We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A great place with one but...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Playita

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Playita
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Isla Verde
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great place with one but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

The place is great. The service is very good. The view and the breeze are fantastic. The only glitch is a Spanish speaker's hater that works at the front desk. This woman, who has lived in Puerto Rico for decades treats well all who address her in English and mistreats Spanish speakers. She should find another job. It's bad for business. Qué aprenda...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Jmiiguel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    55
    21
    18
    5
See reviews for
23
73
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

It was my birthday an as a surprise my wife dicided to take me to this amazing secret located in Isla verde. The hotel, the rooms, the staff are the best. I had and amazing time and i will come again. The restaurant the food is very very good. Best place in this area.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ECR1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed two doors down and ate here every day for the most part. I was looking for Quenepas and one waiter Norbert Went out of his way and got them for me.. Friendly, down to earth , peaceful is what this place is... I love it.. Make sure you order playita salad!!! LOVED IT!!! Will come back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Freelikethewind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

My wife and I were looking for a hotel on a beautiful beach with authentic local charm and we found it at the La Playa. In many ways we felt that we hit a home run as our 5 night vacation there was very special. First, the great beach and ocean right outside the hotel with the clear warm water and wondrous sunsets. We went to the beaches on both sides of the hotel and preferred the Ritz side. Alberto and Julio and everyone else who worked at La Playa went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and having a good time. The beds were comfortable and the room was spotlessly cleaned everyday. The courtyard with the many orchids and other flowers created such a quaint tropical ambiance as did the evening sounds of the coqui frogs in the garden. We woke to a continental breakfast every morning sitting over ocean that sufficed until lunch time where we pursued some of the other great eateries in the area including the Metropol, Don Jose and Piu Bello, all within a block and a half away. We enjoyed a late dinner every night back at the Hotel restaurant where the food was so fresh and well presented. I had the local beers and my wife loved the pina coladas with the fresh coconut milk. Walgreens, the main strip in Isla Verde and the trolley stop into Old San Juan were also only minutes away. Security at the hotel and on the streets were great and we walked the neighborhood at night without a problem. We even went gambling at the Ritz and the El San Juan, both next door, an added attraction. If you are looking for a luxury vacation where the service is impersonal and prices are exorbitant then go to one of the grand hotels on the same block. But if you desire a lovely lodging by the beach at a moderate price then stay at La Playa. Can't wait to go back and swim in that clear warm water again.

Room Tip: We had room 207 with an ocean view and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kathysoasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama, USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

we were told about the restaurant attached to this hotel by friends, they said you can't go wrong. well, they were right. from the minute we sat down we were treated as friends, not guests. we had 2 coconut rum drinks, that are served in the coconut themselves. we had chicken mofongo for an appetizer... Outstanding. Also had the la playita salad & shrimp with ginger & coconut sauce. our server was Norbert who was so personable. make sure you visit this little slice of heavan

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank SaraGM600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

Perfect location - the breakfast patio is atop the sea, and the other side has a beach view - all a few minutes from the airport. But this isn't a chain-hotel experience in Cleveland. Take a taxi rather than tackling the confusing, narrow route yourself. The furnishings aren't cookie-cutter. There are coqui frogs in the courtyard and crabs skitter near the deck. The breakfast buffet was tasty but not lavish. We supplemented it with a fresh coconut, theatrically hacked open by the bartender with a machete.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed in this hotel because it was close to the airport. There was no parking except on the street. The room was small and our view was of an alley with junk thrown down it. The breakfast was processed cheese and some kind of 'meat'. There is nothing about this hotel to recommend! It's also very hard to find and should stay that way.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertoPlayita, General Manager at La Playita, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
We are close to the airport, but that should not be the reason to stay with us. We are sorry that the guests were disappointed with their stay, and would like to clarify other guests to all misunderstandings. Just some clearing up; we have parking available for six cars within the property and a thirty car parking lot across the street just 25 meters away, all free to our guests.

Our rooms are clean, quiet and updated. Sometimes we could be moving things around, as part of our improvement process, and building materials might have been placed behind a particular room since we are limited about storage due to our small footprint. We offer free continental breakfast, to which we also include american and swiss sliced cheese, hickory smoked Bolo ham from Farmland, boxed cereals and fresh fruits, all this is offered on our oceanfront restaurant while listening to a relaxing smooth jazz tunes.
We are certainly located away from the busy and noisy Isla Verde Avenue but nestled on the tip of a peninsula between the two beautiful beaches of Isla Verde.

As always, feel free to call us, and we will clarify any questions that you might have about our hotel, its restaurant or our beautiful island. Saludos from La Playita, Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.5 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
0.1 mi away
ESJ Azul
ESJ Azul
#11 of 14 in Isla Verde
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
#2 of 14 in Isla Verde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 14 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,933 reviews
4.0 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Playita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Playita

Property: La Playita
Address: 6 Calle Amapola, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979-7244, Puerto Rico (Formerly Hotel La Playa)
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Playita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated 15-room motel-style hotel, restaurant and bar in Isla Verde - only 5 minutes from San Juan's airport. Only 10 steps to the best beach in San Juan from our front door. La Playita restaurant and bar on ocean-front deck for fantastic views. New 'Miami-style' design and decor feature new beds, flat-panel cable TV, air conditioning, new bathrooms and complementary continental breakfast every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your La Playita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Playa Hotel
La Playa Carolina
La Playita Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing