We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value in San Juan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2010

Just came back from a week's stay at the Embassy Suites. Overall, the hotel offers an awful lot for the money. The rooms are spacious and clean. The staff was excellent. They responded quickly to all requests. For the $15 daliy resort fee you get a breakfast that is not the usual cold cereal & muffins. It is made to order omelets, pancakes etc. At night, every guest gets 2 free alcoholic or soft drinks as well as snacks. One of the drawbacks is that the beach is 2 blocks away. There is also fee to park your car at the hotel. The hotel is very close to a highway and the airport, so the views leave a lot to be desired, although we did not hear the planes. If you don't mind walking to the beach and having a view of a highway and airport, this hotel has a lot to offer.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VFNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
embassysuitessanjuan, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2010

Dear VFNY:

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are very pleased that you found our hotel to be the Best Value in San Juan. Please come back to Puerto Rico and stay with us!

Sincerely,

Aixa Berrios
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,136 - 2,142 of 2,597 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2010

My family and I stayed at the Embassy Suites from Aug 6 - 13 for a weeklong vacation. The hotel lobby and pool area are absolutely beautiful...love hearing the Coqui frogs in the lobby! The hotel is no more than 10 minutes from the airport and just a block or so from the Isle Verde beach, so location is excellent. It took us a few times to figure out how exactly to get to the hotel from the highway, but we figured it out by trial and error. We stayed using the Stay and Dine with Us promotion, which was well worth the small room price increase.

On the downside to our visit, the service was spotty at best. When we checked in, we we not given our vouchers for food, the front desk attendant told us the $50 would be automatically deducted from our bill when we ordered food. When I checked the bill in the morning, the room service charge was still present. After taking to the front desk, they realized they did not give us our vouchers upon check in. Would have been nice if they compensated us for the error. It took 3 days of asking for extra blankets before we actually received them (had to go personally down to the front desk to get them!). The room (336) was showing its age...chipped paint, burn marks in the carpet, the shower soap dish was falling off the wall due to faulty caulking.

Overall a good hotel to stay at, but needs a litlle TLC.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dumbyellodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

The hotel is conveniently located minutes from the airport. We arrived early in the morning. Melvin at the front desk was wonderful. He directed us to the buffet breakfast with cooks also preparing made to order requests. The breakfast was hot with lots of variety to choose from. The staff was prompt in meeting guests needs while keeping supplies stocked. We then did some gambling in the on site casino and before we knew it our room was ready. When we arrived at the room it was fresh and clean with a big bathroom, coffee maker and mini-refrigerator. There was a nice grocery store and pharmacy within short walking distance. We enjoyed the bartenders at the complimentary happy hour. They were very friendly. The hotel is a brief walk to the beach, however, we enjoyed the pool so much that we never found the need to go to the beech. When I had a problem with my cell phone, Christina at the front desk was very helpful in locating a sprint store nearby. Nice hotel and staff. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdpug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
embassysuitessanjuan, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2010

Dear jdpug1:

Thanks so much for staying with us during your recent visit to San Juan! Thank you also for posting your review, we really appreciate your feedback. I have passed along your comments to Melvin and Christina at the Front Desk, they are very pleased they were able to assist you.

Please come back soon!!!

Sincerely,

Aixa Berrios
Reservations Manager
Embassy Suites Hotel & Casino San Juan, PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

We and our friends stayed at the hotel for 4 days. From our arrival from the airport (10 minutes away) until check-out, we had no complaints. The rooms were clean, all of the lights worked, the refrigerator was cold, our view was awesome and there was free internet. The tables in the breakfast/atrium area were used throughout the day and several times were sticky and dirty by evening. The entire staff was friendly, helpful and smiling.
The cook to order breakfast was good, and like the evening Manager's Reception, was complimentary. We enjoyed the Casino. in fact, we enjoyed it several times a day!
If there was a negative it would probably be the pool. It was quite large and lovely, but very busy with kids, many of whom were jumping and diving from the rocks. The parents should have been policing them and a hotel security person was....but not often enough.
We went to Old San Juan one day for shopping and lunch and then didn't venture off the property again as we were there for R & R.
The Hotel restaurant was the Outback Steakhouse! It's one of my favorites and lived up to my expectations in food quality and service.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pegspeanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
embassysuitessanjuan, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2010

Dear pegspeanut:

Greetings from sunny Puerto Rico! I just LOVE the title of your review. We are very pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, we pride ourselves in excellent guest service. Thank you also for your comments on the cleanliness of our rooms, our housekeeping staff is the best! I will share your feedback about the tables at the breakfast/reception area and about the security at the pool with our staff.

Again, thank you for your review, we hope you come back to Puerto Rico and stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,

Aixa Berrios
Reservations Manager
Embassy Suites Hotel & Casino San Juan, PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

I stayed at the Embassy Suites San Juan from July 20 - July 24. You can never loss with the free made to order breakfast and the Managers Reception in the evening with the free drinks. It rained every day that I was there so I spent a lot of time in the hotel. My biggest concern is noise. There were a lot of kids (considering I am used to Adult only Resorts), but it was the noise, the running out of elevators, screaming down the hallway. After checking in a father and his two small children were actually playing soccer in the main lobby??? Who does that? There is a Outback inside the hotel which was a plus. I also walked to Chiles, Walgreens, and the local supermarket for snacks that were 3 x the price if you purchased in the hotel. Cab to the airport @ $ 12-15 for only 1/2 mile. $18-20 cab drive to the mall less than 10 miles, but after catching 3 buses to the mall and getting there two hours later. Bus is only .75 cent so I thought it was worth it. Highly recommend this hotel for families...Solo if you can handle all the noise.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtlantaHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
embassysuitessanjuan, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2010

Dear AtlantaHelen:
Thank you for taking the time to post your review! Your feedback is very important to us. I am pleased to hear how much you enjoyed our complimentary cooked to order breakfast and our manager’s reception. I apologize for the inconveniences you had with the elevators and the noise. Our hotel is very popular among families especially during the summer months with our convenient location and spacious suites.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to San Juan, Puerto Rico!

Sincerely,
Aixa Berrios
Reservations Manager
Embassy Suites Hotel & Casino San Juan, PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Stayed there 5 nights. Breakfast was great and enjoyed the daily manager's reception.
Room and service was great. I would stay at the Embassy again and again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabel176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
embassysuitessanjuan, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2010

Dear Isabel176:

Thank you for your review! I am very pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast and evening reception. Please come back soon!!!

Aixa Berrios
Reservations Manager
Embassy Suites Hotel & Casino San Juan, PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

I stayed from the 18th-23th of July. And i have to say i was sooo satisfied.I loved the hotel, it was close to alot of places: airport, supermarkets, mall, souvenirs stores and various places to sit and eat. The hotel has many facilities, Casino, Pool, Game room ect. The rooms was very nice, the staff also. Everything was great. But it was this one day housekeeping forgot to put bed sheets, but besides that to me its the best hotel in the area. great for a Family vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maribel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
embassysuitessanjuan, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2010

Dear Maribel75: Thank you for your review! We certainly appreciate your kind words and hope to have you again as our guest soon. I will share your comments about the bed sheets with our Housekeeping Director. Again, we appreciate your feedback, come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
0.3 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
16.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
4.5 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
0.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino

Address: 8000 Tartak St., Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range: $263 - $614 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino is the only all-suite hotel in the San Juan Metropolitan area. The hotel is located steps from famed Isla Verde beach, or guests can relax at the hotel's free form lagoon style pool. Our guests enjoy great value with a free made-to-order breakfast and complimentary drinks at the evening reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel And Casino
Embassy Suite San Juan Puerto Rico
Embassy Suites Carolina
Carolina Embassy Suites
Embassy San Juan
Embassy Suites By Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing