We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best thing about this place is the location...Isla Verde”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best thing about this place is the location...Isla Verde”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed for four nights and the location can not be beat.

A couple of things that travelers should be aware of who read reviews on Tripadvisor regarding this property:

1. There no longer is a complimentary happy hour
2. There is no longer a free continental breakfast offered
3. A mojito will cost you $11 and down the street they are $7
4. The air conditioner sounded like a jet engine, making it difficult to sleep
5. The rooms are not well built, the people in the next room sounded like they were in our room with us.
6. Thursday thru Sunday the beaches are packed with locals who flock to this beach
7. The rooms are sparsely furnished, but at a minimum supply at least a luggage stand to put the suitcases on besides the floor.

Again this location, Isla Verde, is great but I would not stay at this property again. It's actually kinda full of itself. Sorry.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we respect all feedback and find it helpful for the hotel to learn and grow in all aspects. That is what this forum is for, to hear about the good points of your stay and the areas where we can refocus on our guest’s experience. We sincerely apologize for not being able to exceed your expectations; however we are thrilled to hear that our location cannot be beat and we totally agree. We appreciate your comments and will surely use them to make sure we are always improving our hotel and service. We hope you have a chance to come back and see us again; we are sure you will enjoy the enhancements and changes.
Warmly,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    741
    426
    106
    38
    20
See reviews for
139
737
83
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

Stayed here for 4nights, the staff was very pleasant and helpful. Not family friendly but good for couples. My bf and I didn't enjoy all the emeneties the hotel had to offer but we enjoyed a good nights rest, nice shower, towels, and the pool/club at night. Room was clean and housekeeping did a good job. This is prime location very close to old san juan and the airport we had to drive about 30-45min to get to el yuqune and to get the ferry to culebra but it wasn't bad. I recommend taking the ferry to culebra or vieques island its very beautiful. The only down fall is that they charge for valet parking $15 a night and food/drinks are very expensive. Since we rented a car we drove out of isle verde to get food and drinks. There is an area close to the hotel that you can park for free that we used 2nights but its hard to find an open spot.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emalee337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thanks for taking the time in writing your review. We always appreciate the feedback. We are so happy to hear that you took advantage of the SJWB Club hotel metro location to explore the east region “ruta del coqui” area including “Culebra” which has one of the 10 best beaches in the world. I hope you have a chance to come back and see us again.
Warmest regards,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

This hotel is perfect if you want comfort and great service. It's art deco design is clean and neat lacking clutter.

There is a fabulous beach just steps from the front door. It's much less crowded than Condado are and equally beautiful. Also, still a short ride to Old San Juan.

I strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Be certain to get an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Professor10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. We’re happy to hear you enjoyed our great service, art deco and fabulous beach. Please let me know when you are returning so we can make sure you receive the VIP welcome back!
My best,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

This was our first time in Puerto Rico and it won't be our last. We love everything in this hotel we felt like the royal family. All there staff is so wonderful we felt at home. Thank you everyone from the Gomez family see you next year.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curly1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Thank you for the short and sweet review. We have officially made our hotel your "Home away from Home"!!!!! Hope to see you again real soon.
Truly,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

This gem of a boutique hotel -- situated just steps away from the vast sandy beaches and balmy breezes of Isla Verde -- provided me with the most relaxing and enjoyable vacation I've ever had. From the billowing white sheers that greet you at the entranceway, to the warm, friendly and incredibly accommodating staff - -and the chic blue-and white decor (replete with blue waterfalls in both elevators!), this hotel has all the hospitality and ambience you could possibly desire. It also features the most gorgeous rooftop restaurant I've ever seen -- beautifully and comfortably furnished, with commanding views of the coastline. And the food? Simply scrumptious. We loved the food so much we ate there four out of the five days we stayed there! Don't miss the calamari in a soy lime dressing, the salmon ceviche in a soy-lime-avoccado-cilantro-champagne and orange foam, or the ricotta donuts glazed in a grand mariner-caramel. And the mojitos were the best we've ever had. I am hard to please, but I just cannot say enough good things about this hotel. We're already planning our return trip next year!

Room Tip: Choose a lower floor that has a partial view of the ocean and a partial view of the coastline, so yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClearviewCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thank you for taking a moment and sharing your “Absolutely 100% Perfect” review. You basically said it all; it describes the way we strive to have every guest feel as they depart from the San Juan Water Beach Club Hotel. Thanks again for sharing your experience so eloquent and so lovely. We greatly appreciate it.
My best,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

This was my second time at the property and both were great. Rooms are great and the staff super friendly which makes everything so much nicer. The rooftop lounge with the excellent ocean views are priceless. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Get an ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayW4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thank you for your review. As this was your second stay which was great…we must be doing something right! It is always a pleasure to see positive reviews on tripadvisor; so we greatly appreciate it. Hope to see you on your third visit real soon.
Warmest regards,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

Water & Beach Club was just awesome. The service was excellent. Pedro, Steve & Danny on the beach were the best. The front desk staff were always helpful. The rooms were clean and bright. This is our third stay there and it gets better every time we stay. The beach chairs, towels and umbrellas add to the reason we stay there. Continental breakfast was plentiful and good.

Room Tip: Of course the upper floors give you a great view. I am sure any room you get would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 216Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thank you for writing on the great service you receive year after year. There is a constant and ongoing focus on service here and it is nice to see it praised so generously; but it is even more special when our “waterboys” Danny, Pedro and Steve make such a great impression in providing superior service. I will definitely pass on your recognition to them. Thank you for these kind words…Can’t wait to have you back “Year Four”!
My best,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,113 reviews
4.3 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,769 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
3.2 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
0.2 mi away
InterContinental San Juan
InterContinental San Juan
#5 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel

Property: San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Address: 2 Tartak St, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#1 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the San Juan Water Beach Club Hotel, a unique boutique property just steps from one of Puerto Rico’s hottest beaches – Isla Verde Beach, the ultimate playground for grownups. The perfect combination of comfort and style, 80 guest rooms including stunning suites feature ocean front views, partial ocean views, and city views. Renowned as the hot spot for local residents and tourists, MIST ROOFTOP Bar+Kitchen provides a unique rooftop experience for relaxing with friends and enjoying appetizing casual food and refreshing cocktails – all complemented by soothing lounge beats, fresh ocean air and breathtaking panoramic vistas of the Atlantic Ocean. ZEST Restaurant, where community, culture and local flavors mix with a relaxed atmosphere to celebrate Puerto Rican cuisine. A warm, vibrant decor combining the elements—earth, wind, fire and water— creates a sociable ambiance where you can enjoy delicious culinary delights and a creative selection of well-crafted cocktails and wines. Also known as the Water Club, The San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel is located in the city’s stylish Isla Verde, five minutes from Luis Munoz Marin International Airport, and just 15 minutes away from the cruise docks, business district and the famous Old San Juan. For business travelers and small groups they offer an intimate venue for up to 120 guests reception style, an elegant boardroom, an ocean front business center, and a 24-hour front desk service. In addition, the San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel boasts some of San Juan’s most beautiful beachfront and newest dining options. The Water Club was recently voted #4 on TripAdvisor’s Top 25 Trendiest Hotels in the Caribbean. It was also the recipient of the prestigious 2012 Certificate of Excellence award. The hotel is the latest addition to Dallas-based Aimbridge Hospitality’s growing resort division. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Water And Beach Club Hotel
San Juan Water Beach Hotel
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing