We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel but rude staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Morrison, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel but rude staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Coming back from a 7 day cruise - my wife and I wanted a nice place to stay before returning home. The resort is great ... the beach is wonderful. It looks like a hurricane hit the place though ... and we realized that we would wait for the room when we arrived at 11AM ... but then 12 came ... 1 came ... 2 came ... finally a bit past 3 we got a room. And I am a Diamond ... plus I found many of the folks at front desk and at the bars to be curt and a bit rude ... too bad - it spoiled a nice conclusion to a great trip.

Room Tip: Tip heavily I guess
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMS-IBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarahi M, Front Office Manager at El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. As a Hilton Diamond Honors Member we sincerely appreciate your business. Our main priority is for our guests to feel welcome and have comfortable stay. I do however understand from your review that you were not completely satisfied with our properly and I sincerely apologize if we fell short of your expectations. I understand that you had a disappointing experience with some of our staff members and that they were not able to provide you with the attentive service you deserve. I can assure you this is very unusual to happen and I've made sure to personally speak to our staff regarding your comments. We make every effort to respect our guests and I truly apologize for any inconveniences this may have caused.

Again, I apologize if you went through any inconveniences and hope that the next time you are in the area you will consider staying at our location again.

Sincerly,

Sarahi Maldonado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,076
    829
    555
    317
    281
See reviews for
743
1,139
86
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (842)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Teaneck
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

I am writing this review as a travel agent and I am disgusted that I sent my clients here I am embarrassed for you and myself, they said this place was disgusting. They also mentioned that the website and the pictures are deceiving, this place needs a face lift ASAP...They did say the staff was very nice , but that did not make up for the hotel being dirty. They also mentioned that when the maids cleaned the rooms it seemed as though nothing was done. I will never send anyone to this hotel again until you renovate this property.. IT NEEDS TO BE DONE IMMEDIATELY.!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerlanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarahi M, Front Office Manager at El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. First of all, thank you for your review. I was extremely disappointed that the clients you sent to our hotel were unsatisfied with their visit. I understand that they found our hotel to be somewhat dated and in need of an update. I do appreciate your candor; we look for reviews to provide insight into our hotel and our guest rooms’ appearance as this is an area we are actively examining. I welcome any additional comments or suggestions you would like to share.

Please know that we appreciate your business and I'd like the opportunity to speak to you personally to make sure we can improve our hotel to earn back referrals.

Sincerely,

Sarahi Maldonado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Visited for three nights. Previously stayed at the hotel in February 2012, and was excited to go back after the last positive experience. After this most recent visit, will probably look to stay elsewhere.

First, the positive. The pools are very nice and the beach is great. Drinks are pricy, but that is to be expected.
There are plenty of restaurants in the hotel and in the vicinity, so no need for a car if you are just looking to relax. (Only $13 cab from the airport).

Unfortunately no room upgrade this time, so just got a standard room. Room was clean, but nothing special.

The negative: very spotty hot water. Enough said. Moreover, the hotel was overrun with aging frat boys. No problem in and of itself, but we had the misfortune of being next door to the main party. Had to visit the lobby at 4 am on multiple nights to request someone to take care of the (poor quality) music and shouting. The hotel purported to have a "three strikes" policy for rowdy guests, but these people blew through four in our mind. The inconsideration shown to repeat guests, in my mind, merits a look elsewhere.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Very nice older classy hotel with several good resturaunts onsite.. we didn't leave for 3 days. One caveat - it is close to San Juan airport and could hear the planes taking off inside our room. Other rooms might be quieter but ours was not.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed here for one night (almost didn't make it) after our cruise waiting for our flight the next morning. The resort looks very nice and peaceful....but don't be fooled! once 8pm comes around look out! If you are staying here with your family and kids...look elsewhere please! After dinner we went back out to the pool areas (around 6pm).....if you like swimming with empty beer cans in the pool and having your children walk through empty cans in the areas around the pool then this place is for you! It seems a lot of college age kids go and or stay here often as we soon found out when we tried to go to sleep that night.....first of all the club downstairs had loud club music playing from 8pm-5AM!!!! yes 5AM...and even on the 4th floor we could hear that music clear as day keeping us up from 10pm-5am even with ear plugs in. We made multiple calls (5 to be exact) to front desk/security due to the music from the club as well as the 5 rooms on our floor filled with young college students blasting music, running the halls, and for some reason thinking it was appropriate to slam on all the doors in the hallyway as well as the sliding glass door on our outdoor patio. Again after 5 calls for security I finally went out to the hallway to knock on the doors of the rooms with the yelling and music blasting from it to stop them...and when I did (at 3:47AM) I found security in the hallways talking with the young girls (instead of responding to my 5 calls) before they ran towards me yelling to stop and get back to my room. It was then that they finally entered the rooms and had the kids turn down their music and stop yelling...lasted about fifteen minutes then it came back on. So needless to say the 4 of us didn't sleep at all and left the resort at 600AM for the airport...not before confronting the front desk and security to express our dissatisfaction again....oh and by the way...the head of security at the resort was one of the 2 security people talking with the young girls when I went out into the hallway.....so overall....please be careful and choose this resort wisely if you would like to actually sleep......as I even talked to other families (while at the pool) who were staying here for several nights and told me that its been loud each night and they would never do this again. so overall the experience my family and I had here was horrific, never will I stay here again nor would I recommend this place to ANYONE who is attempting to have an actual vacation

Room Tip: DO NOT STAY HERE...that's the only tip i can give
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarahi M, Front Office Manager at El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
I sincerely apologize for the unfortunate experience you had during your stay. I am so sorry if there were some of guests who were rowdy and disruptive. I especially would like to apologize that our staff did not resolve this issue promptly. I truly appreciate you bringing this issue to my attention and I assure you that I have spoken to our security team regarding your comments. . I hope you will not let this isolated incident detour you from staying with us in the future. I am confident that given the opportunity, your next stay with us will be a more pleasant one.

Again, I apologize for any inconveniences you went through and hope that next time you are in town; you consider staying with us again. If I can assist you further, certainly let me know. Thank you.

Sincerly,

Sarahi Maldonado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I heard that the garden lanai rooms were wonderful, so we booked one for a few days this month. Unfortunately, when we arrived, we learned that the rooms are undergoing renovation right now. They put us on the 7th floor in the tower, and while the room was spacious, the bath wasn't much to get excited about. It had a heavy sliding door that was hard to open and close. There wasn't much counter space. We had a room with no balcony and a street view. The carpet on the 7th floor hall was dirty. On the positive side, the lobby is very impressive. The casino is nice, although a little loud when they play BINGO. The pools are lovely. The staff is pleasant. In fact, everyone we encountered in Puerto Rico was polite and friendly. The hotel's location is great. There are pleanty of restaurants within walking distance and a bus stop is right out front.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

My friend and I stay there for two days. We were placed on the second floor. There was live music right beneath us very night until 2 or 3am. No hot water. extremely frustrating. Except the staff at the front desk was nice, I cannot find anything nice to say about this place. It looked okay outside, but it is not a relaxing place to be. stay away from it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LY07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanwilkerson, Front Office Manager at El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
I sincerely apologize for the unfortunate experience you had during your stay. I am so sorry if there were some of guests who were rowdy and disruptive. I especially would like to apologize that our staff did not resolve this issue promptly. I truly appreciate you bringing this issue to my attention and I assure you that I have spoken to our security team regarding your comments. . I hope you will not let this isolated incident detour you from staying with us in the future. I am confident that given the opportunity, your next stay with us will be a more pleasant one.

Again, I apologize for any inconveniences you went through and hope that next time you are in town; you consider staying with us again. If I can assist you further, certainly let me know. Thank you.

Susan Wilkerson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,079 reviews
4.6 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,677 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
4.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,546 reviews
3.5 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 6063 Isla Verde Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979-5706, Puerto Rico (Formerly El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront hotel surrounded by 15 acres of landscaped grounds in fashionable Isla Verde district - 15 minutes from Old San Juan. El San Juan Hotel presents a perfect blend of tropical splendor, Old World elegance and vibrant culture. Redesigned guest rooms are bright and inviting - ideal for a retreat. Lounge at the beach or on the expansive pool featuring flowering gardens, and spacious sundeck, Olympic-sized pool, Fantasy swimming pool with swim-up bar, waterfall and whirlpools, private cabanas for rental or relax and rejuvenate at the spa. Enjoy a vibrant and varied nightlife, choosing from nine on-site award winning restaurants, plus lounges, bars and nightclubs. One life to live? Live it up at El San Juan! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El San Juan Resort And Casino
El San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
El San Juan Hotel Casino
The Waldorf Astoria Collection Carolina
El San Juan Hotel Puerto Rico
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection By Hilton Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing