We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to the airport, good breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Close to the airport, good breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

This is an average hotel, which is a 5 minute taxi ride from the airport. As many have mentioned, it would be great if the hotel would provide a shuttle as it is literally a 1 mile drive from the airport however impossible to walk. So you have to take a taxi which will cost a minimum of $12 - $15 each way. This hotel is not located near most of the scenic sights in San Juan, so you would need to take a taxi to get to them.

Upon arrival the staff were very pleasant and check-in was very quick. The room was a great size, with a separate living room from the bedroom. The room was dated in decor, and wasn't cleaned the best as there some plastic wrappers sitting right on the sofa when I arrived. The Air Conditioning in the room was adequate, however the room seemed to be constantly humid.

Dining in this "resort" is ok. There is an Outback Steakhouse in the building which was good and the pricing was somewhat reasonable. There is also a pizza place in the building, which was not very good and too expensive. There are additional dining options in the surrounding are which range from fast food to more upscale steaks houses. The best part of this hotel though was the free breakfast in the morning. The have all the standard fare, but also offer made to order omelettes, pancakes and french toast. Lots of beverage options for breakfast as well, it was a great way to start the day!

Upon check-out, I was not charged the resort fee that other have complained about. Taxis were available right in front of the hotel for the 5 min (and another $15) ride back to the airport.

Overall this was a decent stay. While the hotel could use some updating, it's proximity to the airport and general features would allow me to consider it again next time I'm in San Juan.

Room Tip: Most rooms are situated around the central atrium and tend to hear the noise from the area. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    960
    849
    374
    162
    79
See reviews for
999
600
64
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

This was one of the dirtiest Embassy Suites I have stayed in. The carpet was soiled and the bathroom was dirty. The check in time was 4 and we could not even get into our rooms until after 4:15. They charge a resort fee of 11% even if you just stay for one night and do not use the facility. They had laundry facility and a small fitness room. The several story lobby was nice but decorated very tacky. (A beer can Christmas tree?). They leave you water in the room for $3.50 a bottle. The hotel staff was rude and seemed very untrained.

Room Tip: Don't be fooled, this hotel is not on the beach and a Casino (it's really not). Ask for a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goniles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
embassysuitessanjuan, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear goniles:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay with us! We want to sincerely apologize for the maintenance and service issues you mentioned in your review, your feedback is very helpful to continue to improve our hotel, your satisfaction is our top priority.

During the Christmas Holidays we celebrate our Christmas Tree contest. Every Department in the hotel presents its tree to our guests for them to vote on the most original one. This activity is already a tradition in the hotel and we receive an excellent response from our guests.

I hope that we will have you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Aixa Berrios
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
187 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

Stayed here for a quick overnight before a cruise. Got a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom for less than $300. Upon review of the final bill found a "hotel fee" charge of $40 was added. I had printed out my online receipt before I came. Went to the desk and they took off the fee but told me it was an error in their system and I should have to pay the fee. So take that into considration when you are booking. Check all the fees first.

The location is good. Close to the airport and walking distance to the beach and lots of restaurants in the area. We needed to pick up a few things before the cruise and the Walgreens was a block away.

I would stay there again pre-cruise, but not with a $40 fee!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the highway. We did and it was quiet on our side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank siestaclaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
embassysuitessanjuan, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Hello siestaclaud:

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review in tripadvisor. Please accept my apologies for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay and with your reservation. Our goal is to provide an excellent experience in all aspects of your stay.

I hope that we will have you stay with us again soon,

Sincerely,

Aixa Berrios
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Maarten-st Martin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

Beautiful lobby with fish tanks and streams of fish. The lobby also has 2 restaurants with one of them an Outback steakhouse.Cook to order breakfast is great but get there early cause it gets very crowded and hard to find a table to sit and eat. They have a managers cocktail party every night in the lobby and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are all suites with a living-room and bedroom. The beds are big and comfortable but the bathroom was a bit dark with little lighting but OK. The rooms could use an update soon in a couple of years. The hotel is located close to just about everything you need and is right next to the airport. The only drawback is the noise and music from the lobby, if your looking for a hotel to get some peace and quiet this is not it. All of the rooms surround the lobby which is always busy with music and people so you can hear everything in your living-room of your suite. If you close the door to your bedroom you can't hear the music from the lobby. Its a great hotel with a great atmosphere and great location!

Room Tip: All the rooms are suites but chose a room on the highest floor (8th) from the music and noise from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrgeemoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
embassysuitessanjuan, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Hello mrgeemoney:

We really appreciate your feedback, thank you for sharing your comments with us. I am glad to see you were satisfied with the service you received, we are very proud of our team and our hotel!

I want to apologize for the inconvenience you had with the music from our lobby.

We look forward to seeing you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Aixa Berrios
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna B.C.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

We stayed at Embassy Suites only one night on return from a cruise. It was by far the best deal in an area where hotels are expensive. Wonderful facilities for children, many families here. we paid $125 plus 15% tax. Excellent beds with duvets. Grand swimming pools. coffee micro and frig. Big plus is free happy hour with snacks. A very nice breakfast buffet. Gorgeous lobby surreounded by tiers of balconied rooms. Husband had rare treat of option for a smoking room. 3 blocks from a great beach/ 10 minutes from the airport. food is limited a steak house, reasonable $20, and a patio cafe with very limited menu. Other places within 2 blocks. Isla Verde is heavy traffic and impossible to park . For this reason, hotel parking is $16 per day. We did rent a car in earlier visit, (pre cruise) at U save, a local place that delivers to and from airport. an older car but adequate and $25 per day. be sure to have insurance documentation with you or you will pay $10 a day for liability. (this is a foreign country), We were very pleased with this place, only down side was the bath tub which seemed to have survived some trauma.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank borg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
embassysuitessanjuan, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Dear borg2:

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review in Tripadvisor! We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed our facilities for children and had a great time.

Please stay with us again during your next visit to Puerto Rico!

Aixa Berrios
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

Puerto Rico is near and dear to my heart...we have been at this hotel twice before and have had wonderful experiences. The made to order breakfast is a treat for the kids and a break for me : ) The happy hour is a treat for papa and the kids get to enjoy some snacks as well. The pool area is lovely and the new little kids area is adorable. The location is across from the beach so we enjoyed walking there every day stopping for lunch at times in the shopping mall in between. I would highly recommend this hotel for its reasonable rates and comfortable accommodations.

Room Tip: Ask for a view ; )
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cmgrayh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
embassysuitessanjuan, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Dear cmgrayh:

Thank you for staying with us for the third time! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Please let us know how things go during your next stay.

Sincerely,

Aixa Berrios
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLYMPIA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

We had a enjoyable stay at the Embassy Suites near the airport in San Juan, Puerto Rico (Nov-2011). Room was spacious, clean and nicely appointed, although it may need updating in a year or so. Hotel had good restaurants inside, including a pizza cafe, Outback Steakhouse and El Patio grill (great food). The beach was about three blocks or so away, but easy walk. Grocery store and Walgreens nearby for necessities and snacks. Price was fair for this area, but the free breakfast every morning makes it a good deal (full buffet with short-order pancakes and omelets!).

Room Tip: Upper floors are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KSOLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
embassysuitessanjuan, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Hello KSOLY:

Thank you so much for your positive comments. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and our breakfast!!! Please come back soon,

Sincerely,

Aixa Berrios
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
3.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.3 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort
4.5 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,769 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
Address: 8000 Tartak St., Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino is the only all-suite hotel in the San Juan Metropolitan area. The hotel is located steps from famed Isla Verde beach, or guests can relax at the hotel's free form lagoon style pool. Our guests enjoy great value with a free made-to-order breakfast and complimentary drinks at the evening reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel And Casino
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Embassy Suite San Juan Puerto Rico
Embassy Suites Carolina
Carolina Embassy Suites
Embassy San Juan
Embassy Suites By Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing