We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My wife and I had a good experience here, but overall the price is high and it should really include parking and that weird "resort fee". Otherwise our room was clean, although the hotel in general is kind of old and needs some upgrades (carpets, etc.). We loved the pool and the hot tub. The free continental breakfast was excellent. Services were quick and perfect. We called them for extra towels, to change a burned out light bulb and to fix our tv channels. They showed up each time quickly and took care of things. Having a fridge and microvawe in the room was nice. Tv channels froze many times, maybe their dish satellite reception needs fixing. Cell phone reception in the building was bad. Our view from the vindow was very boring. I would have loved to have a small balcony rather than the indoor hallways. The artificial bird sounds they kept constantly playing in the building was very annoying. Anyway, if they dropped the parking and resort fees we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,601)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,853 - 1,859 of 2,601 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

I absolutely LOVED, LOVED, LOVED this place!! From the hotel, to the pools, to the food, to the location, to the bar to the staff. There was not one single complaint for me. Close to the beach and everything within walking distance, me and a few friends of mine went here for vacation. There was free alcohol from 5:30-7:30 with salsa and dip and even live music in the casino area. There were tvs and bars everywhere so that we could watch all the sports and we had a hard time just leaving the hotel at all! Unbelievable low rates for such a wonderful place. I cant wait to come back here!! Free Breakfast was DELICIOUS!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We are a family of four with two young boys and we stayed at this hotel for two nights before a cruise. The rooms are rather dated but still pretty good. Breakfast was tasty and the pool was nice first thing in the morning. We were adjusting to a twelve hour time change so we were awake at odd hours. From the living room area you could hear a lot of noise from the casino but with the bedroom door closed we were able to sleep without any problems. There is a Publix and other stores very close by which was convenient for us. Overall, a nice place to stay.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank jand872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Excellent property. It is the Embassy Suites: the room, the pool, the staff but my daughter and I enjoyed every single minute. It was just wonderful and a delight to my soul. The Outback restuarant has awesome crab legs, the casino was the ultimate party, the valet service gave on point directions, the front desk staff was very accomodating and informative. We had a rental so we were able to explore PR. I was very glad we choose the Embassy Suites the rooms were very comfortable, housekeeping a tad bit slow with request, room service was quick and we loved the pool. Everything was just as it should be and met our expectations...24 hrs in PR for a Sweet 16 birthday surprise while visiting south beach was fantastic.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbwallace1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Rooms are not very soundproof. We had to be moved. Service was good. Free breakfast is good. We don't drink so happy hour was no big deal. But for someone else it would be nice.
But, I don't need a hotel fee charged on top of an already expensive room.

Room Tip: Keep as far away from the party rooms as possible if you want to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
embassysuitessanjuan, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear john S:

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us in San Juan. We strive to provide a personalized experience for each of our guests, actively looking for ways keep costs low and offer enhanced services for comfort and convenience. I appreciate your review as it provides feedback that we need to re-evaluate guest needs and make the necessary adjustments to our offerings. I am glad to hear you found our staff friendly and welcoming and that you enjoyed our on property amenities.

Please accept our apology for the noise issue you encountered, we know how important a peaceful room is while traveling and we regret this was not your experience.

Thank you again for your input and we hope you will consider staying with us again should your travels bring you back to Puerto Rico.

Thank you,

Aixa Berrios
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Beautiful property inside and the outside lagoon like pool is just beautiful. The rooms are clean and comfortable and very roomy. We asked for more towels, pillows, blankets etc........ and there was no problem at all. Breakfast was included and fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Fresh fruit, cereal, eggs, bacon, sausage, juices, delicious coffee, hot cereal, breads and donuts!!!!!!! Pleanty of tables and clean service was excellent. Also had Managers Social with comped drinks and snacks...... the snacks to be honest were not that great... nachos and salsa and stale pita chips and homus...... but if that was the biggest issue....... The place was GREAT!!! We will be going back!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jes64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I can't express enough, how amazing my experience was the the Embassy Suites in Isla Verde Puerto Rico. I will definately return to this hotel. The staff was very nice, the rooms were comfortable, the pool side was AMAZING!... the Happy Hour!, couldnt get enough of the drinks!.. the breakfast, unheard of!. I would definately recommend this hotel over and over again!. Paid 137 a night, which with the service my family and I recieved, you would think we would have paid more per night. Our Trip was for 6 days and 5 nights. And we spent the mojority of our time at the hotel, and never got bored!. LOve this hotel!.. I would not waste my time rating a hotel unless it was worth it. Keep in mind, this is my first time actully logging on, just to write this review!!. Reviews were what helped me and my family pick Embassy Suites!.. Embassy Suites is your hotel!!!!! You wont regret it!.

Room Tip: 2 Room Suite with double beds! Very Confortable!.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nariah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
0.3 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.1 mi away
Verdanza Hotel
Verdanza Hotel
#9 of 13 in Isla Verde
1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
16.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Isla Verde Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino

Address: 8000 Tartak St., Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range: $228 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino is the only all-suite hotel in the San Juan Metropolitan area. The hotel is located steps from famed Isla Verde beach, or guests can relax at the hotel's free form lagoon style pool. Our guests enjoy great value with a free made-to-order breakfast and complimentary drinks at the evening reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel And Casino
Embassy Suite San Juan Puerto Rico
Embassy Suites Carolina
Carolina Embassy Suites
Embassy San Juan
Embassy Suites By Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing