We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

First time here and I can't say enough about the service received on my recent trip to San Juan. The front desk, especially Kamil, front desk concierge, went above and beyond to accommodate me in everything. They even went as far as remembering my daughter's birthday and sent up a birthday cake for her. I travel to Puerto Rico regularly and I will make sure to stay here moving forward. Great service & great personnel equals great stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCtraveler1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,101
    837
    565
    319
    289
See reviews for
760
1,158
87
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (852)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

This was a great hotel. When I looked at the reviews I must say that I was a bit nervous based on the money I was paying, however, it was all well worth it. The person who helped me the most was a very kind and helpful lady named Susan Wilkerson. She is in charge of making your stay as pleasurable as possible and she absolutely did. I wrote her an email with my concerns and she turned my concerns into a relaxing vacation. Please email her or call her and she will make your stay a great one like mine. Great hotel and great service.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKullak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

The hotel lobby is beautiful and well-maintained, but the rooms, beach, and pool are not.

The front desk staff was not inviting or polite and appeared almost annoyed that we were bothering them with questions and check-in. One staff member was even vocally annoyed at the length of our last name, as she would have to type, "all these letters!" The beach is covered with sand fleas. We came home covered in itchy bites! The atmosphere at night was terrific with a live salsa band and dancers, but it felt like we were staying outside of a mall or bar or something. Very strange.

Our room door/hallway was vandalized during our stay, and the staff did not realize, nor did they respond to our concerns when they were told about the incident.

For the level of rules, regulations, and dress codes- I expected a nicer experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 100countries1life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

This casino is likely the best Hotel in all of Puerto Rico. The grounds and the room is very beautiful. The room is modern, clean and the bed is the best bed I have ever slept in. The grounds has three pools, swim up bars and a wonderful hot tub. It has a club, casino and the lobby areas have several bars and cool places to hang out. It does have shopping and excellent restaurants. There is 24hour beach access and the beach is awesome! It really is incredible.
There is a dark side you should know about... It has.. <dun dun> Hidden costs! Seriously, it has a lot of hidden costs. If you rent a car you will have to pay ~$17 a day for parking (guest price), you have to pay $3 per local call and $24 a day in an additional Resort convenience fee. The room service was $20 for a small bowl of soup, which is ok, but they tacked a $14 service fee, which makes is a bit of a spendy bowl of soup. I have to say it was quite delicious though. At the end of the week, eating else where and incurring no other costs, we still ended up spending an extra $300 for the week in hidden fees.

So all in all it was a wonderful place, incredibly beautiful. I would suggest going there, but I have to give it a a four out of five because with an extra $300 bucks we could of had about 6 more excursions around the island.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InventoMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

The grounds were well maintained. We loved the pools and the easy acess to the beach. Unfortunately we are use to good customer service and we didnt receive any at all! We stayed an entire week and we never felt welcomed. I was really disappointed.

Room Tip: There is a nice bar 101 a few blocks away ... JOSH is the best !!! Ask for the RAINBOW shots
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_R0m3r0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

My fiance and I just completed a 5 night stay, and if we were asked to describe the entire experience in two words "Simply Amazing!" is all we would say. We fell in love with the resort after viewing the El San Juan Resort web site, and but our excitement was tempered after reading several less than complimentary reviews. We decided to take a chance on the resort because of the amenities, the spa, the pools, and most of all the price.

We arrived at 12:30 pm on the 2nd of August and even though check-in wasn't until 4:00pm, we were given a very clean and accommodating room. After unpacking we were at the pool with the swim up bar by 1:15 pm. We found two lounge chairs and were promptly greet by our pool deck server Deborah who it her business to place to drinks in our hands as soon as possible. Deborah suggested 6 Medalla (local) beers on ice, we obliged, and our week in paradise was officially underway. We read that the pool side service was ridiculously slow and hard to find, but we found it to be just the opposite.

We found two pool deck associates to be extremely invaluable. The first of whom was my man Chris C.who personally ensured that we had any and everything we needed. If we need an umbrella he made it appear, if we wanted beach lounge chairs he got someone to make that happen and quickly. If we needed the 411 on local things to do he had it, if we wanted info on any of the on site restaurants he knew it. We found it cool that Chris knew the menu of every restaurant from personal experience. The general manager should make this guy wear a different colored shirt from the rest of the staff so all the guest can easily recognize him and take advantage of his knowledge and expertise. Chris made it his business to find us and follow up with us each day, making sure that we were taken care of and had a great time. Thanks a lot Chris for helping make our experience memorable and enjoyable. Also want to pass along a big thank you to Emmanuel for personally ensuring that our daily pool deck accommodations were up to par and never lacking.

Following another one of Chris' recommendations we had dinner at Koco's. This restaurant has got to be one of the absolute best restaurants in all of Puerto Rico. Koco's is an absolutely wonderful venue with a strong luxurious and opulent South Beach vibe. Too many excellent menu options to mention but if you have any questions, just ask Chris, you can't go wrong. Big thanks to Alex, our server who's knowledge of the the menu and preparation details ensured that we had the best dining experience of our entire stay. Regardless if you stay at this hotel or not, if you go to P.R. you have got to find your way to this restaurant, even if Koco's seems tucked away and hidden behind the hotel casino.

We had dinner on our last night at the Palms, another on site restaurant, and another Chris suggestion. Carmen our server took great care of us. This restaurant rivals any Ruth Chris or Morten's steak house. The 18oz del monico is a can't miss!

A couple of can't miss activities: couples massage at the spa, any night at the nightclub Brava, any night listening to live music in the Lobby (just be sure to dress up), Friday night excursion to La Placitas (Chris suggestion), beach message by Angel, and be sure to find your way to the rooftop bbq bar and grill to see the drunk chickas try to ride the mechanical bull. If you are old and tired go next door to the Intercontinental, but if you are young, hip, and enjoy being fashionable then this is the place to be. Thanks to the entire staff for a safe, fun, and Amazing stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank exodustrvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

The rooms were decent, but the hotel could definitely use some updating. We got a great deal through Travel Zoo, so was ok for the money. However, they were hosting a prom the first night of our stay, so there were tons of kids and their parents taking over the pool area during the day and the entire lobby later that night. Would have been nice if someone would have mentioned that when we booked our room. The amount of noise we had to deal with all night from the kids in the room next door was unbearable (music and singing at the top of their lungs). We called the front desk several times and only after my husband threatened to call the police, did they finally get the kids to quiet down. We asked to have our room moved, but because of the prom, the hotel was fully booked that night. They all seemed to head out the next morning and it felt like a totally different place after they all left. Much more peaceful and had the pool to ourselves most of the time. Day two...our shower stopped draining. When they came up to take a look, the guy said, "that's not good" and turned around and left...they eventually moved us to another room...this time right outside of the elevator, so again a little noisy at night as other guests were coming and going, but still much better than the night before. They did give us a credit for the inconvenience, though neglected to apply the daily food and beverage credit that was part of the Travel Zoo deal until we requested it. They also appear to have double charged our credit card, so we are currently working on sorting that all out. As with most hotels and resorts, the food and alcohol prices were ridiculously expensive. It rained on an off every single day, but obviously that wasn't the hotel's fault. I just wouldn't recommend a trip to PR during this time of year, as apparently this is their rainy season. We tried to make the best of it, but probably would not return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gstove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,114 reviews
4.6 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,777 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
4.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,632 reviews
3.5 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 6063 Isla Verde Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979-5706, Puerto Rico (Formerly El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront hotel surrounded by 15 acres of landscaped grounds in fashionable Isla Verde district - 15 minutes from Old San Juan. El San Juan Hotel presents a perfect blend of tropical splendor, Old World elegance and vibrant culture. Redesigned guest rooms are bright and inviting - ideal for a retreat. Lounge at the beach or on the expansive pool featuring flowering gardens, and spacious sundeck, Olympic-sized pool, Fantasy swimming pool with swim-up bar, waterfall and whirlpools, private cabanas for rental or relax and rejuvenate at the spa. Enjoy a vibrant and varied nightlife, choosing from nine on-site award winning restaurants, plus lounges, bars and nightclubs. One life to live? Live it up at El San Juan! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El San Juan Resort And Casino
El San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
El San Juan Hotel Casino
The Waldorf Astoria Collection Carolina
El San Juan Hotel Puerto Rico
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection By Hilton Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing