We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beachside classic”
Review of La Playita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Playita
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The entrance to this hotel--down a warren of narrow streets and next to a derelict concrete building--gives it a slightly gritty feel. But if you prefer a place with character to the sterile luxury high-rises, this is a place you would like. The hotel is steps from the Isla Verde beach, where you can stroll or rent a beach chair for $4. The bar/restaurant area is right on (over, really) the ocean.Try the Coco Loco and make sure you watch the bartender prepare the drink-- with a machete! The continental breakfast was modest, but we ate dinner there as well and had a good meal. Rooms have been updated and are very clean, and each of ours had a small refrigerator. The restaurant has a wifi hotspot. Parking was not an issue--if there was not a space right in front, the hotel had a valet to park the vehicle. We walked in this area at night both on the streets and on the beach and did not feel unsafe. Short walk to the glitzy El San Juan Hotel and Casino. Staff was very helpful and accommodating. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dairy_State
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 177 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here many times. The location is great! The staff friendly and efficient. The rooms are small but clean. The view from the restaurant is breathtaking. The only downside is the food. They have not changed the menu much in years and the flavors are just blah. Soggy "crabcalaitos" and sweet fried calamari??? Yuck! I will always go back but not for the food. The menu needs a complete overhaul.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SJUCHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This hotel is older but clean and quiet.
Small fridge, carry cooler, iron, hair dryer in room.
Beds are comfortable.
Continental breakfast is nice so you don't have to leave to go to a cafe.
Meals are very pricey here. Lots of places to eat on the beach a little less costly.
Limited free wifi but still nice to check emails.
Office staff are very friendly and helpful.
Would be nice to have small beach chairs to use from the hotel. Have to walk a distance up the beach for chair and umbrella rentals.
Walgreens, couple of blocks up the street for beer and wine.
There is an abandoned building next door but if you can get over that, this is a nice quiet and clean little place to stay.
For .75 cents you can take the bus to Old San Juan roughly 30 mins. Great way to see some of the city.
Nice and close to the airport.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The first thing you'll notice when you arrive will be the views of the ocean. The beach is literally 20 steps away from the hotel (we counted). The second thing you will notice is the abandoned building next door that the local kids enter to mess around in. The room we stayed in was small and private since it was on the second floor in the far corner. The restaurant on the first floor is open late but we didn't really did not notice the music or noise. It's not as noticeable as some other reviews stated. If you do go to the restaurant you must have the ceviche and a coco loco...its pricey but delicious. The free breakfast is nothing to brag about. Cereal and bagels and some fresh fruit. The real treat comes with a price (menu items). Parking is first come, first serve. It can be a hassle at times to get a good spot in front of the hotel. There is a gated lot within 50-100ft. of the hotel but it can be kind of scary at night. There did seem to be a lot of police patrolling the entire area of Isla Verde, so it did make us feel very secure.********* On the last day of our stay, was the worst..we were kicked out. When we booked the room we were told we could stay until 6pm since out flight left at 830pm. When we came back to our room, we were told that another family was going to be checking in at 3pm so we had to leave 2 hours before we were originally told. We spoke to the manager and all he offered was an apology but not type of concession for our large inconvenience. That is the reason we would NEVER stay here again.*********
PROS- Views, Restaurant, Proximity to Beach, Mini Fridge Included, Tv and WiFi(WIFI WAS NOT FREE!!!)
CONS- WIFI WAS NOT FREE, Small Rooms, Service was not as friendly as expected, No Pool, Located Next door to an abandoned building. Getting Rushed Out..you should never do that to your guests.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We spent the weekend here the first weekend in September and loved it. The staff is very friendly and the location is great. They even walked us to our room. Right on the water. Breakfast is continental on the deck that faces the ocean. They even had a cooler in your room that you can use to take to the beach and also a fridge in the room. The room was very clean and the parking is free. This is a nice place to have a nice getaway right in the middle of all the expensive hotels. Will definitely be going back here again soon.

Room Tip: The doors have a tricky was to lock but they show you that when you go to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This place is right on the tip of a little point in Isla Verde. There is a beach on both sides of you. The hotel is very cute and feels like a beach hotel. Most of the hotels in Isla Verde look like they belong in Las Vegas. This hotel is SO cute. The restaurant is incredible (and VERY expensive) but very good food.( try the mofongo...mmmm.) The help was also amazing. Everyone who worked at this hotel was so nice, all the time. anything you needed was their pleasure. The restaurant has a beach view/deck and a really nice bar. Parking can be interesting as its a the end of a dead end street, but other than that, the beach is literally steps away. They offer yoga on the rooftop, and the rooms were VERY clean. Definitely stay here if you have the chance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank msfixit21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I just stayed here for 4 days. The staff was so friendly and helpful. It's right across the street from the beach. There is a bar/restaurant that is literally on the water. Our room was small and strangely shaped, but the furniture and bathroom felt new. There is yoga in the roof twice a day. We were very happy with this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Verde hotels
0.5 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa del Sol
Hotel Villa del Sol
#12 of 13 in Isla Verde
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
#3 of 13 in Isla Verde
362 reviews
0.5 mi away
Verdanza Hotel
Verdanza Hotel
#9 of 13 in Isla Verde
1,620 reviews
0.1 mi away
ESJ Azul
ESJ Azul
#11 of 13 in Isla Verde
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Playita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Playita

Address: 6 Calle Amapola, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979-7244, Puerto Rico (Formerly Hotel La Playa)
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range: $190 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Playita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated 15-room motel-style hotel, restaurant and bar in Isla Verde - only 5 minutes from San Juan's airport. Only 10 steps to the best beach in San Juan from our front door. La Playita restaurant and bar on ocean-front deck for fantastic views. New 'Miami-style' design and decor feature new beds, flat-panel cable TV, air conditioning, new bathrooms and complementary continental breakfast every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Playita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Playa Hotel
La Playa Carolina
La Playita Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing