We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“AWESOME” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Villa del Sol
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“AWESOME”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

My family and I stayed here on the way down to San Juan from New York It was a pleasant surprise. The suite (209) is huge and perfect for a family looking to spread out a little more. The pool was perfect. The staff was very kind and helpful. (Walter stood out as my personal favorite.) The location is perfect. Just a minute from Casinos and night life and about a 10 minute walk to Old San Juan. I will make it a point to stay here in the future

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ivette976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    35
    31
    20
    20
See reviews for
39
38
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nebraska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed one night after a cruise. Easy access to the airport. Hotel was older and basic, but clean. The staff was helpful and we checked in early and only waited a short time by the clean pool area before the room was cleaned and ready. The young man running the bar was extremely nice and helpful with directions. We had some good snacks at the bar and the drink specials were a bargain. The area is near larger hotels and casinos and the beach area is expansive with a lot of places to rent chairs, umbrellas etc. Our room was on the street side and had some minor outside noise to deal with, but nothing material. The room was on the main level which was nice because I do not think the hotel had an elevator. The location was just off a major street so it felt perfectly safe during the daytime and early evening.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Frequent-Traveler04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Villa del Sol in Carolina, Puerto Rico is an inexpensive property located a very short distance from the beach. The staff is pleasant and accommodating. This small hotel has a pool and has a bar and restaurant--not open on Tuesdays. I have been there several times over the years for one night stays, but it looks like a good place for families on a budget. The one thing I did not like was that rooms have carpeting that I felt was not too clean. Don't know why they don't pull them up and go with tiles--would look & feel much cleaner.

Room Tip: Don't know if they have rooms without carpeting, but I believe that if available, those would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank evesep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Went there with a couple of friends for the holidays and it was great. Very convenient location and fair price. Walter, the guy at the front desk was very diligent to help us with the check in and gave us advice about the hotel amenities and things to do. The staff at the bar was very friendly as well, the room was clean and it felt like being home. We also spent some time at the pool which was also clean :) I would definitely come back here, we had a blast!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rachel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Worst hotel stay of my life! Starting with the owner- what a rude and unpleasent human being! He screams to the front desk agents in front of guests and will pick a fight even with customers. When i first came to check in he was screaming and fighting with a customer right there in front of everyone. THERE GOES OUR FIRST IMPRESSION!! I personally work in the hospitality industry where the standard is that "the customer is always right" NOT IN THIS HOTEL!! The room- Seriously,they haven't cleaned the carpets like in 10 years! IT IS FILTHY! the paint job is horrible. Walls have like 3 different kinds of yellow paint that cover up any spots they have missed thru the years! The beds and furnishings in the rooms i can bet they came from someones house when they replaced their old ones. Everything is outdated. The room smelled so i thought Id open the windows to let some freah air in. GOOD LUCK! You need keys to open the windows and your lucky if they got them. The bathrooms have medicine cabinets from the '90's. No water pressure at all which we were told "its always like this". Towels were stained and they still have comforters on their beds! I wonder how many times they have washed those? The TV is nice but they give u the remote with the key when u check in. Of course, i asked why? The answer- so people dont steal them! The pool is nice but it closes at 6pm! And u cant bring food or drinks to the pool if u dont buy it from them! THE BAR/REST WAS CLOSED FOR MY 2 DAY STAY!! Talking to other guest about how ridiculous this rule was,they told me that when it is open the bartender attacks u every five minutes asking if u are gonna buy something. STAFF- is friendly but customer service is horrible! I asked for some kind of compensation since i didnt receive all the amenities the hotel supposedly offered and the answer from the "hotel manager" was a straight NO! I explained that my room was not painted,blinds were covered in dust and that the bar didnt open any of the days of my stay. The answer- "u had 10 min when u checked in to come back and get your money back, you stayed 2 days so u pay two days! " One other thing, I overheard the rude owner telling a guest that they have security at night. STRAIGHT UP LIE! What they have os an older gentleman u used to be a policeman (as he says) and carries a gun(supposedly) while working the front desk between naps! (caught him sleeping both nights) SHADY HUH? Puerto Rico is a beautiful island but it needs to step up in the travel and tourism industry! For the same price a week is going to cost u in a small B/B like this one ($100-$120 per night), i recommend u go to the DOMINICAN REPUBLIC to a all-invlusive hotel and get treated like a king/queen by their staff your entire stay!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YolaSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

I tried very, very hard not to hate this place but it was an absolute mess. There was one woman working there that night doing every possible job. She was the receptionist, cleaning lady, bartender, and valet all in one. The room was small and cramped despite having been booked for 5 adults. The towels looked dirty, the only way into the bathroom was through the bedroom, and just being in the hotel made me itch. Then, to top everything off, the doorknob was broken, It would jam every time I tried to open it and then would just come right off the door. We didn't even stay the night. after an hour or so we managed to get a room at the Intercontinental and left this place as quickly as possible.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexandratherese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

Convenient location close to airport and beaches. About the most likeable staff we encountered on the island. Some free parking adjacent to the hotel. Many restaurants within easy walking. Cockfight arena just across the street.

Room Tip: Internet okay near lobby. Spotty elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgauss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Verde hotels
0.1 mi away
ESJ Azul
ESJ Azul
#11 of 13 in Isla Verde
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.5 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
#2 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Playita
La Playita
#10 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa del Sol

Property: Hotel Villa del Sol
Address: 4 Rosa Street, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa del Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Villa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Sol
Del Sol Hotel
Hotel Villa Del Sol Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing