We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,730)
Filter reviews
2,730 results
Traveler rating
1,096
938
414
187
95
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,096
938
414
187
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutback steakhousehappy hourmade to order breakfastevening receptionsan juanchips and salsafree drinksliving roomclose to the airportmanagers receptiontwo blocksomeletcomplimentary breakfastcocktail hourshort walk to the beachrum punchel patio
Filter
Updating list...
2,464 - 2,469 of 2,730 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2006

We stayed at the Embassy Suites in Isla Verde in early February. Since we were traveling with our 2 young kids we loved having the extra room - the kids liked sleeping on the sofa bed. The hotel is a couple short blocks from the beach - a 5 minute walk. We considered the Intercontential hotel, but having a suite was more important than being beachfront. We loved the pool, complimentary breakfast & managers reception nightly. We were on hte 7th floor & could barely hear the live entertainment on the weekend. Go to Pueblo grocery around the corner if you need things. Also, don't miss Mi Casita restaurant. We had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Eden1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2006

This hotel had very nice,big, clean suites. it has its own kitchen and its own room and family room (with a pullout bed). It was very nice and the beach was beautiful too. There are plenty of fish to see (big ones and small ones). The beach is very long and its just beautiful. Its a great get away!

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Pathfinder33673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2006

Located one and half block from the Isla Verde beach (very clean) and next to a Pueblo grocery store. Excellent value for money. We got a suite on the seventh floor consisting of a living-dining area, small microwave, coffee maker, fridge and wet bar as well as a great bedroom with a very comfortable king sized bed. The hotel has a lovely atrium and a superb pool with a waterfall and hot tub. They provide a free hot breakfast buffet including cooked to order eggs, omelettes, or pancakes. In the afternoon they have a two-hour manager’s party with a free open bar. There is also an Outback Steakhouse on the premises. The hotel has a small gym and a coin laundry. The only thing that needs improvement is the room safe. It operates with a key that is inconvenient and requires an $85 deposit. Overall, it is an excellent hotel if you do not absolutely need to be inches from the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank MarcoOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2006

After reading some of the other reviews, I hesitated making my reservation. However, a friend of mine told me that he & his wife had stayed there, and enjoyed it very much. I went ahead and made my reservations for 8 days. I have to say that we were very pleased. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was always clean and comfortable. The breakfast and manager's reception were excellent. The hotel is located in a good area with plenty of places to eat. My favorite place was "Mi Casita", with reasonable prices and excellent food (one block from the hotel).

We travel to Ponce, El Yunque, Old San Juan and the Arecibo area by rental car (CharlieCars.com which is a block and a half from the hotel is very reasonable). All of these places were easy to get to from the hotel, since the entrance to to freeway is next to the parking ramp.

Isle Verde is beautiful, a great place to enjoy the beach. Safety is not an issue near the hotel or at the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank BoardingPass29296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2006

We stayed at the Embassy Suites San Juan on Jan 12 to Jan 16th. Overall we really enjoyed our stay, and felt we got more than our money's worth. Here are some of the tips I have for anyone considering a stay here:

Location in regards to the beach: The location is the tradeoff for the lower price you pay. It is two block to the beach. This is not bad, even for our family traveling with two younger children. We got quite good at packing our bags full so that we didn't forget anything and have to trek back to the hotel. They do rent lounge chairs and umbrellas at the Isla Verde/Carolina beach - $4 for chairs and $11 for umbrellas if I recall correctly. Just make sure to bring towels down to the beach with you (we snagged towels from the pool area and then returned them at the end of the day)

The pool: We never heard any traffic from the road that ran behind the pool. We also sat out at the pool each night with our drinks and the traffic was never loud, nor did we have any trouble with the airport noise. Only negative was that the hot tub was broken while we were there. It was hot but no bubbles.

Rooms: The key here is to know that some of the rooms are renovated and some are not. Obviously the renovated rooms are better. While we were there the hotel had finished the 7th and 8th floors and were working on the 6th. My suggestion is to ask for the highest floor possible. Also, we never had any problem with airplane noise in our room, nor with the music from the lobby. Again, location may be the key. We were on the 8th floor facing downtown/Old San Juan (overlooking the parking ramp).

Breakfast and Manager's Reception: To us, these were the two best reasons to stay at this hotel. The breafast is excellent. They had make to order eggs (fried, omelets, etc), sausage, bacon, fruit, cereal, juice - you name it - and it is free. However, the best deal is the Manager's Reception each evening. From 5:30 to 7:30 they offer free drinks and snacks. You can get two drinks per person at a time, and you can return as many times as you want. The snacks were tortilla chips and salsa, pretzels, and popcorn. I especially enjoyed the strawberry daiquiris!

Restaurants: We tried the Outback Steakhouse in the hotel and it was as good as any Outback we've ever eaten at. Yes, the line can be long but if you tell the hostess you are staying at the hotel they usually seat you immediately. We ate there on both a Thursay and a Saturday night and did not wait either night to be seated. Make sure to bring in one of your free drink from the Managers Reception (they always let us do this) and save the money on drinks. The location of the hotel is great as far as local restaurants go. There is just about every fast food chain within two blocks (KFC, Pizza Hut, Taco Bell, Wendys) We also tried Metropol and had the best dinner of our stay, and it only average $15 per person without drinks. There is also a large Peublo grocery store one block away that has all the necessities. Take advantage and stock the room fridge with soda and water - prices at the grocery store seemed to be about the same as mainland groceries.

Taxis: We did not rent a car and instead took taxis everywhere. It was about $12 each way for 4 of us to get to and from the airport. It was about $22 each way to get to get to Old San Juan.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would stay here again. We felt that for the price it was an excellent deal.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
35  Thank smartypants01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews