

The beach is public, and well used by the locals, so you get a good flavour of PR beach life.

The Water Beach is only 10 minutes from the airport (don't worry about noise, not an issue) so if this is your entire trip, don't waste money on a car. You wont want to drive around this area anyways. If you are headed onwards to see more of the Island, there is a car rental place right in front of the hotel.

If you are headed to Old San Juan, the bus is a 75 cent ride or a $20 cab ride (plus tip), so worth mingling with the locals. Be patient.

The beach is beautifully maintained. I was happy to see police enforcement of the "No Glass" policy.

Room Tip: My room was next to elevator shaft, was a bit worried, but never a problem. I can imagine the upper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for your valuable feedback. I’m certainly glad you were able to enjoy all of the offerings at the WBC. I will definitely pass along your appreciation to Danilo; we love to hear when specific members of our team have such an impact on our guest’s experience.
Many thanks…Hope to welcome you back soon!
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Paradise literally on the beach.Chique,Miami style hotel that is,again,literally on the beach and on the "strip".No need to rent a car.Everything-and I mean everything(beach,nightlife)-are footsteps away.BONUS:The airport is just 5 min.away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daniellugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Location! The best…with friendly service and everything you need that’s the WBC! Thank you for your kind words, please come back again soon for some more rest and relaxation.
Warmest regards,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,111 reviews
4.3 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,762 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
3.2 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
0.2 mi away
InterContinental San Juan
InterContinental San Juan
#5 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel

Property: San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Address: 2 Tartak St, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the San Juan Water Beach Club Hotel, a unique boutique property just steps from one of Puerto Rico’s hottest beaches – Isla Verde Beach, the ultimate playground for grownups. The perfect combination of comfort and style, 80 guest rooms including stunning suites feature ocean front views, partial ocean views, and city views. Renowned as the hot spot for local residents and tourists, MIST ROOFTOP Bar+Kitchen provides a unique rooftop experience for relaxing with friends and enjoying appetizing casual food and refreshing cocktails – all complemented by soothing lounge beats, fresh ocean air and breathtaking panoramic vistas of the Atlantic Ocean. ZEST Restaurant, where community, culture and local flavors mix with a relaxed atmosphere to celebrate Puerto Rican cuisine. A warm, vibrant decor combining the elements—earth, wind, fire and water— creates a sociable ambiance where you can enjoy delicious culinary delights and a creative selection of well-crafted cocktails and wines. Also known as the Water Club, The San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel is located in the city’s stylish Isla Verde, five minutes from Luis Munoz Marin International Airport, and just 15 minutes away from the cruise docks, business district and the famous Old San Juan. For business travelers and small groups they offer an intimate venue for up to 120 guests reception style, an elegant boardroom, an ocean front business center, and a 24-hour front desk service. In addition, the San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel boasts some of San Juan’s most beautiful beachfront and newest dining options. The Water Club was recently voted #4 on TripAdvisor’s Top 25 Trendiest Hotels in the Caribbean. It was also the recipient of the prestigious 2012 Certificate of Excellence award. The hotel is the latest addition to Dallas-based Aimbridge Hospitality’s growing resort division. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Water And Beach Club Hotel
San Juan Water Beach Hotel
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing